We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memsaab - Leamington

Memsaab - Leamington
14 Clarendon Avenue, Leamington Spa CV32 5PZ, England
+44 1926 883276
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 179 Restaurants in Leamington Spa
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Classy little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've visited here many times and the food is always good and the service friendly. The meat is always very good quality and the service is friendly. The owner always finds time to come over for a friendly hello. The tableware is always sparklingly clean and there is a laid back atmosphere with the décor and lighting making it cosy for just 2 people. Prices are a little high but we don't mind paying a bit more for the quality. Portions are just right too, you never leave with that uncomfortable feeling of having eaten too much. I recommend it highly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    28
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My first visit - quiet midweek evening. Very attentive service; good food (hotness to order, which is a nice touch); very tasty. Relaxed atmosphere (not sure if this would apply at weekends) - all in all a pleasant night out, though a colleague noted the stupidly high price of Cobra. Will return,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Reservation didn't secure dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had reserved a table for 2 at 8.30 on a Friday. We arrived on time and were offered drinks in the waiting area, perused menus. Waited and waited until 9.10. Noone spoke to us, staff dashing around for a large group. We decided to pay up and go elsewhere...£7.15 lighter and 40mins of time wasted, we left and went to chicos which despite the reviews on here and was quick and good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Tasteless Gloopy Sauce Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Previously a fan, I note the Banbury restaurant has closed, and based on this visit, this place could follow. £6 for 4 poppadom with tasteless chutney set the scene for what was poor meal.
To be fair the chicken shishlick start was fine. But the two main courses Rogan Josh at £9.50 and Mugli Chicken at a tad less both had the same gloopy sauce totally lacking in any sort of taste.
Likewise the tandoori roti and paratha were uninspiring.
Plenty of competition in Leamington and this place will have to be better than this to compete.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No glasses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Didn't take my reading glasses so we got the manager to make recommendations - end price was high, but we got their full attention with the service and a tasty meal to boot.....

I would you there again but take something to read with to keep the cost down.

Food was nice hot and timely - worth a try

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memsaab - Leamington also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Memsaab - Leamington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memsaab - Leamington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.