We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leyland Way | Leyland, Preston PR25 4JX, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Preston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Christmas party 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 22nd December . Ths was for husbands Xmas Works party. We had double room 316 on first floor where according to plaque on door Jimmy the whirlwind White stayed in! It cist a soecial price of £69 Very clean double room, noisy fan in bathroom but spotlessly clean, went to the bar and no staff there eventually got a drink small bottle of Peroni £3:75 and a large glass of white wine £6:50! I was shocked at the cost, coming from Suffolk I assumed wrongly it would be a comparable price? However went to the Christmas party cost £59:95 all inclusive per person as someone else on here said it was very noisy, and the wine on the tabe was hideous, the food was okay but nothing special, the 'disco' wasn't great. The free bar shut at 12 and then back to the main bar, not sure it was worth the price but the bed was very comfortable and we had great sleep. Breakfast the staff were very nice but don't eat the scrambled egg as its awful the rest was okay, nothing special though . All in all a very nice hotel let down by the bar prices but the staff were helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    185
    66
    28
    9
See reviews for
88
193
20
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, the first night was Christmas Eve. We are veterans of festive hotel stays as our family always use them as we are far-flung. Often staff at Christmas have the feeling of having been press ganged into service, and are either uninterested or drunk or both. How nice it was to receive friendly, professional and helpful service with good cheer. A nice touch was a tiny parcel from Santa left outside our room on Christmas morning, and nuts and fruit put out in communal areas.

The hotel had festive lights and was warm and cosy, we never did find out who the red carpet had been rolled out for on Christmas Day , but we liked it. We liked the couscous and feta laid out with the side buffet which was put on for 25th, as well as cold cuts,cheese and crackers and more, and on Boxing Day a hot selection of food was available, although the red cabbage appeared to have lost its battle with the microwave, lay off the glaze, we thought.

We had a good swim on the morning we left, again the fitness club attendant was helpful and cheery. The four poster room was wonderfully OTT for such a small room

The decor is certainly quirky, we thought it was very jolly. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Works christmas party herded in to long narrow tables with not enough room to move your arms served wine that tastes like vinegar herded to a buffet style meal of over cooked and undercooked cold veg and cold meat with processed gravy. Awful music from the dJ hardly anyone dancing,long Que at the bar , I should of guessed it would be the same the last time they chose to come here there was the vain hope it would of improved in 3 years!! You get what you pay for here so don't get excited

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Many many thanks to Leanne, Richard and the team at Leyland hotel. From the minute we decided to get married we thought of other venues without even considering this hotel. What a disaster it would have been!!!!! To discount this friendly hotel from even consideration!!!from an initial meeting with Richard and other meetings with both he and Leanne we cannot fault the service and interest into making our day go so smoothly. From a choice of thrones for the top table to the opportunity to give comments on the food we had chosen at a private tasting both the planning and day itself have been a pleasure with every help given by the hotel. Many thanks again team Stu &Lou C

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had our wedding and reception here 12:12:12. Nothing was too much trouble for the management and staff and their effort helped to make our wedding the event that it was. The hotel is well located for the M6/M61 so our guests were never in danger of getting lost. The rooms are well appointed, the food was excellent with the largest portion sizes I have ever seen at such a function. And the hotel offers one real ale. Overall a hearty recomendation with particular thanks to Fergus MacDonald who took charge of everything.

Room Tip: All rooms are towards rear of hotel. Nothing above or close to function rooms so no real disturbance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I organised a surprise family get-together for my mothers 80th birthday and having never been to the hotel before I was slightly nervous about how the weekend would turn out - I needn't have worried because it couldn't have been any more perfect!
From beginning to end Fergus and his team went out of their way to ensure mum had the best birthday ever, I don't think I have ever been to a hotel where the staff have been as friendly and helpful; even though they had Xmas parties on the Saturday night with over 300 other guests they made us feel that we were the only people in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heysham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Spent one night here 8th Dec for a works Christmas Party Night....Has a fab night...reception staff very polite and friendly..rooms were very clean and had everything you need. The actual Pary night was amazing we went all inclusive and worth every penny...the food was fab the drinks flowed and the DJ was very entertaining. Would def book again for next year...Thanks again for a brill fun weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel

Address: Leyland Way | Leyland, Preston PR25 4JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Preston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Preston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Preston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Preston
#6 Business Hotel in Preston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel is situated in the heart of Lancashire with direct access onto J28 of the M6 to perfect for exploring all that the North West has to offer. The hotel has 93 superbly appointed bedrooms, swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.Relax and unwind in the contemporary surroundings of the J28 Bar & Lounge and the Four Seasons Restaurant. Free fibre optic wifi is available for all guests usage and ample free car parking is onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Preston
Preston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Leyland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.