We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barton Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barton Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Barton Grange Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Preston
Lancasater
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. i made my booking through booking.com and within 5 mins of me booking I had a phone call from Catherine at Barton Grange to discuss the room I had booked. Whe we arrived at the hotel Geraldine, the Receptioist on duty, very kindly showed me 2 different rooms that were avaible to allow me to choose the room I liked best ( this was a surporse booking for my partner's birthday )

The room I chose was lovely and of a very high standard with a wonderfully comfortable bed and we had a great nights sleep.

All the staff were very helpful; I cant fault this hotel at all. There was ever a birthday card in the room for my partner, which was a lovely touch.

Lovely stay, and we will return.

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely/
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    102
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
56
132
18
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is lovely, our room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable and huge. All the fixtures and fittings were of a high standard and looked new. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, customer service was excellent. Our evening meal in the walled garden restaurant was delicious! Breakfast was excellent, everything was fresh, high quality and cooked to order. Really enjoyed our stay, just wish it was for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The food was excellent and I have to say as a business traveller most of the time this hotel has without doubt the best breakfast bar none! Restaurant staff were great too.

Criticisms - too hot in the rooms and the fan provided was a little noisy.

The receptionist wrote down my card details which really is a faux par as this should never be asked for or done as too easy to be used fraudulently so don't agree to it. Barton please take note you really need to tighten this up, take a pre-authorisation on a card machine,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Yorkshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great space to stay at, a lovely pool, a good gym.

The restaurant was very good with a very nice evening meal. Although the service was a little indifferent and not overly attentive the rack of lamb made up for this.

The pool was quiet and just the right temperature, I'll definitely stay again

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very helpful staff,from the minute we arrived until we left despite the fact we had problems with room lighting late at night. The room was very well equiped especially the bathroom for disabled. The restaurant had a very pleasant atmosphere and the food was excellent and extremely good value. Easy to find and would suggest a visit to their garden centre nearby

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I travel throughout the uk on business and stay in hotels 3/4 times a week and this is by fat the best run, friendliest, cleanest hotel I have stayed in over the years. I think the top ranks within some of the big chains should visit this place to see how it really should be done. The staff, and I mean all of them, not just the odd one, are fantastic, polite, helpful, professional and are a credit to this hotel. The rooms are immaculate, stylish, modern, and extremely comfortable. I wish I had to visit this area more often, if your in the area and looking for a hotel.....look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've stayed here twice, and on both occasions we've had a lovely time. The staff are very attentive and polite. The restaurant and food are particularly good. The hotel is in an easy to find location and the rooms are well equipped.
My only criticism is one that can be applied to many hotels - check whether there is a wedding reception at the hotel during your stay, and if possible avoid staying there if there is. The effect that these events have on the rest of the hotel guests can sometimes spoil a good nights sleep. It seems that Barton Grange hold quite a few wedding receptions. On both occasions that we stayed here there were wedding events and on both occasions the quality of our nights sleep was compromised because of this. Apart from that, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Grange Hotel

Address: Garstang Road, Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Preston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#6 Family Hotel in Preston
#8 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barton Grange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Grange Preston
Hotel Barton Grange

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barton Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.