We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great afternoon for the whole family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary

Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary
Access Through Garden Centre, 92 Chain House Lane | Whitestake, Preston PR4 4LB, England
+44 1772 323323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Attractions in Preston
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sited at the rear of GARDEN CENTRE Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary is a pure volunteer based, non profit group of volunteers.The flying display give you the visitors, Children & Adults, the chance to participate in the flying display and have our birds land on your gloved hand as they fly to you for their food.We have a collection of over 80 birds of prey including eagles, hawks, falcons, owls, vultures and more unusual species.All the birds are housed in large open fronted aviaries, sheltered in a woodland setting. We assist conservation and education of these beautiful Birds and we are involved with an average of 50 rescues each year.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great afternoon for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a fantastic little hidden gem. A beautiful place to see and enjoy the rescued owls and brids of prey. The volunteers at this place have a passion in what they do, demonstrate and explain. We absolutely enjoyed the show, the guys really made an afford and give the whole audience the opportunity to experience the birds upclose and personal. Loads of respect for these passionate volunteers. This little and not commerzialed afternoon out is a must for all, you enjoy the afternoon, the volunteers can show their passion and the birds are taken care off. Continue the good work!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    48
    7
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Day out at Turbary Woods owl sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A lovely day spent seeing the owls and other birds of prey. The volunteers are all very helpful and obviously enjoy all the hard work they do. Being able to hold the birds was such a bonus. The entrance price is very low for such an experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic afternoon out for the kids where they can join in with the flight show multiple times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very much enjoyed day where the children and adults were encouraged to join in catching these beautiful birds. The show was not rushed and very informative, the staff/volenteers are doing a wonderful job of taking care of these rehabilitated birds!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic trip out out for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Have visited Turbary Woods a few times with different members of the family, such a wonderful place to see the owl and birds of prey, we love going watching the displays and ppl getting a chance to get up close to the birds and learn a little about them, the staff their are awesome to talk too and you can see just how passionate they are about the birds.....well worth taking the whole family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! Well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Today I visited the sanctuary with my child, it was an excellent experience which me and my child learnt more about the stunning birds which are kept in pristine condition at the sanctuary
It was worth every penny, all volunteers friendly and helpful!
Will be visiting again soon!
Thanks for a great day

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.