We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Preston Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Preston Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Preston Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Preston Farmers Office, New Hall Lane, Preston PR1 5JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Preston
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Okay, but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were pleased with the hotel itself. Clean, tidy and easy to find.
The carpark was a bit of a challenge to park in.
The downside, it is on a main road that was surprisingly noisy the night that we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    35
    17
    27
See reviews for
72
42
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel as I couldn't get the rooms at the Premier Inn, now I know why I normally book at PE! The hotel itself was in an old cotton mill and therefore should have been very good as they had a blank canvas inside, but the inside turned out to be poorly designed. Firstly the "normal" room, it has a good bed, that's about it. I had room 201 which is the first door in past the security door... Which means that a night's sleep is impossible due to the security door being in use all the time and very noisy every time it is used... I got in a 2230 and it started at 2300 and continued 'til the last person arrived back at 0527!! If you get room 201 (or, I assume, 301 and 401) then reject it! On to the Disabled Room, overall not too bad, the facilities in the bathroom were fine and there was lots of space around the beds. But the point of a hotel is to sleep and the beds were far too low meaning that whilst my wife could get into them (by virtually falling into them!) she couldn't get out of them. I know everyone's disability is different but I don't know anyone that needs a bed which is that low. We looked at trying to get another (normal height) bed in (they couldn't do this) or a room swap (all the disabled rooms had low beds!!!!) so we had to live with it and lift my wife out when she needed to go to the toilet. Then there was the noise from the road out front which was not suitably sound deadened. Overall our experience was very poor, on the basic, i.e. getting a good night's sleep in suitable surroundings, Travelodge Preston Central failed miserably.

Room Tip: Don't bother, go to Premier Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After arriving and getting undressed for the shower I heard the the door unlock and turned around, totally naked, to be greeted by another guest (female) to whom the staff had clearly given the wrong key!
Despite the embarrassment, it was lucky someone was in the room, as all of our valuables could have easily been pinched.
The staff were apologetic, and offered us free drinks, but could offer no explanation as to how a guest was given the same room as us. Lack of attention springs to mind......I wonder how often this happens.
Otherwise, apart from the nightmare of a car park, this was like any other Travelodge.
Did I mention the car park? Hehe - it's worth parking in there for the adrenalin rush you get when you've successfully parked without hitting your car on any of the numerous closely-spaced pillars.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry to learn of your experience and we would like to be able to investigate this matter further. So we can do this, please use the ‘contact us’ page on our website which will enable us to do so. We will look forward to receiving your contact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was convenient for central Preston, clean, modern, comfortable and good value for money. We had one major issue which may have been a one off, and one minor one.

We arrived in an MPV - not a particularly huge one, a Vauxhall Zafira - and were advised as we did so that this vehicle might be difficult to manoeuver around the car park. Staff pointed out to us where in the yard outside we could and couldn't leave our vehicle and we did not have any problems. Since Travelodge were upfront about the issue of car parking and we managed to cope without difficulty I am not minded to mark them down over it but be aware that someone driving a large car in the indoor car park who is not skilled at manoeuvring it, or someone who parks outside without checking which side you can leave it and where you cannot, might have a problem.

The room was clean, warm, comfortable and an adequate size. Facilities were what you would expect from a good budget hotel.

Staff were friendly, welcoming, and helpful.

Convenient for central Preston: knowing what a nightmare this town is for parking and the one-way system we went into the town centre on foot. It is about three quarters of a mile and took perhaps 10-15 minutes to reach the centre on foot.

Our minor issue was that, having paid for WiFi access, there was no signal in our room. The reason this was only a minor issue is that there was a good signal in the restaurant so we could and did access the internet from there.

Our major issue was that the fire alarm sounded in the early hours of Sunday morning at about 1.20 am. (It was a false alarm.) I would hope this was a one-off problem and will be sorted out, but it did rather badly disrupt our sleep.

Otherwise it was a good stay and certainly value for money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just as expected, spacious room, conveniently located for our purposes. One thing to be aware of (and they are very open about this on the website) is that the parking garage has metal posts separating each of the bays (they say bollards, they're a bit more than bollards!) just be aware if you drive something big or aren't too confident about manoeuvring your vehicle! Other than this (which is flagged on their site) I'd heartily recommend this place, it did exactly what we needed and meant that between the seven of us (in three rooms) it cost less than £100 for the night - can't argue with the value!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I choose this hotel because of its location and price. I can see why it is so cheap. The Car Park is a nightmare. The Hotel was clearly a warehouse olfactory in the past and you get up to the car park via a ramp (same one up and down-potential for a crash there) Because of the many pillars everything is extremely tight and you can see from all the scraps on the pillars that many people have been unlucky.
I had room 321 with a broken shower which I reported (although I didn't get the impression that it was going to be sorted) so if you get this room and the shower still is broken you will know that it had been reported previously.
The breakfast was great I went down early and it was all lovely and fresh but on checking out the reception was unmanned and left me disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't use the 1st floor car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bins emptied at 0430 and 0530 by hgv complete with reversing warning sounds. Pissed up residents shouting inside and out at all hours. Totally understaffed, took 20 mins to book in. Room ok and the staff did there best but really poor show here Travelodge.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Preston Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Preston Central

Address: Preston Farmers Office, New Hall Lane, Preston PR1 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Preston Central 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Preston Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Preston Central Hotel Preston
Travel Lodge Preston
Preston Travel Lodge
Preston Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Preston Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.