We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good honest pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Berkeley Arms

The Berkeley Arms
8 Church Street, Tewkesbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 61 restaurants in Tewkesbury
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good honest pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

we were only in the pub for about an hour, but when we left we were made to feel like regulars. The beer is extremely well kept and the Staff and locals a very friendly bunch.
Another to remember for our next visit to Tewksbury

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    11
    12
    2
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I went with my husband and toddler and could not understand why initially we were the only diners in there. There is a lovely, welcoming local's pub ambience, friendly staff and docile dog. We each really enjoyed our proper homemade pub good and also enjoyed the realistic pub food prices. We didn't have desserts but the menu looked good and extremely reasonably priced. We would definitely visit again when in the area.
The steak and ale pie was a real treat and we opted that they also offer a take out service for food and for the real ale.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Only have a pie if you're hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We chose pie chips and peas at £6.50 a time. Each plateful was big! The chicken and mushroom pies were about 7 inches across and 2,5 inches deep and filled with big lumps of chiocken and pieces of mushroom. We bought three uncooked pies to take home with us and later found that each one weighed 1 lb 10 oz! It's a proper pub with proper food and drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The Berkeley Arms. Tewksbury.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Popped in for a breakfast. Ordered a medium sized full english. Whilst we waited the landlord brought some dog biscuits for our dog and we got chatting. Some locals were in at the time and we all enjoyed a natter. Then the breakfast came! We have never seen such a huge breakfast ever! Absolutely everything on there times three! We said we didn't want the black pudding so the landlord brought it out, all cut up in a dish for our dog. We dread to think what a "large" breakfast would be like. When we paid, my husband thought they had forgotten to take the money for the toast and tea but it was in with bill. Couldn't believe the value for money. First class food, first class price and friendly staff. We would highly recommend this pub to everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Three of us visited Tewkesbury this Saturday and what a lovely time was had by all. Our favourite pub had to be the Berkeley Arms. They knew their beers, kept them well and both the staff and the customers were so friendly. We didn't eat there but the food looked fantastic. We will definitely be returning and this will be our first port of call.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Berkeley Arms also viewed

Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire
 
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Berkeley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berkeley Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.