We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and a great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barton Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Barton Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and a great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I stayed at the Barton Grange Hotel so as to attend a Birthday celebration. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived to check in and the relaxed and friendly approach was very different to some greetings we have had at other hotels. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for a one night stay. Down stairs, the function room was beautifully set up and again the staff were brilliant making sure everyone had a drink etc but they also got involved with the theme of the nights celebrations. The food was excellent and as for the breakfast, it was first class.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Great review, thank you very much. reviews do not get much better than that!! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best wishes

Eloic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    119
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
64
147
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucetershire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

really nice staff lovely hotel with an indoor pool and gym and only for residents
Please try the restaurant it was worth it.the breakfast was just right with a good selection.I had a executive room over looking the old garden centre and close to the stairs to the pool,and away from the main road.The bedroom was clean and well decorated and furnished with fresh milk in the hallway on the first floor in a fridge.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We have just refreshed the offering & presentation of our breakfast, so it is nice to see that you enjoyed it.
Best wishes

Eloic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Very quick and efficient check in, stayed in room 113 with wonderful views over walled garden. Room was spacious, clean and included a comfortable desk area to work. Good size bathroom and own ironing facility.

Food at the Walled Garden Restaurant can only be described as excellent, breakfast also served there the following morning continued this very high standard.

The atmosphere throughout the hotel was relaxed and welcoming, primarily down to courteous and attentive staff.

Remember to lock your room with the key as it does not lock automatically however at no point did I feel that security was an issue.

Compact but well equipped leisure facilities which are open from 6am.

Overall, could not fault this hotel, first class and I hope to visit again very soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Eloic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited the Walled Garden yeaterday for lunch as we have not been for a while and as ever the food was amazing and we were surprised to see how busy it was but a lovely atmosphere and in no way was the service phased by this. We sat in the lovely lounge area with a drink whilst we perused the fabulous range of dishes on offer (more choice than in the past!!!) It was so hard to choose as I know how wonderful the food is here. Eventually I narrowed it doen to the beautiful black pudding on crushed potatoes topped with a perfect poached egg! Heaven!!! I folowed this with a main involving monk fish, scallops and king prawns cooked to perfection. My husband has the fish cakes which he proclaimed delicious, bursting with fish and flavour that he followed with a perfectly cooked sirloin and still squeezed in an ice cream!!!! Must say the house merlot was very quaffable also!! The prices appear to have gone up a little but it was never cheap but it does deliver value for money given the quality of the cuisine and the provenance of the ingredientsThe service was tip top and we left feeling satisfied and relaxed after haing had a very stressful morning. In fact we enjoyed it so much we have booked again for tonight to take my Dad as he has wanted to go for ages and he will love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your great feedback, I was delighted to read that you found the food amazing. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best wishes
Eloic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for one night while working in Preston. Rooms are ok (perhaps overdue for redecoration), and comfortable and there is a gym (no time to go!). The highlight is the restaurant set in a large conservatory overlooking what once was a walled garden - perhaps under development. The place was very busy but the service was prompt and efficient and very friendly at both dinner and breakfast. Give yourself time to get into Preston: the A6 can be hard work in the rush hour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service in the Walled Garden prompt, efficient and very friendly. We are planning a bedroom refurbishment in the very near future and are in the process of upgrading our "in room offering" with things like music system, Full sky package, espresso machine and much more.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay to celebrate friends 40th birthday.
Service and meals are outstanding
Accommodation lovely
Pool area relaxing and very clean
Went the extra mile to make my friends birthday stay for example birthday card in the room and 40th table decorators
Will be coming back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review, I was glad to read that you had a wonderful stay. The team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Only stayed for one night, bed, breakfast and dinner for my wife's 40th, there was a birthday card in the room which was a nice touch, the staff where excellent especially the two blonde ladies in the restaurant ( sorry can't remember their names ) really nothing was to much trouble, the food was great as well couldn't fault that or the service.
The room was very nice, modern, light loads of room, very nice bathroom. Really enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation in recommending it as a great place to stay.
The only thing missing for me and it's only a small thing, is no local cask ale available in the bar, considering the amount of independent breweries that are in and around that area of Lancashire it seems a shame not to have some local beer on offer to complement the excellent local food on offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for a great review, the team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Preston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#6 Family Hotel in Preston
#8 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.