We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Solihull

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Solihull to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Solihull
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green Business Park, Dog Kennel Lane | Shirley, Solihull B90 4GW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Solihull
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed one night for business. As others have said it is in the middle of a business park but that's probably why a lot of the guests stay there! It cost me less than £15 to get back to the airport in a taxi - ask to be taken to the international train station, it's a lot cheaper and just 2minutes on the monorail into the airport.
I slept really well. Room was a good size and very comfortable. There's self-controlled air con/ heating and the windows open if you'd prefer fresh air. I didn't have an evening meal but the breakfast was very nice apart from the sausages were a bit cheap looking - the sort you tend to get in a chippy rather than a nice meaty banger! There's a bar and a restaurant as well as room service available but in the local area there doesn't appear to be many other options for eating. You'd need a car to get out and about.
Parking was free and there was plenty of it. There's free wifi in the rooms and even an ipod dock. Every room has an iron and ironing which I always appreciate - there's nothing worse than arriving somewhere late and having to wait ages for them to bring an iron up to your room. I couldn't find the hairdryer but apparently it's in a drawer in the wardrobe (not the most obvious if you ask me!!).
The only thing I thought my room was lacking was somewhere to put my bag down. There would be space for one of those foldup stands but I had to use the armchair. Also some biscuits on the tea & coffee tray wouldn't go amiss!
The leisure facilities look great but unfortunately i had an injured knee so couldn't try them out :-(
So all in all a good base if you're in the area and don't mind staying on a business park. I had a great sleep, didn't want to get up in the morning the bed was so comfy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    196
    75
    45
    15
See reviews for
100
158
14
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good value for money, had a family room 2 kids (6&8) clean and very nice. Had dinner in the Grille restaurant, staff really good and helpful especially with the kids (was my daughters birthday and they arranged for the chef to put happy birthday in chocolate on the plate for her with her dessert which I thought was a nice touch) food really good but they had issues with the bill and kept getting it wrong...but got there in the end! Facilities very good an would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Really excellent value for money. The staff were all very professional and friendly. We had a small issue with a broken soap dispenser in the bathroom and this was rectified within 10 minutes by a helpful member of housekeeping. The room was excellent - clean, beautifully furnished and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean. The hotel is family friendly and had a lively atmosphere. Would definitely stay again. We did not use the gym or pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This was a relaxing overnight stay with a nice room, comfy bed and very good breakfast.
Service is friendly and we would definitely go again.
We didn't use the leisure facilities so can't comment.
Location is a bit odd - business park but very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Excellent Hotel facilities and all the staff were friendly throughout our stay. For very small tots the swimming pool was a little on the cool side though. Restaurant food was as expected but do not expect top notch dining, however it was good value for money and especially the 'Early Diner' offer. The reception staff were brilliant in resolving any problems and I would definitely recommend a stay especially as a base for Warwick Castle, Stratford and the Cotswolds beyond. On our last night of a 5 night stay there was a problem with a very rowdy drunken wedding party that absolutely spoilt what would have been a 5/5 review . It wasn't the fault of the Hotel, but I can honestly say I didn't quite realise how rude, inconsiderate, selfish and down right ignorant some people can be!!!! Rant over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the outside tables as this may help if another rude, loud wedding party dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here august 2013 for 2 nights with my husband and 2 children (4 & 2) while we visited drayton manor and warwick castle.
We arrived friday evening about 6pm and checked which was easy and quick the reception area is really nice and large, staff were very friendly and helpful also giving us a book of vouchers for our stay for things like BOGOF on drinks etc. We stayed on a Dinner bed and breakfast package which was a very reasonable price, the childrens meals were not included but as children are only young this wasnt a problem, and the childrens meals pizzas etc are reasonably priced.
First night we dined in the victory bar and grill had both ordered the flat iron steak and got to stay was very impressed and the portion was huge, staff in there where great our eldest son had a small accident when he firsty got on the leather wall couch he slipped causing a nose bleed, the gentleman who was running the bar at that time was great and then brought some colouring packs over.
2nd night we decieded to dine in the vueve, food was nice, service was a little slow and waitress got a couple things wrong but nothing major that ruined our meal.
breakfast had plenty of choice and hot food continously being brought out.

Our room was on the 2nd floor didnt have much a view but we werent there for that so it didnt matter really. Room was spacious and clean with a pull out bed for the children this was far side of the room so didmt affect any space in the room really.
Overall was a great stay, and great value for money, and because of this we tend to stay in de vere villages or de vere hotels reguarly.
Ideally located for both attractions we vistied also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The only bad thing I can say about the stay here is the childrens swim times.kids can only swim from 9-12 in the morning and 2-5 in the afternoon,but when you check in your told you have use of facilities from 6-10 every night but this is for adults only. Most people who stop with kids are out all day and than at night when you may want a swim can't have one as kids are not allowed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Solihull

Address: The Green Business Park, Dog Kennel Lane | Shirley, Solihull B90 4GW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#5 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#7 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights ou!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Urban Resort Solihull has 128 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.