We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for helping us have the perfect wedding day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lea Lane | Bartle, nr Preston, Preston PR4 0HA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Coffee, Cake and Relax!
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thank you for helping us have the perfect wedding day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well, where do I start? Choosing Bartle Hall as our wedding venue was the best starting point we could have had for planning our wedding. Myself and my husband were married here on March 31st 2013- the best day of our lives!
I loved it from the first time I went to view it and the fact that we could pay to have exclusive use of the venue meaning just ourselves and our guests got to share in our
special day sold it. If you can have the exclusive use I would definitely recommend it! The location is fantatstic found down country lanes in it's own small but beautiful grounds. I loved the style of the main house and also the balmoral suite.
From the initial meeting, subsequent meetings and many, many e-mails I sent with various questions, whoever I spoke to was always professional and helpful. Nicola, Helen, Kirsty and Hannah are just some of the helpful ladies who helped me out lots.
Responses to my e-mails were always prompt and I felt re-assured that everything would run smoothly on our special day which of course it did!
Once at Bartle Hall the day went perfectly and the staff in particular Hailey our toastmaster/organiser for the day ensured this.
The food was fantastic from the delicious canapes, the wonderful wedding breakfast, fantastic evening reception food of posh pie, chips & peas and then the brilliant breakfast the morning after. So many of our guests commented on the amazing food, and I am a big food lover myself so this played an important part in our day- please pass our compliments to the chef!
We were fortunate with the weather also following the snow, blizzards, rain and freezing conditions in the run up to the wedding although it was cold & windy we had sunshine &a dry day so could take advantage of having lots of photos outdoors.
We had The Windsor Suite for our ceremony and then our celebratory drinks and canapes in the main bar before moving over to The Balmoral Suite for our wedding breakfast and evening reception i'm glad we were able to use both suites.
We stayed in The Ivy Cottage which is beautiful! We loved it, we had a minor issue which was promptly rectified by Nicola the morning after and with lovely unexpected gestures/ gifts also. Thank you!
The bedrooms do seem to vary so bear that in mind for your guests, there are some gorgeous four poster rooms which we allocated to immediate family (which are more expensive but worth it) compared to the other rooms as I saw a standard double.
The day flowed so well and I really did not want it to end. Bartle recommended our DJ- Simon Gee and he was great too, it also meant that he could use the lighting etc thatis installed as if we had chosen another DJ we were advised that they wouldn't be able to use all the equipment and lighting as he had installed it (something to bear in mind).
We have had several comments that our wedding was the best one that some people had ever been too and everyone else said what a wonderful wedding it had been.
I have no doubt that had we chosen another venue for our wedding day it wouldn't have been as wonderful as it was, great location, venue, staff & food! So if you are considering Bartle Hall book it as I'm not sure how the last 2 reviewers were able to make such comments as it sounds like they were at a different place. Thanks again Bartle Hall.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Ivy Cottage which was amazing and in your own little grounds. The 4poster rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHaworth, Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Wow. Thank you so much for the lovely review, the whole team really appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts on your very special day.

It is wonderful to hear that your questions were answered effectively by the whole team and I will ensure that all the people involved are aware of your praise.

Hailey is delighted to hear that her co-ordination and service on the day helped to ensure that your day went perfectly.

We feel privileged that Bartle Hall was your chosen venue, we understand that it is a big decision for you to make. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future and wish you both every happiness.

Best Wishes from all the Team at Bartle Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    38
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
77
93
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Attended a friend's wedding here recently. Venue small and cramped. No room to move. Food only OK. Staff a bit stiff and miserable. Room standard poor for the money we paid. Very small and shabby as were parts of the hotel. Dirty carpets and curtains Very dated and in need of a good refurbishment. Very overrated

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHaworth, Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I am truly concerned to hear your comments and would greatly appreciate if you could contact the hotel directly to confirm that it was Bartle Hall you attended.

Our Balmoral Suite is 97ft x 33 ft in size and The Windsor Suite 72ft x 20 ft. During this year we have not hosted a Wedding which has reached the maximum capacities.

