We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Preston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Preston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Preston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Ringway, Preston PR1 3AU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Preston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great breakfast ten out of ten. I really enjoyed that in the morning I left. lovely clean rooms, lovely staff. Would recommend again. Only concern was its slighty out of the centre had to hop onto taxis to get about. Otherwise great place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear deekane1986,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your feedback are aim is to delight all our guests staying with us and ensuring we deliver what the expectations are to a high standard.

We hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Preston.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    145
    90
    24
    11
See reviews for
37
81
27
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North West
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Not enough parking by a long chalk, so you have to park in the pay and display car park above the bus station. This is a very unnerving experience. There seems no safe way to get back to the hotel that does not involve walking on a busy road in a very undesirable part of town. Walking into the hotel via the car park you can go straight into the lift and access all areas of the hotel, where are the security measures?
the rooms were small, but on a positive note, any staff I encountered were cheerful and welcoming.
Would I stay here again, not on your Nellie!!!

Room Tip: If you want to see the sun rising over the hideous Preston Bus Station then ask for an East facing r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear blueyonder,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

I can assure you the hotel is very safe, we have CCTV on entering the hotel and we also have Duty Managers as standard practice in every hotel, doing floor walks, We know which people should be in the hotel, even with the reception being on the first floor.

The local area is very busy with people using the famous Preston bus station which is opposite the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback, we are please we were able to offer you a warm Lancashire welcome and stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here at the start of February for the one night. A friendly welcome was offered on arrival and I was checked in quickly.

The room as others have said was a little on the small side, however I was only there the one night and it wasn't too much of an issue as it was clean and well maintained with no visible housekeeping problems.

Clean bedding and towels were available and the bed itself was very comfortable, I had a good nights sleep with no disturbances which is always impressive for a Saturday evening in a town centre location.

I ordered room service which was delivered promptly and was of good quality. There is a very good choice of dishes on the menu with something to suit all tastes. Breakfast in the morning was very nice. It is a buffet, however the was a very good choice of dishes available which was replenished regularly in small batches.

Checking out in the morning was quick and hassle free whilst I was thanked as I left.

One thing I noticed which is strange with this hotel is that there is only standard rooms available, normally Holiday Inns have a choice of at least two (Standard and Executive etc).

Overall a good stay and I would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Chris M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay, thank you for your feedback. Our aim is to delight our guests.

We hope to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Preston.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed there during the month of May-June 2013 for 4 days. Rooms are too small. Location is very good just near the Tithebern bus stop. The entrance is a bit confusing. But overall it is good one. Cleanliness is up to a very good degree. Breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: I found my room to be small. But not sure about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Sankar-Banerjee,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay, your feedback regarding the size of room has been noted, unfortunately not something that can be changed, due to the structure of our building, however we do appreciate you comments, in particular the cleanliness standards which is what we pride ourselves with.

We hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Its a Holiday inn, you know what you're getting when you stay here.

I could be extra picky. Ideally, Id like more in the free tea/coffee tray rather than enough for one cup. The bathroom could've been a bit bigger but as a place to crash, its ideal. £50 was definitely worth the money.

The parking isn't great though. That needs to be looked at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear MrChristopher,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased that you found your stay value for money, with regards to the tea and coffee facility in the room, extra tea and coffee is provided, if you do run out, contact reception and a team member would be more than happy to deliver extra to you room, just something to note for any future stays with us.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here on 29th Jan and was adequately happy with my stay. Parking seems to be restricted to only a few right outside the hotel, otherwise it's a trek across the road into the multi-storey. I'm not sure if you have to pay here but you certainly need a permit to park there so arrive early for a spot outside the hotel.

The guy that greeted me advised me to park on the double yellow lines in the car park, when I went to change parking spaces from the multi-storey there was an empty parking space, so thanks to the receptionist for the tip.

Room was pleasant enough and done the job. Breakfast was good along with some happy helpful staff which always makes a massive difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Godcrasher,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and pleased that our staff were helpful for you, Your staff comments have been shared with the team.

we hope to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stay in 3 to 4 hotels every week and only normally write a report for the right reasons, all good. However tonight staying in the Holiday Inn in Preston I feel it's only right to comment on the poor service at the bar, I waited 10 mins before trying the internal phone that simply rang and rang, so I walked to the office and knocked on the door.

The response was not what I expected, all I said was is anyone able to serve me at the bar, bare in mind it was just after 11.00

The door was shut in my face with a
"I'll find someone" so I returned to the bar to wait for another 5 mins
Then a very nice young man came and served me and the other guests waiting for a drink. To be fair he and his team lead Kirsty were very attentive.
Having stayed in this hotel before and other ihg hotels it's a shame that one person could ruin the reputation Of the whole group
I hope ihg invest some time and money on customer relationship training because they need it
Disgruntled

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIPrestonRGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Preston, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Andrew James R,

Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay at our hotel, Holiday Inn Preston.

We are disappointed that you encountered a problem, with regards to a team member and the bar service.

Thank you for your comments with regards to Kirsty and her team, this has been noted and shared with her and the team.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the other team member who you encountered the problem, so that we cab resolve, or action accordingly.

Kind Regards
Vijya Di Niro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Preston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Preston

Address: The Ringway, Preston PR1 3AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Preston 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Preston, a modern and stylish hotel providing a great place to stay & value for money in the City Centre, close to University Central Lancashire; an ideal location for both business and for leisure. Holiday Inn Preston hotel is fully air-conditioned with all bedrooms offering high speed internet access & Wi-Fi is available in our bar lounge. With a full service Restaurant, Bar, Lounge and 24-hr room service, we can cater for all of your requirements. The Ringway Bar & Grill provides a perfect place to dine, experiencing fantastic food & excellent customer service. For leisure and family breaks the Hotel is a short distance from the Guild Hall & Charter Theatre, Preston North End F.C, and Preston Golf Club. The Holiday Inn Preston hotel is an ideal base to enjoy the Lancashire Countryside. Our strong rail and motorway links provide short journeys to Blackpool, the Ribble Valley, Lake District and Yorkshire Dales.The Holiday Inn Preston hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedroom.The new Meetings & Training Centre provides the ideal venue for all business needs; with wi-fi access, unlimited refreshments, natural daylight and desired privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Preston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Preston Hotel Preston
Preston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Preston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.