We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out they charge for Parking !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Solihull

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Solihull to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Solihull
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Solihull
bigmark
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Watch Out they charge for Parking !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, Room was OK, think we got an old one, as not like in the picture on website
Was not given any benefits for PPC member, Most others HI / HIE offer you something
Old Style square Box for TV - Time to move into 21st Century HI
Staff Freindly . Shocked they charge for parking , not made clear
on website .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

Whilst I am pleased to read that you found our team to be friendly, I am sorry that you were not delighted by the standard of our rooms. Whilst I appreciate it may be of little consolation to you, we have, since your visit, replaced all of our televisions with up to date flat screen models. I am sorry also that you feel you did not receive the benefits to which you are entitled as a PCR Member. I shall be happy to look into this further for you if you would contact me with the details of what you expected but did not receive.

I have noted your comments concerning the charge for car parking. We do state on our website that car parking charges apply at £5.00 per car per night and please be assured that we regularly review our pricing for car parking to ensure that we remain competitive with other city/town centre hotels and the charge for residents is significantly discounted.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    133
    56
    19
    9
See reviews for
57
89
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast was filling with a satisfactory variety of cooked and continental foods.

Only issue was it was quite expensive - £127 for a standard room & breakfast is pushing it, especially for non london

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was pleased to read that you found your room to be spacious and clean and that you found the breakfast satisfactory. Please be assured that our bed and breakfast rates are regularly reviewed to ensure that we remain competitive with other 4* establishments within Solihull and the Birmingham area.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We managed to get an excellent room rate including breakfast of just over £40 per night. Room (108) was spacious and comfortable, overlooking the small lake and fountain. All staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with a good choice of fruit, cold meats, breads, and full cooked. There is a smallish but satisfactory bar in the lobby area.
About 10 minutes walk from the station or a £5 taxi ride, and opposite the shopping mall including a John Lewis.

Room Tip: A number of rooms overlook a small lake, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was delighted to read that you found your room, overlooking the lake, to be spacious and comfortable and out team to be friendly and helpful.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future.

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here on business recently for one night.
The hotel is situated in a very convenient position for Solihull town centre.
The reception area was large and welcoming with a fireplace and loads of sofas dotted around the bar.
My room was comfortable and clean but could have done with a bit updating. The TV in the bedroom was old and not a great picture and the remote control didn't work properly.
The bed was a large double and was comfortable and there was a good size full en-suite bathroom.
I used the swimming pool and the leisure facilities at the hotel which were good but not brilliant. The steam room didn't produce much steam and the pool was a very peculiar shape to swim in!
Again, I felt that the leisure club could have done with a bit of modernisation.
I had breakfast the next morning at the hotel which was fine with a good selection of hot and cold food.
The staff all seemed to be ok, no complaints, but not excellent customer service either.
All in all though I would have no problems with staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and convenient for your needs

Whilst I appreciate it may be of little consolation to you, but since your stay, we have replaced all televisions within the hotel with up to date flat screen models. Additionally, during December, our Leisure Club underwent a refurbishment of the gymnasium, dance studio, reception and changing rooms.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future to experience the improvements we have made since your last stay

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a nice, comfortable, average hotel that I used for an overnight stay while attending an event at the NEC Arena. My room was comfortable if a little dated. I've come to expect the TV to be a flat screen LCD in contemporary hotels while the one in this room was so old it was still using teletext. I had a very peaceful night's sleep and both my check-in and check-out processes were fast and efficient. The staff were very helpful throughout my stay and I would certainly consider using this hotel again if required.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and our team to be helpful throughout your stay

Whilst I appreciate it may be of little consolation to you, but since your stay, we have replaced all televisions within the hotel with up to date flat screen models.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here with my mom (girls weeknd) and we had a great weekend.
There was a wedding going on at this hotel,the couple being from Newport and we all hit it off.
Welsh kilts and all!! six nations was on too,although we didnt mind. The staff were very pleasant,the room was excellent,breakfast to die for!
We spent 2 nights here and enjoyed every minute.Being from Birmingham ourselves it was nice to catch up with family at the bar,then move on to the new shopping centre for a fab meal and wine !
Our room over looked the lake,lovely and bright.lots of clean towels etc. We did ring reception as one of the bulbs had blown n the main light and within 5mins a lady appeared and fixed the problem for us.
Would definately stay here again.A short walk to the railway station,hoped on a ten min ride to city centre to the museum and have a peek at Davinci's sketches! Then cake and coffe in cafe rouge............bliss

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I was delighted to read that you had a great weekend with your Mum and that you found our team to be pleasant, room and amenities excellent and “breakfast to for”

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. didn't eat an evening meal there but it did not look to be cheap. Plenty of alternatives nearby.
Two problems
a. breakfast: plenty of choice, good coffee, on both mornings the scrambled egg looked as if it had been put out about 4 months ago
b. they charge residents to park at the hotel. This is not noted on the website and when I complained that this was the case the money was removed from my bill but it is sneaky. Parking is sufficiently difficult in the centre of Solihull that I am sure they need a barrier but charging £5 per day on top of the bill and concealing the charge is not on. The charge for wifi is also unacceptable. More and more hotels have either made it free or reduced their charges and it is about time this chain caught up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Solihull, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Solihull

I am pleased to read that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our team to be friendly and efficient.

Thank you for your comments concerning the plentiful breakfast offering however I must apologise that the scrambled eggs were not up to standard. I have of course followed this up with the Head Chef to ensure there be no reoccurrence in the future.

I have noted your comments concerning the charge for car parking. We do state on our website that parking charges apply at £5.00 per car per night however please be assured that we regularly review our pricing for car parking to ensure that we remain competitive with other city/town centre hotels and the charge for residents is significantly discounted.

Unfortunately our Wi-Fi, and the technical support for this service, is provided by an external company therefore it is necessary to charge our guests for using their services.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Solihull in the future

Yours sincerely

Martin Woods
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Solihull

Address: 61 Homer Road, Solihull B91 3QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Solihull is 5 miles from the Birmingham NEC and ideally located whether you are on business or taking a break. Birmingham International Airport is 15 minutes away. Situated in the heart of England, we are 1 mile from Jct 5 off the M42 with direct links to the M6, M6 TOLL, M1 and M40.Solihull is a vibrant and welcoming town and is the perfect accompaniment to this exceptional 4 star hotel where you can celebrate your wedding venue with a picturesque view overlooking a beautiful fountain and lake. Our fantastic new facilities include 12 modern and flexible meeting rooms designed for both practicality and comfort, 120 refurbished bedrooms, air-conditioning and wireless internet access throughout the hotel, movies on demand, kids eat free and indoor heated swimming pool.Brookes restaurant and our Lounge bar offer both formal and informal dining options to suit tastes from around the world. To make the most of your stay, visit our leisure club and take advantage of the gymnasium, steam, Jacuzzi and sauna.Nearby attractions include Cadbury World, Touchwood entertainment and shopping complex, Shakespeare's birthplace Stratford upon Avon and Sea Life Birmingham. Just a few of the many places to experience when visiting beautiful Solihull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Solihull Hotel Solihull
Solihull Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.