We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Visted the Bell Hotel for a 2 night stay in February but left after 1 night because of the worsening floods and risk that Tewkesbury might be cut off. Staff very welcoming, helpful and understanding despite having concerns about their own properties. Confortable room but a little chilly because of the gale force winds through the old windows - to be fair though the winds were exceptionally bad. Otherwise we had a lovely time. We will be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of The Bell. It was lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the Summer.
Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    118
    65
    26
    7
See reviews for
27
179
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Location was good, room was good for the price...however, the noise was horrendous! Do not stay in room 1 if you want some sleep! The room is just above the gents toilets for the bar/restaurant so everytime someone goes in the door slams shut and the hand dryer is really noisy. The room is on the stairs so you can hear everything and everyone coming and going. Would have given a good rating if we stayed in another room. The traffic noise was ridiculous.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. You are quite right, Room 1 can be noisy as it is situated at the front of the hotel. However, traffic noise normally dies down after 10pm and visits to the gents toilets after this time are less frequent than earlier in the evening. What, as a female manager, I didn't realise, is how much the door bangs and I have asked maintenance to look at getting this reduced - so thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Room 1 overlooks the stunning and beautiful Abbey and we always get requests for this room - it does have secondary glazing which filters out some of the traffic noise ( and the Abbey Bells), so I am hoping that your review and my comments will help others guests to decide if they wish to request this room for the view, or another room towards the rear of the hotel, where it is much quieter.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Having booked a bargain minibreak at £9.95 per person per night (yes really!), the doubts were creeping in as we arrived... There had to be a catch, didn't there?

Armed with a print-off of our confirmation email promising a "comfy twin-bedded room with crisp linen and duvets", we duly checked in. Emma on reception gave us a pleasant welcome and directions to our room... which turned out to be exactly as described, complete with crisp linen, etc.

The bedroom (room 23 on the first floor of the annexe) was adequately sized, reasonably comfortable rather than luxurious, and mercifully looked out over the car park at the side of the building and not the potentially noisy main road at the front. The twin beds were indeed comfy, and could easily be pushed together into a super king-size. The room was well heated, with a radiator that could be adjusted between cold and very hot.

The shower was superb - one of the most powerful we have come across in a UK hotel bathroom. The flat screen TV gave perfect reception of all the Freeview channels.

Could breakfast (included in our bargain deal) match the quality of the room? Yes, it could! The orders were taken efficiently and promptly, and the cooked breakfasts were excellent, especially the full English and the scrambled egg and smoked salmon.

However, although breakfast is theoretically available until 10am, we noticed that little effort was made to top up the buffet table after 9.00, leaving later arriving guests with a much reduced choice of cereals, fruit and yogurt. The smoked salmon also ran out, causing disappointment for some other people sitting near us. The advice would be to get down to breakfast before things run out.

Apart from that, we have no complaints. All the staff we dealt with were polite, friendly and efficient. This was £9.95 well spent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of The Bell following you visit to us. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and I have shared your review with the staff here. I have also asked breakfast staff to ensure that they have a full topped up buffet until 10am.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, Emma Booth, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Warm welcome from very helpful Manager Emma. Great room 24 close to car park entrance. Fab breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed an excellent evening meal too. Had a brilliant 3 night stay travelling around some of our favourite places in Glos and especially Forest of Dean. Tewkesbury Abbey is beautiful and very interesting. We felt very sorry to see all the flooding in the area but it didn't spoil our visit. We will be back and will recommend.

Room Tip: We liked room 24 on first floor and op the first room you come to from the car park entrance/exit, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of The Bell. I have passed on your comments to the team, they will be pleased to hear, that despite the floods, you enjoyed your visit to us and the surrounding areas.
I do look forward to heaving the opportunity to welcome you back on another occasion.
Kind Regards, Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Arrived Friday and had warm welcome. Dismayed by amount of land flooded but still found places to visit. Warm cosy fire in hotel made us forget floods. Welcome for dog good as always. Room 25 handy for dog walks as next to door to car park.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review after visiting us. The flooding certainly has been higher than previous last few years, but luckily for us at The Bell, we are high enough not to be affected. ( Not even in 2007 !)
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Bell again.
Kind regards, Emma Booth - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

After meeting an old friend..we ended up at The Bell in Tewkesbury. The lunch we had was fab,,,the most tasty Duck & Hoisin Wrap, accompanied by a very nice salad garnish. Oh and the Coffee was lovely with a Almond biscuity thing with it just finished off the lunch in style. We'll be back...And it didn't break the bank...very impressed.The Bell is back to its best ..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely feedback following your visit at the weekend. We are receiving more and more positive feedback from guests whom used to visit us and to hear that The Bell is back to it's best is brilliant !
Look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

my partner and I had a most wonderful stay. 2 nights/3 days relaxing in and around Tewkesbury. the hotel is in an excellent position..free parking a bonus. room was clean, warm, comfortable with a bath...the abbey bells were nice to hear but did wake you up early!! breakfast was the best. served up till 12.0.clock..so nice to be able to selep in (bells apart) and still be able to get a cooked breakfast, full English and plenty other choices..the staff were all very pleasant..the bar and dinning area is a lovely area and free newspapers to read great..two meals for £9.99 were good value and tasty food..would stay again.

Room Tip: room 6 very nice with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I was pleased to hear that all aspects of your stay were good and that you had a wonderful time. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Bell on another occasion.
Kind regards, Emma Booth General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.