We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guild Merchant

Guild Merchant
440 Tag Lane, Preston, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 436 restaurants in Preston
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alan is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal at guild merchant . Friends had said how good it was and I did not believe ! I was wrong it is great value with fab atmosphere!
So different to the old pub ! Try it !!! Well done mars tons for reclaiming ! Alan (our waiter) was lovely and perfectly attentive.
Worth the 1 hour trip to get here !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    25
    12
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great pub and great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We live close to the Guild Merchant so we pop up there most weeks when we can't be bothered to cook, or just for a drink.

All the staff are very friendly, good value pub food with huge variety including a specials board with a good 15-20 dishes on it too. The staff will go out of their way to help, if you don't want to eat desserts there they can still supply dessert in a take-away box and give you exact instructions to heat it up. Now if they get a cheese board on the dessert menu it would be perfect!

Really would recommend this pub for a meal out. It's a lot better than the nearby Ancient Oak.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have visited four times since it was refurbished to celebrate family birthdays and casual lunches. Can't recommend it enough. The staff are efficient and friendly and the service is excellent. The food is varied and well cooked and extremely well presented. Will continue to visit and will advise friends to give it a try...they will not be disappointed. Very good value for money. A big bonus is that they sell proper beer!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great 241”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Popped into the Merchant for a midweek treat and was not disappointed. Nice 'chain' decor with friendly and efficient staff. The food isn't gourmet but then you wouldn't expect it to be but that siad it was well cooked and presented. Value for money and will be returning at some point in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have visited the Guild Merchant on numerous occasions since it reopened and every time have been pleased with our meal. We only live down the road so it's great to just be able to pop along anytime for a lovely meal. Atmosphere is great..great for kids but my only tiny gripe is that if there's three of you, you end up missing on on the two for 1 offer which is a bit unfair. Why not just lower the price of all meals to stop us threesomes missing out LOL other than that no issues whatever Love the place

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guild Merchant also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 
Preston, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Guild Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guild Merchant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.