We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smell of tobacco +++++” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Preston North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Preston North to your Saves list
Ibis Preston North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garstang Road, Preston PR3 5JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Preston
sheffield uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Room smell of tobacco +++++”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Booked family room for 1 night approx 1 week before arrival. On getting out of lift on 3rd floor, obvious smell of smoking. room allocated had severe smell of smoke. Returned to reception to be informed half of 3rd floor rooms are delegated smoking rooms (apparently Ibis policy?). Asked why was delegated smoking room when never requested (family room only request made) was told that was reason we got it at £47 rate? Tariff behind receptionist head stating ALL rooms £47 (receptionist admitted this was case on further questioning). Offered optional room on 3rd floor (supposedly non-smoking), on inspection room ISQ re: smell with ash deposits on window sill. Asked for alternative rooms/hotels and basically given couple of names to try.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    182
    87
    37
    22
See reviews for
107
155
53
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
preston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Large bedrooms fantastic beds very comfy. We travelled as a family 2 adults 2 infant twins we took our own travel cots and the family room happily homed us all with bags of room to spare! We had our wedding recpetion down th road at ingol golf club so all our family etc stayed with us here...fine for a ngt nothing special like a travelodge but was nice as we all stayed in th same hotel after th do and there is a 241 nxt door where we met all our guests for lunch b4 they all left on th Sunday...fab...paid 27 pound for the room...fab value for money for 2 adults and 2 infants!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworh staffs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

booked this hotel after checking out of a so called 3* hotel in southport.arrived about 7.30pm, staff were very quick at checking us in and were very friendly.our room was very clean and comfortable.for a budget hotel this is "FIRST CLASS"--hotel has its own resturant but there is a lovely pub right next door. you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The hotel as you would expect from a Ibis is simple, clean and basic. On arrival at 4:30 on the 30 August, the girl that checked us in wasn't very friendly and on trying to make conversation she just grunted and ignored us. We then ventured out into preston to meet friends - on returning to the hotel we was greeted by Joe the night manager. he welcomed us back to the hotel and had a great chat in fact we was up till 4am as he made us feel very welcome. nothing was too much trouble for him a real credit to your team. Breakfast was basic continental style but well presented and a good range of drinks and food to choose from. Would deffinatley reccomend this hotel and would stop again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

Stayed here overnight to split up the long drive up to the Lake District and was pleased with the choice. It's a clean, basic hotel but was exactly what we were looking for. Managed to get it for a good price to due to a special offer on the website. Arrived late (midnight) and check in was easy, though the night desk man was a little strange. Bed was comfortable, room clean and we got a good night's sleep. Didn't try the breakfast facilities at all. Only criticism was that it was hard to find in the dark - no signs that we could see and we had to guess the last few turns. Have booked to stay there again when we drive up to Scotland.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Difficult to find in the dark
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

I stayed at the Ibis on Friday 22 August 2008 for 1 night.
I arrived and was checked in by 2 minutes past midnight as my flight to the UK had been delayed.
Having travelled for 10 hours from France I asked the receptionist whether I could get a drink at the bar as I was exhausted and wanted to relax before retiring. She told me it wasn't possible as the bar closed at 12:00 midnight (2 minutes earlier). She was not only the receptionist but also ran the bar.
I pleaded with her to sell me at least a bottle of beer to take to my room but she just smugly smiled and shook her head.
So....that was just for a drink......imagine if there had been a real problem?!?!?!
Hotel was clean but very steely reception from a power crazy young girl.
I shall not be staying at an Ibis again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The receptionist
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed here because all other hotels in Preston were fully booked. I think that is a sign. Arrived around 10pm. Booked in ok we were asked if we would like an early morning call which we accepted... we are still waiting! So we were late for our appointment. Room was a good enough size and clean enough. Breakfast ok. They also tried to charge us for another rooms internet. So no i won't being staying there again sorry.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Bad Service, even though it was £75 i expected better service.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Preston North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Preston North

Address: Garstang Road, Preston PR3 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Preston North 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Preston North hotel is located in the heart of the north west district of the city, 5 km from the city centre and its shops, bars and restaurants and is also within easy reach of the Lake District and Manchester. Book one of our 82 rooms and make the most of our hotel amenities, a restaurant, bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days, free private outdoor parking and two meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. Business guests will appreciate use of our wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Preston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Preston North Hotel Preston
Accor Preston North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Preston North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.