We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value quality hotel who try hard to please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barton Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Barton Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Preston
Suffolk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good value quality hotel who try hard to please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

Good receptionists, excellent restaurant and a general quality feel in a medium sized quality hotel. There is little, if any, competition in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    101
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
56
130
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

Superb hotel, restaurants are excellent. There is a great restaurant opposite the hotel, an Itlaian I think. The garden centre area has now been turned into a landscaped garden, and one other little tip (please don't share it with too many people, you'll see why!) is the secrfet garden. Facing towards the main entrance, you walk around the left hand side of the hotel, down the side and you can see a small archway. Through here is.................. well, I'll let you find out!

  • Liked — Great bedrooms, close to Preston Lancaster and M6/M55
  • Disliked — NOWT!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

This hotel deserves it's excellent reviews! I booked after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. Staff very friendly and helpful, food was good - particularly breakfast, location is easily accessible from the M6 and for the Preston area. I am looking forward to visiting again!

  • Liked — Friendly & quality service
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester, essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

After reading trip advisor , we stayed one night here when dropping our daughter at uni. Could not fault anything, from initial phone booking, arrival, quality of room, food in walled garden , breakfast, and most importantly the service. Friendly, efficient , the best we have come across. Great value too, will stay there whenever we go to Preston in next three years. Other establishments could learn a lot from this hotel.Well done to them.

  • Liked — service and price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Have just returned from a stay at Barton Grange Hotel and we had a fab time, total relaxation in a welcoming atmosphere.
We stayed in an executive room which was traditionally decorated, very spacious and immaculately presented.
Food in Walled garden bistro was delicious and very good quality as was the breakfast. Although when we asked for steak knives to go with our steak we were told we didn't need them as the meat was tender enough, the meat was very good quality but a steak knive is called such because it goes with steak.
Service in hotel throughout stay was good although a slightly unfriendly female waitress in restaurant, maybe due to language barrier.
Leisure facilities in hotel were good and quiet during our stay.
All in all well worth a stay if heading to this area.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

was attending a wedding at the hotel, so made a long weekend. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, lovely rooms. Food very good.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princes risborough
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

Must agree with the other posts - great place to stay - Swimming pool, sauna , gym, good food, room very clean and tidy - free wireless internet – highly recommended for the price in this area of Lancashire

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Preston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#6 Family Hotel in Preston
#8 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.