We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated chain” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Solihull

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Solihull to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Solihull
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Solihull
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Outdated chain”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had to stay here recently , wont be back . Nothing awaful about the hotel , albeit a super sized premier inn but at greater cost .

Things that annoyed me : no free wifi , despite paying £150+ per night ( in Solihull !) , they offered to deduct my parking charge , which was good ,seeing as I wasnt in a car !

Breakfast good and rooms fine , just a very over priced stay / outdated hotel group in my view

To have to pay £5 per hour for wifi is crazy , guess most wander across the road to coffee shops and burger joints where its foc !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear LiamB1
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed breakfast. Our Wi-Fi and the technical support for this service, is provided by an external company, therefore it is necessary to charge our guests for using their services. Once again, thank you for your review.
With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    133
    55
    19
    9
See reviews for
57
89
12
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On the edge of town centre this Hotel is about as handy to everything as you could ever hope for; and if you need to do things in Dorridge you are only 5 minutes away by car.

The rooms are a bit on the small side but for the price its clean, comfortable and convenient.

I didn't like that the charge for car parking but that's the way the world is going. It also annoyed me to discover a small sign on the wall at reception whilst checking out that advised you can save 30% Off the cost of breakfast by paying in advance on arrival. Had someone told us this when we checked in we could have saved 30 Pounds.

Staff were friendly and professional, food was probably 7.5/10.

Bottom line... If we ever have the need to stay in Solihull again, it would be here without considering anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Woody D
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. I was pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay, however, I apologise for the team not bringing to your attention the breakfast offer we have. Your observations have been shared with the reception team. With regard to car parking, please be assured that we regularly review our pricing to ensure we remain competitive with other hotels in this area. Once again Wood D, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

my friends and I had Sunday lunch here a couple of weeks ago, the starter and the beef were excellent and very much enjoyed by all, the deserts was o.k. very (shop bought!) the one failing was it needs table cloths on the vulgar plastic fake wooden tables and a few flowers, perhaps background music. to give me a bit of style. then it would be a definitely 5+ rating. Staff were very helpful and service was good. I would go again, now I know what to expect.

Room Tip: sorry have not stayed the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Sylvia S
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit for Sunday lunch. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I have noted your comments and shall share them with the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the near future.
With kind regards
Edwina Blyth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We held our Ruby Wedding Anniversary dinner for 58 guests in the hotel's De Limisi Suite. From the moment of our first enquiry, the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The arrangements were carried out to the letter, the meal was excellent and the evening was a great success.

We, like a number of our guests booked a room overnight. The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean, with a large comfortable bed and a widescreen 'Smart TV'. It had a pleasant outlook over the small lake and fountain at the rear of the hotel. When booking I would recommend requesting a room on that side of the hotel. One thing struck us as being slightly odd - there was only one armchair. As we did not spend much time in the room, it did not matter to us, but if we had been staying for a few days, there may have been occasions when a second armchair would have been appreciated. Also, the kettle had to be moved from the tea and coffee shelf, across the room to a power point - again, a slightly odd arrangement.

Breakfast was a good quality buffet with plenty of choice. The restaurant seemed rather small for a hotel of this size but it was bright, with a pleasant outlook.

The staff members in the hotel were pleasant and helpful, and clearly keen to provide a high standard of service. Every request was met with a cheerful, courteous response.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the fountain to the rear of the hotel are best. They are quieter and have a more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear rgs_51
Thank you for review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. I was delighted to hear that your Ruby Wedding celebrations were a great success and that you were well looked after by the team here. Your kind comments will be passed onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With kind regards
Edwina Blyth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a lovely hotel. Recently stayed for weekend break. Could not fault hotel or staff. Had really enjoyable weekend. Nicely decorated throughout. Loved the extra large bed, so spacious. Leisure facilities were first class. Liked the fact that the pool had same depth all over. All staff really friendly. Nice to look out at fountain whilst having meals in the restaurant or sat outside lounge area. Hotel has enviable position just across the road from the Touchwood Shopping Centre. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Laura/Worcestershire
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyoed every aspect of your stay and shall pass on your comments to the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Recently had an overnight stay here and i can honestly say i have no complaints. Rooms were prepaid by my company and we didn't arrive until 2am but we were swiftly signed in and given our room keys. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was hot, well cooked and plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Debbie644
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. It was pleasing to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and enjoyed breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice reception area, check in straightforward. Large size room, typical corporate room, no nice extra finishing touches. Poor selection of in room tea, coffee, there were no biscuits. You have to move the small kettle to a plug point. Breakfast was good, waiting staff over eager to remove plates, even with food still in them. The location is excellent for visiting the town centre, plenty of shops and restaurants close by. We didn't pay for car parking. Think that it is wrong that you have to pay to use the Internet, we didn't bother, you can go into town and use it for free in coffee shops. Would stay here again because of location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Chelsea021
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our close location to the local amenities. I have noted your comments regarding the waiting staff and this will be addressed by their manager. With regard to Wi-Fi, the technical support for this is provided by an external company and therefore it is necessary to charge our guests for using this service. Once again Chelsea021, I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
With kind regards, Edwina Blyth, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Solihull

Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40.Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, movies on demand, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool.Brookes restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna.Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.