We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family celebration - nice food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guild Merchant

Guild Merchant
440 Tag Lane, Preston, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 448 Restaurants in Preston
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Preston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family celebration - nice food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went on a Tuesday lunch time for a family birthday. There were about 12 of us. We had a few tables pushed together in a long alcove. It worked well. The food was good and the 2 for 1 meal deal meant it kept the prices down. Was quite impressed with with service, although the tables weren't ready when we arrived, even though we had booked in advance. Although this is a refurbished pub, the dining area is fully tabled serviced, even for drinks - this is good.

It is not the best restaurant in the world, but was very nice for a pub lunch/family gathering.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I have never reviewed a restaurant but really feel this place deserves one! (absolutely huge)! Good was beautiful, we rarely eat steak in pubs as the quality is usually questionable however the meat was fantastic quality and cooked perfectly to order! The staff are wonderful and atmosphere in the place is nice. All in all this really is a lovely pub and we will be returning very soon! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice staff very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch. Very few customer or staff. Staff were friendly & helpful. Menu was good & varied but the 2 for 1 tag just means that food is double the price of most places. My enchilada was microwaved & stuck to the dish & filling would have been difficult to identify had I not known what I ordered. Won't be rushing back too soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“241 deal isn't a good deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited with a group of friends. Service was good:staff are friendly. The food, unfortunately is poor. My fish & chips was quite unpleasant; the fish was clearly past its best: slimy and oddly flavoured, dried out chips, accompanied by over microwave mushy peas. That poor experience aside, there is no way £10+ is a price you'd pay for this dish in any other pub so the 241 deal is hardly so great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good local Pub [ resturant]”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been 3 times to this pub since it has been refurbished and have to say overall I am very pleased with the food and I think it is well priced and well cooked and the staff are very friendly,all so I think the look that it has inside now the refurb is done very very nice indeed, good to see it getting back to being a lovely pub where you would'nt be afraid to take anyone and enjoy good food

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guild Merchant also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Guild Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guild Merchant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.