We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Birmingham, Solihull

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Birmingham, Solihull to your Saves list
Ramada Birmingham, Solihull
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Solihull Hall, Solihull B91 3RF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Solihull
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“First class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We are regular visitors to the ramada Solihull, the restaurant supervisor, Liz is the most accommodating, helpful member of staff we have ever had the pleasure to meet. Nothing is ever too much trouble and she truely makes everyone feel like a VIP! All staff are friendly and professional making each stay an enjoyable break, but ask for Liz and you will be treated like a star!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Solihull, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for the review on TripAdvisor, I shall ensure Liz is forwarded your comments and hope to welcome you back for more 'star treatment'!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    198
    125
    70
    40
See reviews for
93
172
24
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose this as a last minute stay. What a lovely hotel it is. The free parking makes a massive difference. The rooms were cosy, quiet, clean and spacious enough. The staff were friendly, and breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The bar in the evening is in a lovely setting with attentive staff, and great food. I had probably one of the best curries I have ever had there, and the evening was very relaxing.
As usual you get the usual guests who leave the bar during the early hours and have no compassion for other guests wo may be sleeping.
Two things they could improve on are signs on the doors and corridor doors asking residents to be quiet going to their rooms. Premier Inn does this and I think it works. Also a quicker checkout service at peak times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Solihull, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, I shall forward your comments regarding signs for noisy guests, although we do try to monitor this from a staff level!
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Ramada Solihull again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I cannot praise this hotel – especially the staff – too highly. We booked a suite for about £20 more than the late price at Premier Inn (which was full anyway). It was a very comfortable, split level room. Very spacious, two TVs. We misunderstood the breakfast timings and were late – but nothing was too much trouble. We got freshly cooked full English plus all the usual fruit, toast, coffee etc. Very friendly and helpful staff in a hotel that is a bit different from so many large chain hotels. The hotel is in the process of getting a refurb but we were very happy with the facilities we enjoyed.

Room Tip: Book direct on their own website for Best Rates Guarantee
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Solihull, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for the valuable feedback on TripAdvisor, I am pleased the staff were able to accomodate your late breakfast and hope you will visit us again very soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After arriving after our flight from Ireland we were granted by a very helpful member of staff. When we got checked in and went to our room I felt the decor in the hall could do with a facelift. However I later learnt that a major overhaul is due for the hotel. Room was spacious and clean. Loved the reclined leather chair which was lovely just to sit and read the newspaper. Breakfast was hot and plentiful - totally self service so could help yourself many times over! I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to use the shops as once out the door you are immediately onto high street. Very impressed indeed with my whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Solihull, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Many thanks for the review on TripAdvisor, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

So happy we decided to have a short break at this lovely hotel. Fantastic position for some serious shopping. Also a good selection of restaurants inside and just outside the hotel. Free parking. Very friendly and helpful staff. I would certainly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Solihull, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What can I say? We booked our special day at the Ramada, and have nothing but utmost praise for the team, and we have many happy memories. A hotel does not make a wedding, but can undermine the occasion. The food was piping hot and cooked to perfection (including next mornings breakfast), with service being prompt and efficiently served. The rooms were wonderful, and reception staff very accomodating. Special thanks to Roz and Phillip and Adam who looked after us and made the day an occasion to remember.
I can only say, I would recommend this as a venue to hold your wedding

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Solihull, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for the excellent comments regarding your wedding.
On behalf of all the staff may I wish you a very happy future together, we are all pleased we helped to make your day such a special occasion.
Your comments will be forwarded to the staff you mentioned and I hope you will visit us again very soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for one night with my company as we were using the hotel's function room. Rooms and service were all completely average but bearable. The fire alarm went off in the night due to some idiot smoking in his room but clearly not the hotel's fault. However, I would question how well the management have trained their staff as the fire procedures were a bit of a shambles.
They need to be smarter, more organised, more responsive next time.

The big problem was the food. If I had wanted food of this quality I would have checked myself into hospital. Really, this was the worst I have ever had in a hotel and that's saying a lot. Lousy starters - two prawns and a 'salad' of sliced red pepper and some salad leaves. No dressing or anything at all. Main course carvery was the greyest, most overcooked beef I've ever seen - even the cook slicing it was laughing as he couldn't get through it. Breakfast not much better - they quickly ran out of eggs, kept everyone waiting ten minutes and then delivered fried eggs that I demanded be taken away as they were not cooked through.

Dear me Ramada, you've got a potentially nice hotel in a nice town but there is a shocking lack of care in some areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... S, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Birmingham, Solihull, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor.
My apologies for your dissapointment regarding the food although we were very busy this should not have impacted on the quality of food, your comments have been forwarded to our head chef for immediate improvement.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Birmingham, Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Birmingham, Solihull

Address: The Square, Solihull Hall, Solihull B91 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Birmingham, Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Birmingham/Solihull (known locally as The George) started life as a 15th-century coaching inn and now mixes the old and the new around England's oldest crown bowling green. Ideally situated at the end of Solihull's high street with easy access to the M42, NEC and airport, the hotel offers the perfect destination for touring and relaxing in the heart of the West Midlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Birmingham, Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham, Solihull Hotel Solihull
Ramada Solihull Birmingham
Solihull Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Birmingham, Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.