We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barton Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Barton Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Preston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay to celebrate friends 40th birthday.
Service and meals are outstanding
Accommodation lovely
Pool area relaxing and very clean
Went the extra mile to make my friends birthday stay for example birthday card in the room and 40th table decorators
Will be coming back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review, I was glad to read that you had a wonderful stay. The team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    119
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
64
147
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Only stayed for one night, bed, breakfast and dinner for my wife's 40th, there was a birthday card in the room which was a nice touch, the staff where excellent especially the two blonde ladies in the restaurant ( sorry can't remember their names ) really nothing was to much trouble, the food was great as well couldn't fault that or the service.
The room was very nice, modern, light loads of room, very nice bathroom. Really enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation in recommending it as a great place to stay.
The only thing missing for me and it's only a small thing, is no local cask ale available in the bar, considering the amount of independent breweries that are in and around that area of Lancashire it seems a shame not to have some local beer on offer to complement the excellent local food on offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for a great review, the team and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I simply cannot fault this place. Lovely staff. Brilliant food (the previous reviewer who whinged about the food needs to have a word with themselves!!). Great, welcoming atmosphere. If you are staying near Preston...STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I attended a family wedding here,and also stayed the night. The wedding was fabulous the photos were taken in the garden at the back we were greeted on arrival by staff and shown where to go. There was then a meal served, the food was excellent one of the best meals at a wedding that we have experienced. The host master I think was called Rob he was very humorous and kept the event moving and entertained. He also DJ the disco in the evening, i would highly recommend this as a wedding venue. Our room was very nice clean. The coffee making facilities were good and there was also a cards saying fresh milk was available from a fridge located outside the room a first at any hotel I've stayed at usually have to ask for fresh milk. Nice quiet room wasn't disturbed. Room no. 104. I am a light sleeper so did here noise from heating vents outside our room but not too bad. All in all a great place to stay would highly;y recommend. I didn't use the pool facilities so cant comment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed wedding weekend stay and look forward to seeing you at the Hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent two extremely enjoyable days at Barton Grange Hotel. We booked in for our first nights meal at the Walled Garden restaurant, which was so good that we decided to return the second night. The hotel is top notch however the icing on the cake was the high standard of the hotel staff in terms of delivering first class customer service. The two ladies in reception were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble - they are undoubtedly great ambassadors for this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review.

Looking after our guests is so important to me and it sounds like we got it spot on!! I very much look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice size room but dated red/beige and lots of orange wood decor. However everything there - including two irons, and two ironing boards. Stale water left in kettle. Not good. Bathroom small and needed tlc. Plastic bath lots of badly repaired gouges. Soap dispensers resembled ones in hospital lavatories. Plumbing interesting water takes ages to come through. Duvet and pillows cheap thin sponge. Not what you would expect at all. Overall room was average although mercifully at the rear of the hotel overlooking the garden. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food in Walled Garden wasn't bad. Breakfast smoked haddock over cooked and we had to ask for toast. Rest of breakfast was acceptable. The hotel clearly caters to the wedding crowd but sadly generally lacks attention to detail for the average guest. Complimentary wine in room, a nice touch but all ice dissolved by the time we arrived and bucket and glasses left in pool of water. Why not put wine in fridge? Mini bar empty apart from water and the dreaded silk flowers in bathroom room. Thick with dust. Unacceptable, ugly and unnecessay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I am so sorry your stay was not up to scratch and I take onboard your comments. I am very pleased you found our staff very helpful and friendly. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night and the best thing about the hotel is certainly the staff, they really are a credit to the hotel. Unlike other reviews I thought the food in the adjoining bistro was nothing more than average. Again the service was excellent but the food did not live up to the same standards. Overall a good hotel and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloic-Montagnier, General Manager at Barton Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am thrilled you were well looked after by the staff and I am very interested to hear your comments about the food, rest assured your comments are taken onboard and we will do our upmost to improve.

It’s great to hear you would return to the Hotel and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Preston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#6 Family Hotel in Preston
#8 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.