We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lansdowne Hotel

The Lansdowne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lansdowne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lansdowne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Clarendon Street, Leamington Spa CV32 4PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night - the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, really nice shower and a comfortable bed with extra pillows. We were in a room on the main road, and as the road wasn't very busy over night, it was fine, but from about 7.30 I could hear the occasional car (but I am a very light sleeper!) - nothing too disturbing, but just something to note for those who are also light sleepers. Breakfast was very nice as well. The car park is small, but sufficient as well. If we're ever in Leamington again, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
28
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Good value, straightforward hotel. Helpful staff. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I was only in Leamington Spa for one day to visit Warwick University, and Lansdowne Hotel was comfortable enough for my short stay. I was still suffering from jet lag, having come from Hong Kong, and based on previous reviews, asked for a room away from the roads (the hotel is at a corner). Thankfully, they obliged and I had a good night's rest. I do, however, think the bed is very soft. If you have a sensitive back, you may want to request a firmer bed.

Lansdowne is in a good location. It was an easy pleasant walk from the train station, and just a couple of blocks to the main shopping strip.

Both the room and bathroom were clean and very spacious. They use energy saving bulbs (good on them) so it does take a little while before it's bright enough to read. It was very cold and I really appreciated the extra electric heater that was in the room. Breakfast was simple but adequate and well cooked.

Sean at the front desk was super kind. He gave me helpful instructions about buses to Warwick and recommended Seasons Restaurant (practically across the road from the hotel) for dinner. It was great.

Another big plus for me was the high speed wi-fi at no extra charge. I was travelling by train so it was helpful to be able to check schedules and make bookings online without having to use my overseas mobile.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed in the Lansdowne Hotel on Saturday 3 December 2011. Its very handy for the town centre, being within just a few minutes walk of The Parade and many restaurants and pubs. The hotel is clean. Our room was of average size and reasonable decoration. The radiator needed bleeding, but there was an extra electric heater if required. Tea and coffee were provided in the room. The bathroom only had a shower, but there was plenty of hot water. The lighting in the bathroom and bedroom was poor - it made it difficult to see to put make up on. They could also really do with a shower screen in the bathroom - shower curtains just don't stop the water running on the floor! The bed was VERY soft, but the linen was clean. Breakfast was only served between 8.30 and 9.30 am. The waitress was extremely attentive. As with other reviewers, we experienced the 1 measly sausage routine, barely cooked bacon, a small spoonful of baked beans, a few mushrooms and a quarter of a tomato. There were however 2 nicely fried eggs, but only 3 slices of poor quality bread toasted. Whilst I am sure there would have been more available if we had asked, I really do think for the prices being charged that a much better standard of breakfast could have been provided. I have stayed in better hotels in Leamington and won't be using the Lansdowne again.

Room Tip: Go to the Angel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This Hotel/B&B was an ideal location for our 2 night trip to Royal Leamington Spa to see a concert. It is very clean and friendly and though they only offer bed and breakfast it was very good. It is located in a quiet street but near enough to shops and nightlife.

It is within an easy walk, 5/10 minutes, of shops around the centre of the town and a beautiful park. It is small and very family friendly. The Lansdowne has small rooms and you get a TV and there was tea and coffee making facilities and the bathroom was adequate but you would need to bring your own shower gel.

The breakfast, I liked it.
There was a good range of cereal, fruit juice tea and coffee. The bacon and eggs were perfect, but the sausage and the beans do serve only to fill up a few square centimetres of spare plate space, but in saying that I did enjoy it.

The Hotel has some off road parking and also has a limited number of spaces at the front of it; Leamington Spa is a nice town with some good architecture, gardens and quite lively nightlife.
I never was in the town before and it surprised me how much it had in it.

The management team are very pleasant and I would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: i stayed in room no.9 and was happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was a great temporary base for us as we went on a family visit to Royal Leamington Spa to see family. It is very clean and friendly and though they only offer bed and breakfast it was very good.
It is within an easy walk, a few hundred yards, of shops around the centre of the town and a beautiful park. It is small and very family friendly.
They are digging up the road outside at the moment but the heavy machinery should be a good bit up the road by now.
The hotel tried to charge us for paying our bill with a credit card but most people do not carry huge sums of cash with them. Anyway, what happened to profit? Is that not supposed to cover overheads? Does the payment of a bill come to business people as a surprise that they "Forgot" to include in their pricing structure?
When queried the owner forgot about the charge. Would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: The best room is number 9. It seeemed very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Lansdowne has small rooms and some tired decor but the management team are very pleasant. The room facilites are OK in that the TV and kettle were modern and efficient. As mentioned elsewhere, the shower gel is woefully inadequate and it is time to invest in some better towels.
The breakfast -- I liked it. There was a good range of cereal, fruit juice te and coffee. The bacon and eggs were perfect, but the sausage and the beans do serve only to fill up a few square centimetres of spare plate space. I never understand why toast is cold at breakfast either - do they toast 100 slices at 7 a.m?
The location is good, in a quieter street ( at least in a town plagued by insomniac boy racers) and very close to shops and nightlife. Given that there is little price difference, if I had had a car I would have chosen one of the characterless hotels with better facilities outside the town... but I didn't. Overall, not bad but attention to a few details would improve it considerably.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: 87 Clarendon Street, Leamington Spa CV32 4PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Leamington Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lansdowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.