As mentioned it would be very beneficial if you could contact the hotel directly to confirm it was Bartle Hall you attended. Customer satisfaction is something that we take very seriously and is of great importance to us and we would like to have the opportunity to investigate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I have been here on numerous occasions for friends weddings and it always been great! Nice little place for a wedding. The food was always good, I especially enjoyed the times the bride and groom opted for bacon and sausage barms, it doesn't sound so special but the meat was excellent quality and everyone enjoyed the concept! No complaints, would highly recommend!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHaworth, Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
It is great to hear that on the numerous occasions you have attended Bartle Hall that you have had a great time.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the supper of bacon and sausage barmcakes. Our meats our sourced from a very specialist supplier and they will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the quality of the produce.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments and we hope that we are able to welcome you back to Bartle Hall again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We got married here on 17th february and we booked the entire hotel, from our beginning consultation right through to the day the staff were always happy to answer any questions we had. Every request I gave them was followed through with faultless precision on the day. Hannah was in charge on our day and she ensured everything was running smoothly and trying to calm my nerves!!

The grounds are amazing, the hall itself beautiful and full of character, we used the Windsor suite and it was perfect. As for the service we couldn't fault anything the meal and canapés were delicious many of our guests commented on how good it was. The rooms from what we were told by guests were lovely although there did seem to be abut variation in decor and overall comfort, but I know they are slowly refurbishing some rooms. We stayed in ivy cottage and it was a wonderful room for our wedding night, nice to have our own little quarters away from the main hall.

All in all it was perfect and we are so pleased we chose to get married here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHaworth, Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind feedback, it is an absolute pleasure to hear that from the start through to the big day itself our team were always helpful.

I am delighted to hear that Hannah, your toastmaster co-ordinated everything well and ensured that you could relax!

It is great to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the food and service so much. I am pleased to hear that your guests enjoyed the rooms and indeed most of the rooms are decorated individually and have their own style.

I am pleased to hear that the Ivy Cottage situated in a secluded part of the grounds was the perfect retreat.

We are delighted that Bartle Hall was your chosen venue and are pleased that we could contribute to many happy memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My Daughter's Wedding was on 23rd March 2013 at Bartle Hall, the Team there were just excellent. Hannah our Toast Master led the day for us, through out the time there nothing was too much trouble. The day flowed, and we had nothing to worry about, we knew we were in safe hands.

To the whole Team for all their work and delivering a flawless day for us, thanks
Katy and Rob really enjoyed the day, and the whole time was relaxed, and went without a hitch.
Myself and Lesley could also relax and enjoy the day as well, knowing that we were in your very capable hands.
We cannot thank you and the team enough for making it the Special Day that is was.

This is an excellent venue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHaworth, Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your Daughter's Wedding. It is a delight to hear that the team's service was "excellent".

I will ensure that Hannah our Toast Master is aware of your fantastic feedback, she will be very proud.

It was our pleasure to host such an important day for you and your family and we really do appreciate your time in sending your thoughts and wish Katy and Rob every happiness for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Sister's wedding held at location. One of the best weddings I have ever attended. Staff friendly, smart and efficient, food gorgeous, facilities - clean and modern. The rooms seemed fantastic - modern and clean!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHaworth, Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your sister's wedding at Bartle Hall.

It is great to receive such wonderful feedback and the service, rooms and food and hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a wonderful night in the newly refurbished balmoral cottage - a beautifully appointed and decorated mini suite tucked away from the main hotel . The room and bathroom are very generously proportioned and the seclusion guaranteed quiet at the end of a marvellous party night at which the food, service and entertainment was first class. Would encourage all to try this little piece of Lancashire paradise - we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHaworth, Manager at Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
It is very helpful to receive such positive feedback on our newly refurbished balmoral cottage and we are pleased that you enjoyed the privacy of the rooms location.

I will ensure that your kind comments relating to the food, service and entertainment are communicated amongst the team and we appreciate the "first class" rating!

It would be an absolute pleasure to see you return to Bartle Hall, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Lea Lane | Bartle, nr Preston, Preston PR4 0HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Preston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Preston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#5 Family Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, Bartle Hall welcomes its guests warmly and you cannot fail to feel the immediate comforts of the elegantly furnished surroundings. Ideally situated between both its neighbouring towns of Preston and Blackpool. With just a short drive into the Lake District it is located within easy access of the M6/M55 motorways.Elegantly set in beautiful gardens in the Lancashire countryside. Relax and enjoy a drink in our impressive lounge bar overlooking the garden where the tranquil atmosphere takes you away from the pressures of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartle Hall Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bartle Hall Country Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.