We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barton Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Barton Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Preston
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Bought afternoon tea on travel zoo and was not dissapointed the food and the presentation were lovely we sat outside on a sunny day in the walled garden will defo revisit The staff were very friendly and did a great job

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon tea experience in the Walled Garden Bistro, it’s always great to read such positive comments about the food and staff.

The outside terrace overlooking the enclosed Walled Garden is the perfect spot to enjoy a bit of alfresco dining!

I look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    102
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
56
132
18
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

On the 25th may 2014 we had our wedding here. It was the greatest day of our lives. We had family and friends from all over arrive for the weekend. The care and attention everyone of our guests recieved from all the staff was incredible. Above and beyond. The Walled Garden restaurant fed and watered them everyday and night of their stay till they we're fit to burst. The hotel rooms were top drawer. Clean,spacious and luxurious. Tania took us by the hand and led us up to our big day. Tania is a proper pro. at what she does. On the day we were put in the very capable hands of Grace. An absolute Angel!!!!!!! We couldn't thank her enough. She worked her socks off and delivered a wonderful day it ran like clockwork. There was no request too small or too big for Grace to fulfil for us. Then there was Rob Falcon. What can I say?? He's an absolute superstar!!! He entertained everyone from the minute they arrived to the final whistle!! If he hadn't been working for us on this day I would've wanted him there as our guest. This guy should be compulsory at everyones wedding. Do yourself and your wedding a favour and make sure you hire this guy. It's a must. I guarantee with Grace and Rob and all their terrific team over seeing your day it'll be the best day of your life too. Neil and Rebecca O'Donnell.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Neil and Rebecca,

Wow!! As reviews go they don’t come much better than this.

It really was an absolute pleasure to look after your family and friends for the weekend, and I can honestly say the staff loved it as much as you!

Tania, Grace, Rob and the rest of the team are so touched by your words and really gave them a boost!

I so look forward to seeing you back at Barton Grange Hotel soon, and wish you both a very long and happy life together.

All the very best

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We got married here on Friday 25th April 2014 and I couldn't not leave a review.
We viewed a couple of other places before here but right from the offset we knew this was were our wedding should be held. We were made to feel relaxed, reassured & they were very flexible with their options, making sure everything suited us exactly as we wanted. Communication was good before hand & on the day everything ran smoothly.

We got married in the 'Grange Room' which is the smaller of the two rooms but no less perfect and was the perfect intimate setting we wanted. We also had our day and evening reception in the 'Grange Room' too. The room looked stunning from the ceremony right through to the evening reception with guests hardly believing it was the same room (we had a gorgeous twinkle light backdrop right round the room provided by Add a Little Sparkle at a very reasonable price).
A massive thank you must go to Tania who overlooked everything, she guided us through the whole day so we knew at all times what was going on & she has clearly been doing this job a while because she's very professional whilst being approachable with an extremely friendly manner.

We chose tomato soup for starters, lamb for main & giant profiteroles for dessert & we cannot fault the food at all. It was delicious! The portion sizes were perfect & the lamb was so soft, all washed down with the wine that was included in our package which was constantly being topped up by the hard working staff (who are an absolute credit to Tania). If any guests weren't drinking alcoholic drinks through the wedding breakfast soft drinks were free of charge, a nice touch we thought. We had sausage & bacon barms accompanied by the yummiest chips ever for guests later on which was just what people needed after a few drinks.

The hotel itself is lovely, the reception area is warm & welcoming but with a grand feeling about it. It's decorated quite traditional but in a modern, plush way as opposed to 'old'.
We were given a gorgeous, executive room included in our package which was very luxurious with a roll top bath & a huge bed and although we didn't spend a lot of time in there it made it all the more special and was a nice touch. All our wedding party guests that stayed over were impressed with their rooms ranging from classic to superior. The superior rooms are bigger than the classic & modernly decorated.
We ate breakfast in the walled garden restaurant which was a buffet breakfast. Although there wasn't a huge amount of food to chose from technically, there was everything you could of wanted & I have to say, it was delicious. The scrambled eggs being some of the nicest I have ever eaten! The restaurant it's self is lovely, very traditional feeling also & with a lovely atmosphere. We certainly look forward to dining here on our first wedding anniversary which was also included in the wedding package.
We made use of the leisure facilities after breakfast, using the pool, which is of good size, followed by the sauna & steam room. The facilities were very clean & heated which made it a comfortable swim.
We cannot recommend Barton grange hotel enough and we had a perfect wedding which was genuinely faultless. We can't thank the hotel and staff enough for making our special day even more precious.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
I am thrilled Barton Grange Hotel provided the Perfect Wedding day for you and making your special day even more precious.

You review was an absolute joy to read and share with Tania and the team. It’s such a big decision in choosing the right venue for your special day and we are so pleased you selected us.

It really is fantastic to read such positive comments about your whole Barton Grange Experience.

I really look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon and just wanted to wish you both all the very best in your married life together.

Geraldine

P.s Room 5 is the executive room with the roll top bath (it’s one of my favorites to!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

What a perfect day, even the sun came out! Everything was organised, to how we requested, and we didn't have to worry about a thing on the day. Tania and the rest of the staff did a great job. The ceremony was perfect, the wedding breakfast was delicious and the evening reception was fantastic with a great buffet. The DJ, Rob Falcon, was with us all day and was thoroughly entertaining. We had lots of great comments from our attending family and friends too, everyone had a great time.
Thank you to all involved in making our day special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing Barton Grange Hotel. I am thrilled to read you had a prefect wedding day.

I have passed on your fantastic comments to Tania, Rob and the team.

I wish you both all the very best for your future life together and look forward to seeing you at the Hotel again very soon.

Best wishes


Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Took Monday lunch at The Walled Garden Bistro, part of Barton Grange Hotel. Opted for the £15 3 course menu. Tasty Halloumi cheese and smoked bacon salad for starter followed by Lancashire cheese and shallot tart, beetroot chutney and Waldorf salad. Tart ok but lacked flavour and was a little dense and mushy. My guest had a smoked haddock and pea risotto to start which was rated a good followed by chargrilled bacon chop with whole grain mustard mash and green beans. Bacon chop was a little on the salty side. Neither of us managed dessert. Service was friendly and efficient and venue cosy and relaxing. Overall, good value for what we got and a nice venue for a meal with friends. Hopefully they will introduce a 2 course option in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Walled Garden Bistro. I have noted your comments and will discuss with the team.

Hope to see you again soon.

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel was good and service was very good. Rooms were large with new refitted bathroom. If i was being negative, shower was weak, but I would go back!
Hotel has an excellent restaurant and food is very good.
Swimming pool was very good and well looked after. Overall, rooms were comfortable and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is really beautiful, family friendly.
We went there with our 1 year old twins and really enjoyed our stay.
We took 2 family rooms and they were spacious even with the 2 travel cots and really well maintained.
The restaurant was very good and they did their best to make us feel welcome.
I really recommend it!

Room Tip: family rooms can accommodate 2 travel cots and still have enough space left
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine J, Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
What a great review and thank you for the recommendation!

I look forward to welcoming you back at Barton Grange Hotel soon.

Best wishes

Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Preston
#6 Family Hotel in Preston
#8 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.