We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nicely refurbished rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Preston Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Preston Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Preston Central
Preston Farmers Office, New Hall Lane, Preston PR1 5JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Preston
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value and nicely refurbished rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel was easy to find. The outside doesn't look too inviting but the recently refurbished rooms were excellent. We arrived quite late (10PM) and there was a delay in answering the intercom from the garage but once inside, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    47
    31
    16
    22
See reviews for
66
38
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home from staying in this travel lodge. We have stayed here and in Preston Chorley aswell. They are both lovely!!
Yes the car park is.. Let's say strangely laid out, but it's not impossible, a few manoeuvres, a little patience and your in, no bumps or grazes :)
Reception is small, but staff are friendly, they are only a small team so you have some waits for service, but that's not usually a problem, we didn't have one & we travel with toddler twins.
Our room was not ready when we arrived so we had to wait 10 minutes, this turned into about half an hour, but staff offered us refreshments.
Rooms - now we booked very last minute, the only family room they had available was a disabled access. It was huge!! But nonetheless lovely, no toiletries provided, but you could ask reception. My mum who came along had her own room, a double room. No chair for her but she was happy enough, it was a good nights sleep, some outside noise, your outside a pretty main road in preston. This didn't bother us.
In the morning we decided to have breakfast, this cost short of £30 for all you can eat (3 adults, 2 children, who eat free) it was nice enough, they obviously work really hard to cook, clean and provide service on the reception.
All in all, we had a lovely stay, value for money.. Not so great £57 per room, preston chorley is £55 per room and considering we paid £57 for a family room, and my mum paid £57 for just a double. But with preston been so close to Blackpool on illumination weekend maybe it's a tactful price bump as we have seen prices at that room a lot cheaper.
Thanks travellodge preston! Maybe see you in the near distant future :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

we were looking for somewhere cheapish for a quick night in blackpool with the family, I only booked Travelodge if honest I had a voucher due to problems we had in a hotel in the south, but we are glad we did as it is a really nice clean hotel with friendly staff. the refurbs make the hotel more modern and much more suitable to familys travelling, added bonus of a café bar with good reasonably priced food

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's a generic Travelodge in a converted industrial building in a run-down part of Preston. The room (the standard type found in all hotels of this kind) was adequate, clean and fine for short stays. No toiletries were provided. The food was overpriced and badly cooked, and the bar prices seriously overinflated. The staff were friendly and efficient, to be fair, but I wouldn't choose to eat in an establishment of this kind again. Also, asking £5 for one hour's wi-fi is in my opinion ridiculous. If circumstances had allowed it, ten minutes' walk away is a Wetherspoons with better food, cheaper drinks and free wi-fi. The car park was interesting - so many iron pillars closely spaced made it quite a challenge, and I only have a small car! One useful hint - it's directly opposite a Lidl supermarket. Buy supplies there rather than from the Travelodge itself!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the main road (New Hall Lane), as it gets very noisy from e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Preston Central, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We’re pleased to hear you had a satisfactory stay with us motorbandit. We do not provide toiletries in our rooms as part of our brand standard, however customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations. We are sorry you did not enjoy the food offered in our bar café on this occasion. Our staff are trained to prepare food to a good standard and we’ll make sure our Hotel Management team are made aware of your comments so they can address this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We used the Tavelodge in Preston Central as a break on the long journey from Cornwall to Scotland. The hotel is close to the motorway and very handy. It was very easy to find, there were plenty of spaces in the car park, even on a bank holiday weekend and the service was great.
The family room was really comfortable ad clean with a great double bed and a smaller bed for our son. The bathroom was clean, shower was powerful. The breakfast buffet s small compared to other hotels, but had everything you could need. Only downside was size of car parking spaces, which are very tight.
Staff are great and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night as daughter was dancing in Southport early on Sunday morning. We arrived after 9pm and headed straight to the bar cafe for food and drinks. Food was ok but a bit pricey for what it was. Room was lovely recently refurbished and hotel had new carpet smell. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would def stay again. Only paid £35 for 1 night .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a regular user of Travelodge, the new one in Preston is the best yet - clean well equipped and reasonably priced, you get free parking (although this is a little tricky to enter) and a cosy bar cafe. The room styles have been updated recently and we appreciated the made up beds for the family - unlike the old style "sofa beds" and general decor. We'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Preston Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Preston Central

Address: Preston Farmers Office, New Hall Lane, Preston PR1 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Preston Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Preston Central Hotel Preston
Travel Lodge Preston
Preston Travelodge
Preston Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Preston Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.