We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stag at offchurch

The Stag at offchurch
Welsh Road | Offchurch, Leamington Spa CV33 9AQ, England
01926425801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 191 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: English, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Stag at Offchurch philosophy is to provide country food and value for money. Our outstanding location being a 16th century thatched pub in the centre of the picturesque and historic village of Offchurch is just 3 ½ miles from Leamington Spa town centre. We use fresh seasonal produce, locally sourced wherever possible, to produce first class wholesome food on the premises by our fully trained chefs.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

3 of us visited today and left very happy. Good food rarely comes cheap but we did not resent £80 for 3 diners including soft, alcoholic (good real ales) and hot drinks, roast beef from local butcher perfectly cooked with lots of very good veg and above average desserts with very professional and friendly service. We had something of a corridor seat in the very attractive bar but booked only 90 minutes before arriving so they did well to squeeze (and squeeze the generous plates onto the table). If only all so called gastropubs were this good. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    103
    29
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lazy Sundat Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I were just kooking for somewhere to stop for a drink and some lunch, we had a great lunch and sat in the garen for what seemed like hrs and just relaxed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Was expecting so much - let itself down in many places”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Based on other reviews and expecting premium food with premium service based on the premium price tag, we were disappointed on both accounts on what should have been a lovely evening.

The service was very average - we were pointed to our table, and then regaled with the soup of the day and a request for drinks even before we had even sat down (why must restaurants do this!). At each stage, the table seemed to take time to be cleared and somethings were never removed - the empty wine glasses which were superfluous when we had ordered wine by the glass, were only removed when prompted.

The food however was an even bigger let down. My expensive steak was over seasoned, then accompanied by salty butter, salty mushroom and even saltier chips. I would like to say the steak was tasty, but all I could taste was salt.

The desserts were an equal let down. Subtleties of ginger flavouring in the pudding were obliterated by a caramel sauce so sweet, I can only assume they had shares in a sugar plantation. Similarly, the cinnamon donuts accompanying the chocolate moose were raw in the centre, and the moose itself was dense and unappealing.

A mention of the salty food after the main course resulted in free coffees, but this hardly made up for a poor overall performance.

I've had far better service and much better food in cheaper 'gastro-pubs' - something went wrong here on Friday night. I'm sorry, we will not be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked table for 8. Needed to increase to 10. This seemed to be an issue as was told it couldn't increase anymore and we had to be finished by 9.15. This was odd as table booked a month before. Got there and was lovely atmosphere and room. Food was lovely and well presented. Room was very hot and uncomfortable after a while. Service was a bit slow but they were busy. Would go again as a smaller group.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My new favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the moment Iwalked in I knew it was going to be good,welcoming staff and beautifully decorated. Meal did not disappoint, food is pricey but the quality, taste and presentation was worth it- I felt as though I had been somewhere special. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stag at offchurch also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 
Hunningham, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Stag at offchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stag at offchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.