We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel - Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Solihull

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Solihull to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Solihull
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green Business Park, Dog Kennel Lane | Shirley, Solihull B90 4GW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Solihull
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel - Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel whilst on a business trip to the NEC. At first, when we pulled into what looked like an industrial estate, we wondered what we had let ourselves in for but there was no need to worry. The Staff were friendly and helpful from the minute we walked in the door. The room was fantastic - very spacious, clean and welcoming. One of the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. With free Wi-fi and free parking what more can I say? Perfect hotel for business or pleasure - just a shame we didn't have time to try out the leisure facilities too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    216
    91
    51
    31
See reviews for
114
190
16
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

great stay, hotel was spotless, rooms superb and breakfast was one of the best we've ever had. great value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights while up here visiting Gadget Show Live. Receptionist on check-in was unwelcoming, waitress staff for breakfast were shabby and as for the restaurant chairs....I've seen cleaner park benches.

Room was well furnished and clean and would of been a welcoming escape, if it had not been for loud music for the 2 nights running till 2am. Sure I would of got a quieter nights sleep lying in the middle of the M42. Had we been advised on check-in it would have been more accepting.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Chose this hotel following good reviews when visiting the Destinations event at the NEC. It's easy to find and close to the motorway.
The hotel is quite new which means the fixtures and fittings are in good condition although there is little in the way of storage. Room quite cramped with extra pull-out bed in place (typical in UK) but both beds comfortable and TV well sited on wall. Bathroom is large and clean but with no extras other than wall-mounted soap and gel and nice towels. Bath itself is quite narrow but shower good. Tea and coffee, but no biscuits, provided.
Our room, on 3rd floor was opposite the lift and this hotel seems to attract the young "I always speak in a loud voice" brigade which meant constant disruption in the corridor during the late evening. Free WiFi is bonus.
Ate in the Verve restaurant from the "Early Doors" menu which is much more reasonable than a la carte for okay but undistinguished food. Wine is quite pricey. Waitress pleasant and helpful. On the down side, two requests for extra pillow, include callback to confirm request from reception, went unfulfilled. Good breakfast available.
The leisure pool is a good size and we enjoyed a morning swim though why under 16s can't use the hot bath is beyond me. It's only a larger version of the whirlpool bath at home.
Overall, happy to recommend for a one night stand but there's nothing there or in the area to encourage long stays.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I have stayed at a few Village Hotels around the UK and to be honest they can be a bit of a mixed bag - but this one is a real gem. The only downside (if you are big on the social side) is that it is in the middle of nowhere, and actually seems to be on some sort of technology park or something. You'll need your sat-nav!! Having said that, if you need the M42 the follwing morning then this is ideal. But once you're checked in then it is brilliant. A very new hotel so everything works, everything is clean, staff are great and smiley, car park is ultra safe and secure, restaurant great, breakfast was better and best of all you can pick up a Starbucks latte on your way out to set your day up properly (if you like Starbucks I guess!!)

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Spent a single here as a family of 4, (2 x 12 yo's)! Room was good, although a little small for our growing team, but woud use it again! The lighting in the room was poor, either very dark, or so bright you need sunglasses!!

Breakfast was as would be expected!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed here for the price really. However with the cost of taxis we could have stayed in the Hilton. Don't stay here without a car! The 5 min railway station is a £10 cab fare, we were attending a 2 day event at the NEC and that was a £15 to £20 cab fare each way!
The leisure centre is class though! The pool is big and warm and has the biggest hot tub I've ever seen!
Won't be staying again though due to location in a business park miles from anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Solihull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Solihull

Address: The Green Business Park, Dog Kennel Lane | Shirley, Solihull B90 4GW, England (Formerly De Vere Village Solihull)
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Solihull
#6 Luxury Hotel in Solihull
#7 Business Hotel in Solihull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Solihull 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Solihull is conveniently located close to the major motorway and rail networks, making it the perfect base to explore the new Birmingham revival in all its glory. The latest hotspot for big shops, big label and big nights ou!. It's ideal for quick access to the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. Nearby attractions include chocoholics favourite Cadbury World, the Sealife Centre, Touchwood shopping Centre and Warwick Castle. Village Urban Resort Solihull has 128 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Solihull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Prem Solihull Hotel Solihull

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Solihull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.