We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Solihull

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Solihull to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Solihull
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Solihull
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting some friends in the area, the location is excellent,! Across the road is the shopping centre with an array of shops and restaurants and even a cinema.
The hotel itself is nice but slightly date. The executive room was a good size, but had a few dirty items such as cups and glasses which were promptly exchanged.
The breakfast was great and there was plenty of choice, the staff at breakfast were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for an executive room with a fountain view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday inn Solihull.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here.

I was sorry to read that you found dirty glasswear and crockery in your room and this is being followed up by our Housekeeper.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely
Edwina Blyth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    148
    64
    23
    10
See reviews for
61
105
13
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Recently stayed here due to heavy snow and found the accommodation to be clean and well proportioned. Not a tired holiday inn like many. Used room service and food was delivered promptly and to a good standard

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull.

I was delighted to read that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and that you found our room service to be of a good standard.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely
Edwina Blyth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have used this hotel a number of times when on business in Birmingham and the NEC. It is in an excellent location for both Birmingham City centre and is only 10 minutes from the NEC. The hotel itself is modern, clean and has its own sports centre (complimentary for guests) with a great gym and swimming pool. The breakfasts are OK with a small but good quality selection, though they need to serve proper coffee, not the frothy stuff from a machine.
Across the road you can access a good indoor shopping mall with some great stores including John Lewis, and there are over 100 restaurants to choose from within the vicinity. The town centre has all the great high street names and is a good upmarket shopping environment all within 10 minutes walk of the hotel.
The staff are pleasant and helpful, and the hotel has a great relaxed atmosphere. There is a car perk on site though they charge 5 pounds per day to park in addition to the room rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and our team helpful.

With regard to our coffee, I believe you had a Cappuccino. I am sorry we did not offer our selection of coffees which includes Latte, Americano and Cafe au Lait.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely
Edwina Blyth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Used this hotel a couple of times when visiting the NEC.

It has ample parking and is is well located opposite the shopping mall of central Solihull which contains the usual choice of chain food restaurants and a mutiplex cinema.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull.

I was pleased to read that you found our location and car parking well located and convenient.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely
Edwina Blyth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have just spent two nights at this hotel. It suited our purpose very well: central location for business district and Touchwood shopping precinct, car parking right by the hotel, room booked the previous day.It was warm and comfortable and I slept soundly. The lighting in the bathroom was good. I enjoyed the leisure club, also warm, with a nicely eucalyptus fragranced steam room.Staff were welcoming, and remembered to use my name, which was impressive. Downsides? Hospitality tray was very basic, toiletries similarly simple, just generic soap, shower gel and shampoo. The furnishings were adequate rather than boutique standard, absolutely fine as I expect most of their guests are there fairly briefly for work rather than leisure, judging by the very small number of guests in Monday breakfast.We enjoyed both the breakfasts we had, and someone wishing to have a substantial meal would have had plenty of scope. Overall, a pleasant stay, though I did think it was on the expensive side. We ate in the Touchwood restauarants, across the way, so cannot comment on the dining experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwina B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Millie
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull.

I am pleased to read that you found our hotel comfortable and our team to be helpful throughout your stay.

I have noted your comments regarding our hospitality tray and toiletries, I am sorry you felt they were basic.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.
Yours sincerely
Edwina Blyth
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I spent two weeks on business at this hotel. I upgraded to the executive room which was much better than the regular room I stayed in last time. It had newer carpet, updated linens, and a mini fridge. The tv is still a tube with limited amount of channels, but I believe that is being upgraded as well. I had such an outstanding stay. The staff was so courteous and helpful. I locked myself out of my room twice, and I received help immediately (while ensuring my and the hotel guests' safety). Room service is very quick and good quality. The breakfast (albeit somewhat pricey) was very good and service wonderful. The bar is fun and has good food too. The gym and spa, while the equipment is a tad old, was huge and worked well. They even had a studio which was great for my yoga. This hotel is in a fantastic location with tons of shopping and dining within walking distance. The train station is also within walking distance which was great for day trips. Cab fare to the Birmingham airport was only 10 pounds. The only downside of this hotel is the fee for internet. 60 pounds for 7 days is highway robbery. 15 pounds for 24 hours is ridiculous. If the internet was top notch then I wouldn't complain as much, and don't get me wrong, it was sufficient, just really really expensive. I will stay here everytime I'm in Birmgham, the staff is so great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent two week stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was delighted to read that you were made to feel so welcome and were well looked after by our team. Thank you also for your kind comments concerning the facilities we offer. I am sorry that you missed the changeover to the new televisions; this must have taken place just after your departure.

Unfortunately our Wi-Fi, and the technical support for this service, is provided by an external company therefore it is necessary to charge our guests for using their services.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel tired and wounded, reached the reception desk and was overwhelmed with the friendliness, professionalism, helpfulness, and efficient approach that I received from Chloe. She has to be the best receptionist EVER.... Unfortunately the rooms were cold, if it weren't for that issue the stay would have been perfect... The restaurant staff were brilliant too. Would recommend to friends

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was delighted to read that you were made to feel so welcome by Chloe when you arrived tired and “wounded” at the hotel. In recognition of the excellent customer service delivered and positive customer feedback, such as yours, we were delighted to award Chloe Team Member of the Month for December. Thank you also for your kind comments concerning our restaurant team, it is always a pleasure to share such positive feedback with team members.

I can only apologise however that you found your room to be cold, I do hope that we were able to rectify this for you during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Solihull

Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40.Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, movies on demand, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool.Brookes restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna.Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.