We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful service, dirty room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Solihull

Save Saved
You added Village Urban Resort Solihull to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Urban Resort Solihull
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4GW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Solihull
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Dreadful service, dirty room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I found this hotel using a booking website with a 'dogs allowed' filter
To double check, I called the hotel (quite late at night) & was told that yes, they accept dogs & there was no charge
When I arrived, I was told that dogs WEREN'T allowed, putting me in a rather awkward position...
I explained I had called, As I didn't recall the name of the guy I spoke to they were disbelieving of me, but finally conceded that it was likely to have been the night porter who 'didn't really know anything'. They finally, reluctantly agreed to let us stay with the dog & then wanted extra for the cleaning involved, which I understand but had been told didn't apply! Luckily I also argued against this, as when I got to the room, incy wincy spider had made a substantial home in the window blinds & the irony that my dog would cause extra cleaning was too much!
Evening meal was included on the first night but being a sunday, the restaurant was closed in the evening. After waiting for the large group of rowdy football to disappear in 'the pub' , I had my food but the waitress was so surly (and the order was wrongs) so I asked to speak to the duty manager. He agreed that she had been surly, and offered me a free bottle of wine on my second night, and took my email address & said he would send me a voucher for a free sunday carvery (neither of which I had asked for)
On the second night, upon returning, the bar was closed so I was unable to get my wine, and after some months, guess what...no vouchers either!
Really poor from a big chain, who on this occasion overpromised but underdelivered.
Would definitely look elsewhere..........

Room Tip: in another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    172
    66
    38
    11
See reviews for
91
140
12
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have stayed here before and like the comfortable rooms and great leisure facilities. The food at victory pub is good though the menu options seemed more limited this time. Our son had an adult pasta meal and it was far too spicy with lots of chilli. The staff were very good and replaced the meal for a tomato sauce on request. The breakfast was good though again options seemed more limited than in the past. The pool is a real plus and the children enjoyed it though were forced to leave at 5 on the Thursday for adults (including non residents) to use and this was disappointing as we could not check in until 4pm.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 3 or 4 to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice room, although a view over carpark would have been preferable to the roof. Nice and clean, staff helpful, food good. Noise from the wedding guests on both nights resulted in waking me up during the night. It would be better to place these guests by the lifts and others well away.
Leisure centre lovely. The only thing I didnt get - the staff uniform. Jeans just dont work!!

Room Tip: Quiet room with car park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ah the village hotel, I stay regularly in this hotel when visiitng the solihull area so i have a good overall experience of the place. Let me start with the positives

Staff - The staff, for the most part are excellent. Very friendly on reception and very accomodating with early check ins. this is great for me as my flights generally get in very early and it beats waiting around till midday or later for the room to become available. The restuarant waiting staff are great. very attentive, very friendly and always smiling.The restuarant manager however needs to take a leaf out of her staffs book if she insists on dealing with customers, otherwise stay out of the way in the back of the hotel managing whatever it is managers manage in hotels.I found her to be abrupt and unaccomodating with possible delusions of grandeur as she was wearing a suit and the waiting staff wear Village hotel branded jeans and t shirts. overall i would give the staff 4 out of 5. would have been 5 out of 5 only for my unpleasant interaction with the manager.

Rooms - The rooms are small and generally clean enough.There are samsung flat screen tv's mounted on the walls and Tea/Coffee making facilities.But thats about it. the upper deck upgrade comes with the full sky movies package on the TV. great if you have kids to entertain in the evening but other than that not really worth the upgrade price.Oh you also get starbuks coffee saches in the upgraded rooms.overall i would rate the roms 3 out of 5.

Leisure Center - as good as the leisure center and swiming pool areas are, there is a major downside. The center is not exclusive to guests. It is actually a gym/center for locals and this can lead to it being extremely busy on the weekends.Particlularly the pool area where they regularly host swimming lessons for locas kids etc.for this reason id drop the score from 4 to 3 out of 5.

Victory Pub - Again the downside to the victory pub is that it tends to be frequented by locals.so it can be very busy and noisy. I recall one particluar occasion where a bunch of male Village hotel head office staff were down for what seemed like a stag do. there was about 25 to 30 blokes.most of them half naked, drunk and extremely loud literally hogging the bar staff attention for the all day. i remember on one occasion it took me over 25 minutes to get a drink. surely the hotel would have a policy that their own staff are not allowed to socialise in the hotels? apparently not. I would give the victory pub 2 out of 5.

The restuarant - breakfast buffet is very nice. although they seriously need to sort out the toaster. its a problem every time i go there. takes to long and is always on the wrong setting. Breakfast can be very busy so get down early if you dont want to queue for a table. again this is not exclusive to guests and locals can come in for a full breakfast buffet for 5 pounds. i suspect thats why its always so busy. Dinner in the restuarant can be very expesnive and the menu is very limited. My adsie woudl be to dicth the hotel for dinner and head into solihull where places like zizi's,Cafe rouge,or nandos offer better alternatives to the hotel. rerstuarant overall gets a 3 out of 5 from me.

Overall its a reasonable hotel and ive had some greats stays here when it has been quiet.but when its busy with locals, residents dont really get a look in and service can turn to carnage. so its pot luck really. if it wasnt for the staff i wouldnt be staying here on a regular basis. I hope the hotel recognises what an asset "most" of them are.

Room Tip: Family rooms are on the first floor and have super king size beds. I ask for these even when travell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't have asked for more. The food at the wedding breakfast was fantastic and the service was first class. We would not hesitate to recommend using the hotel as a wedding venue. The leisure facilities and the rooms are also great!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed one night for business. As others have said it is in the middle of a business park but that's probably why a lot of the guests stay there! It cost me less than £15 to get back to the airport in a taxi - ask to be taken to the international train station, it's a lot cheaper and just 2minutes on the monorail into the airport.
I slept really well. Room was a good size and very comfortable. There's self-controlled air con/ heating and the windows open if you'd prefer fresh air. I didn't have an evening meal but the breakfast was very nice apart from the sausages were a bit cheap looking - the sort you tend to get in a chippy rather than a nice meaty banger! There's a bar and a restaurant as well as room service available but in the local area there doesn't appear to be many other options for eating. You'd need a car to get out and about.
Parking was free and there was plenty of it. There's free wifi in the rooms and even an ipod dock. Every room has an iron and ironing which I always appreciate - there's nothing worse than arriving somewhere late and having to wait ages for them to bring an iron up to your room. I couldn't find the hairdryer but apparently it's in a drawer in the wardrobe (not the most obvious if you ask me!!).
The only thing I thought my room was lacking was somewhere to put my bag down. There would be space for one of those foldup stands but I had to use the armchair. Also some biscuits on the tea & coffee tray wouldn't go amiss!
The leisure facilities look great but unfortunately i had an injured knee so couldn't try them out :-(
So all in all a good base if you're in the area and don't mind staying on a business park. I had a great sleep, didn't want to get up in the morning the bed was so comfy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good value for money, had a family room 2 kids (6&8) clean and very nice. Had dinner in the Grille restaurant, staff really good and helpful especially with the kids (was my daughters birthday and they arranged for the chef to put happy birthday in chocolate on the plate for her with her dessert which I thought was a nice touch) food really good but they had issues with the bill and kept getting it wrong...but got there in the end! Facilities very good an would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Urban Resort Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Solihull

Address: The Green Business Park, Solihull B90 4GW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#7 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Urban Resort Solihull 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights ou!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Urban Resort Solihull has 128 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Village Urban Resort Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.