We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Bell Hotel to your Saves list
The Bell Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked a special deal through national press, 2 night stay b&b. Room was OK but b/room left a lot to be desired. Apart from being cramped the shower had a lot of mould, no shelf to put soap or shampoo inside shower and the room in general clearly needed decorating. Most annoying was the noisy pipes. The heating had obviously not been done correctly as the continuously "pinged " as they were touching the floor boards /joists, being a light sleeper this was not good. Staff were excellent in all ways. Hotel is very central. If I did not know better I would think that the cheap deals are given the worst rooms. We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be very good. The restaurant on the saturday was very busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, We can assure that we in no way allocate our rooms based on price, The room standards are an ongoing focus of the team at the
Bell, The Management team work closely with the Housekeeping team to improve on any areas of concern, We value your suggestion of the soap & shampoo holders,
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    138
    77
    28
    8
See reviews for
34
205
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed just the one night with pals, offer was on with Daily Mail, so paid £30 for the night per room, included breakfast. Our stay was clean and very very comfy, have been before on simular offer. We ate our evening meal there and that was lovely, Gammon,egg,chips and all was hot and tasty. Will return.

Room Tip: We had room 12, pals had 11, we had shower, they had bath and shower over, overlooked side road, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review in reference to your recent stay at the Bell Hotel, I will ensure it is past onto our Housekeeping team as they take allot of pride in their rooms. Ferenc "our Head Chef" is thrilled you enjoyed the Gammon & Egg, We look forward to welcoming you back from the all the Team at the Bell Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly,excellent value and quite laid back for a 'chain' hotel...liked the extended time for breakfast. Attentive staff,but Greene King should employ more of them at known busy times. Dog friendly with no charge.Situated close to River Severn for handy walks and just opposite the lovely atmospheric Tewkesbury Abbey and Touching Souls tea room both of which are dog friendly.

Room Tip: avoid the deep puddle in the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this weekend, courtesy of Tesco vouchers. The hotel was in a perfect location, right opposite the Abbey, very central to the town. It was very quaint and olde worlde. They had an open fire burning in the evenings which made it very cosy away from the cold wind outside.

All the staff were very welcoming and friendly and we even had the cleaners wanting to clean our room on the Saturday, eventhough it had only been done on the Friday. We had room 3 which looked over the car park. It was a good size with a decent bathroom with power shower. It looked as though it had very recently been done out as we were informed the silicone around the shower hadn't long been done so wouldn't be dry for a couple of hours after our arrival. The bedroom had lovely heavy duty, pretty curtains too lol.

The bed was lovely and comfortable with a lightweight but warm white duvet. Facilities included lots of tea and coffee as well as Hot chocolate and biscuits, iron and ironing board, tv with limited sky channels and hairdryer.

Unfortunately I have to finish with a slight negative. We ate lunch there on Friday and although my husband's meal was fine, I wasn't so keen on mine. I had a duck and hoi sin wrap that I had really been looking forward to but the meal was stone cold. I was expecting it to be hot or warm but not only was the duck cold, the wrap tasted as though it had come straight out of the fridge. Oh well, I ate it all the same as it wasn't a major issue.

On Saturday night we decided to dine here again as I'd fancied the spicy salmon sizzler that was advertised on one of the boards and my husband had the open chicken and mushroom pie. The pie was quite tasty but in my husband's opinion it wasn't freshly cooked but microwaved. My salmon arrived and it was indeed sizzling away on a hotplate. I transferred it to my dinner plate and added some broccoli which was also boiling hot and then I poured over the spicy sauce that came in a jug. What a disappointment, it was stone cold. I didn't complain as it was obviously meant to be served cold or there would have at least been some heat as proof that it had just been left too long before serving. Maybe, it's just me but I don't see the point in having a sizzling salmon topped with a cold sauce- it just cooled the whole thing down.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars if it wasn't for the food issues. I hope management get this sorted as it could become an even better establishment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Firstly I would like to offer our apologies that the food quality was not up to our usual high standard; action has been taken to ensure that this does not occur in the future. We would like to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We called in at Tewkesbury to find some breakfast on Sunday morning and saw the Bell hotel on the way in advertising two for £9.95, so parked up in the free (on Sunday) car park and made our way in.
The decor is really nice, well looked after especially for a building as old as this. Good seating areas with different types to choose from and different sized tables, some with sofas etc. A nice coal fire was going and all seemed well.
It was only after a member of staff had passed us for the third time though that we were actually acknowledged at the bar, seemingly there was a bit of a rush on in another part of the restaurant, which is fine, but to be ignored 3 times is not.
When we were served we ordered up and informed of a short delay, again no problem, there was a newspaper and they gave us tea and toast whilst waiting.
Then another couple who had ordered 10 minutes after us got their food and I think the staff realised this and offered us more tea/toast and use of the buffet whilst we were waiting, which is good practise, so well done to them for that.
When it came though the breakfast was a bit disappointing, egg wasn't cooked properly, the beans were lukewarm and the mushroom was cold.
Overall based on this one visit alone, I wouldn't rush back, little attention to details being missed are letting this potentially great eatery slip to an average one, like the fact that I hate sticky bar servery areas, it's not hard to clean!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We would like to offer our apologies that the service and food quality on your recent visit did not meet our high standards, action has been taken to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Finally we would like to thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent visit and we hope we are able to welcome you back to the Bell in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked the bell hotel after seeing reviews on a web site. It is situated opposite the abbey in Tewkesbury and is ideally situated on the outskirts of the town. On arrival on friday night we dined in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent and well priced. The bar has an great selection of ales and wines which also are very well priced. Our rooms were en suite and very comfortable with coffee/tea making facilities. the beds were very comfortable with crisp clean bedding and we slept very well. Breakfast on saturday and sunday was excellent and they provide a wide selection and combination of food cooked to your own liking, the staff keep you topped up with tea coffee and toast and I cant praise them all enough. We also dined in the hotel on saturday night and the same high quality continued. This hotel is great, friendly and great value for money. From the receptionists, barstaff, waiting staff and cleaners we received first class service. We are definitely going to stay again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saumur
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

An enjoyable stay, very friendly and helpful staff, pretty good food and comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. The location is central for the town and also for a quiet stroll by the river. We will definitely stay here again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Bell Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: 52 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.