We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, value for money B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Barns

The Barns
The Barns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Solihull
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barns
Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton in Arden, Solihull B92 0DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 39 Solihull B&B and Inns
Crawley Down
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable, value for money B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed one night here whilst visiting relatives in the Solihull area. We stayed in a lovely, roomy family room which was comfortable, clean and warm. We had an excellent breakfast and were well looked after by Keri the owner. We will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands - ~England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at the lovely b@b which is on a working farm, for a wedding at the hampton manor. Kerry the owner was so welcoming and made our stay so enjoyable. I have walking problems and Kerry could not have been more helpful. From making sure we had a walk in shower to putting an extra heater in the room when I was not feeling very well. The breakfast on the two days we stayed was just perfect, nothing was to much trouble even when asking for warm milk for the coffee. I would recommend the barns to everyone whether flying from Birmingham airport, just having a nice break or like us staying due to a wedding close by. Thanks Kerry.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLISLE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this B&B as we were attending a wedding and the reception was being held at nearby Hampton Manor. The location is really convienient as it is not far from the motorway and yet it still feels rural.The owner could not have been any more helpul or friendly and even drove us to the reception venue!! Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean.Our full English breakfast was fantastic. Owner was happy to cater for my gluten free diet without any difficulty. This B&B would be ideal for anyone visiting an event at the NEC. We are already planning our next trip to do just that!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Owner was very helpful in talking me down the lane to the house and the accommodation. Accommodation is around the back of the main house as you enter the property drive with a reassuring security gate at the front of the property. Room was spacious and a little cold. Venue is close to Birmingham Airport so it is well placed for travellers and those off to the NEC. Initially I was aware of the thrust of aircraft taking off however this didn't affect my sleep quality.

The owner was prompt in addressing an issue with the room when asked.

Breakfast in the morning was a little drafty from the door being opened to serve etc however this was a minor issue in the scheme of things.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this b&b for one night as we were going to the caravan show at the NEC. The room was huge even though there were just two of us. Perfect for families as it had a double and two singles with a curtain partition. Tea and coffee facilities were great. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic. A lovely cooked variety and plenty of other choices too. I really couldn't fault it in any way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a find! Four friends stayed at The Barns for 1 night as we were attending a concert at the NEC. The room was £95 for the night which worked out at £23.75 each. The room was spotless, the bathroom was fantastic, and the owners were extremely friendly. We even got a full English the next morning.

I really can't recommend this little gem highly enough, it's only a short taxi ride to the NEC - £10 one way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location only few minutes off the motorway, lovely room very clean and well presented yet individual and homely. Would recommend to anyone looking for good value for money.

The place has good free wifi connection, tv, comfy bed and is close to Solihull for a curry if you want or nip down to the village for a pint, local taxis available on free phone number.

Room Tip: Call them direct to arrange what you need very willing to help with your queries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns

Address: Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton in Arden, Solihull B92 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Barns to your Saves list