We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leyland Way | Leyland, Preston PR25 4JX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Preston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for one night on the 19th July while visiting friends in the area. We had a good price for bed and breakfast, it also included use of the hotel facilities (mini-gym, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and swimming pool). When we arrived we were greeted by a impressive display in the grounds, a large vintage fire engine in a glass case (it's built by Leyland, and has a story on the info board in front of it). As we walked up to the impressive entrance we noticed they'd got the red carpet out for us (not really, they were expecting a wedding party any time). There's a giant chair opposite reception for people to take amusing photos in.

We arrived two hours before check in time, but went anyway, and they allowed us in early as the room had already been prepared.

THE ROOM
The room was on the small side (standard room), but very well appointed, nicely decorated with cushions on the bed and plenty of pillows. There was a desk/dressing table with hair dryer and straighteners built in. There was a notice saying the straighteners are sterilised as part of the room cleaning process, but my wife had her own anyway. Also on the desk was a small hi-fi, kettle, tea and coffee making sachets, and bottled water for each person. There was a large screen tv, free wifi, and an ethernet socket if needed. Plenty of power sockets. An ironing board and iron were in the room, as was a wardrobe with a digital safe in it. Also in the wardrobe was two bagged, dressing gowns and slippers for you use, although we didn't use them. A nice touch though.The room wanted for nothing, apart from possibly being a bit bigger.

The bathroom had a bath and shower, and was nicely tiled and clean. A range of small bottles soaps and shampoo were supplied, along with plenty of towels. There was a built in sink/vanity unit with large mirror. The sound from the tv was even piped into the bathroom via a speaker in the ceiling.

LEISURE FACILITIES

The pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and mini-gym were a nice included add-on, and the first thing we headed for after we checked in. When you go in you are given a hotel towel to use to sit on in the sauna etc. The jacuzzi was my favourite, lovely and warm, and the bubbles soothed the weeks aches and pains away. We tried everything out except the steam room and mini-gym and they were all great. Nicely styled with pot ornaments around such as a crocodile, a theme which was all around the hotel, as there are lots of statues dotted around.

BREAKFAST
Breakfast is taken in the Capri Restaurant, one of the Banqueting rooms by the look of it. It's very up market, with waitresses on hand, and (a head waitress presumably) on the door to book you in, and offer you a Bucks Fizz to start you off. Then you're shown to a table and asked if you want any tea and coffee, and toast. Then you are told to help yourself to anything from the buffet breakfast. There's plenty to choose from, full english breakfast, assorted fruit, yoghurts, fruit juices, cereals. Everything you could want, and as much as you want.

BAR AREA
There was a nice bar area with plenty of seating, also acted as a lounge during the day I guess. We didn't use the bar, as we were visiting friends that evening, but it looked nice.

FAULTS
The only fault we could find was that our upper floor room, and the whole upper floor corridors were far too hot. We had a small fan in our room, but it was useless at combating the heat. We slept with the window open all night, but this didn't help much and then added road noise which made it hard to sleep. With the window closed you couldn't hear a thing. They could really do with aircon units rather than fans which just move the warm air around, even if they're only portable aircon units. Although seeing how hotels abroad have aircon installed with the fan part outside the room on the outside wall, it wouldn't be a massive job to install proper aircon in the upper floor rooms. If the room had been cooler it would have been perfect, but still an amazing hotel to pamper yourselves for a weekend. If it had had that, it would have got the full 5 stars from me.

VALUE
We found it very good value for money for what you got included (breakfast, and use of Spa facilities). We will definitely stay here again when visiting our friends next time (hopefully, they'll have done something about the heat, we did mention it on check-out and the receptionist said they're looking at larger fans, so must be something they're aware of).

NEARBY
We didn't know it until we got there, not putting two and two together, but Leyland is the home of Leyland Commercial Vehicles, buses, lorries etc, and there is a good Commercial Vehicle Museum just down the road which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quiet, especially if there's a wedding party on, but a bit warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    169
    62
    27
    8
See reviews for
80
179
20
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just home from a 1 night stay on a DBB rate, couldn't fault it in any way room was lovely, staff couldn't do enough we were even offered Buck's Fizz for breakfast ! Dinner was amazing we will be returning

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England based
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I regularly stay at Best Western hotels and have been impressed with the standard, until I stayed at the Premier Leyland Hotel. If you like pretentious decor in a tired and overstated hotel then make this your one place not to miss if your in the North West. For the rest of us drive on and find another place to rest your weary head. The morning was no better with a buffet breakfast of mediocre standard and surly staff to reluctantly drop a pot of coffee on your table. This is service industry therefore provide a service and train your staff.
Would I book in here again...................I will let you answer that one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very comfortable room which was equipped with various media. It was extremely clean bathroom although care needs to be taken as the bathroom floor is very slippy.

We had some wonderful food in the restaurant. The cannon of lamb was superb. Rhubarb crumble was not what was expected... Far better. Beautiful in taste and presentation. Choice of three cheeses is more than enough, and again everything is presented in a very modern way.
Plentiful breakfast buffet choices with additional items to be ordered from the kitchen. They also have an espresso coffee machine which is far better than the usual coffee offerings in hotels.
Seek out the pleasant Italianate terrace. Versace inspired restaurant.
Some very unusual furnishings in the reception areas which make for great talking point!
I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This location is just off junction 28 of the M6 or a 10 minute walk from Leyland Railway Station. The check in was swift and the hotel is of a high quality. The room was spacious and very clean and modern. I used the leisure facilities and these were great. Staff were very helpful. The hotel pool is of a good size and there is a sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. The food at the hotel was great and a fantastic choice for breakfast. Prices are on the high side but justified by the leisure facilities and the high quality bedrooms. I would highly recommend this hotel but look out for any special offers on the price. Excellent service from all staff who seemed to be keen on customer care.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel before in 2012 for almost 6 months when I was working in the area.
I was keen to return and booked the hotel knowing it to be superb.
Check in was swift and I was directed to my room, I was a little disappointed to be on the lower ground floor and struggled with all my luggage, there is no lift so had to hump a heavy suitcase, laptop bags and also suit carriers down stairs and along corridors to the room.
The room seemed very average and now seems more dated than I remember.
The huge bed was comfortable enough.
Bathroom is very pokey.
I ate in the bar one night and the food was superb, the menu however is VERY limited.
The restaurant menu is hugely overpriced and it came as no surprise to me to see that people were choosing to eat in the bar.
Parking and internet are free so top marks have to be awarded for that.
Check out was swift, however no one asked if my stay was ok, more interested in checking the bill going back to my company was in order and then told ' thanks that's all fine'
Overall for the money it's a fair enough hotel, however is in need of being modernised

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel.

The staff member on reception was lovely, the food was fantastic and the hotel is beautiful. Large open plan bar area, and even though I arrived during the England World Cup match there was no noise.

The room was beautiful, a fan was provided (and needed!) and the bed was very comfortable. We were even given a bottle of water on the way out as we had a long day of work ahead of us.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel

Address: Leyland Way | Leyland, Preston PR25 4JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Preston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Preston
#6 Business Hotel in Preston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel is situated in the heart of Lancashire with direct access onto J28 of the M6 to perfect for exploring all that the North West has to offer. The hotel has 93 superbly appointed bedrooms, swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.Relax and unwind in the contemporary surroundings of the J28 Bar & Lounge and the Four Seasons Restaurant. Free fibre optic wifi is available for all guests usage and ample free car parking is onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Preston
Preston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.