We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine atmosphere, nice and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tudor House Hotel to your Saves list
Tudor House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Genuine atmosphere, nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We got very nice rooms, all was tidy and clean, and the old hotel is full of atmosphere. Breakfast was great, restaurant good, exept that we had to wait very long time for the meals (announced in advance) and didn't get quite what we ordered. We would, however, not have any problems returning to the hotel some other time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    126
    45
    17
    15
See reviews for
31
185
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were in Room 8 overlooking the courtyard garden, and the room appeared OK to start with. The floor sloped badly, and no one had thought to level the bed...so your feet were higher than your head! We re-made the bed, and slept upside-down, and I think they should invest in new pillows, our were 2-3 inches thick - useless. I have thrown out better!

Some privacy film on the bathroom windows would also help (and wouldn't affect the buildings listing), as there is a clear view into the room from houses opposite - which meant keeping the blinds down.

Lights in the courtyard were left on until 1am, despite the area being closed, and this lit our room up - even with curtains drawn. Coupled with this was a very noisy extractor/cooler unit, which of course ran all night.

Even the front door had no door handle - it had obviously broken and never been replaced. There is free Wi-Fi, but it is slow and crashes constantly. There is a carpark - but not big enough - we had to leave early as we had been forced to park on the road outside.

There were rolled up towels on the dining room floor under an old door which obviously leaks...but could be better managed I am sure. We only used the restaurant for breakfast - and whilst the cooked food was OK, the 'buffet' was extremely disappointing/disorganised., a few yoghurts on a grubby plate, small assortment of cereals, orange juice and a very tired fruit basket full of apples. While toast was delivered to the table butter/jam/marmalade was on the other side of the room along with the milk!! Does it take too much effort to place a small assortment on each table?

Having spent our wedding night there in the 80's we were extremely disappointed and will not risk it again. Tewkesbury has other hotels, and I would recommend trying them!

Room Tip: Do not accept room 8 overlooking te courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Me and my partner have stayed at many hotels in our life time and the service we received here was, well fantastic. The Management were very friendly and welcoming and always did their best to deliver a very good service even when they are being pulled in about 5 different directions. the staff were very friendly and proactive in their approach to me and my partner and to those around us. The food in the restaurant was brilliant, we had the fillet steak and baked cod on the Saturday night and on sunday night we both had the roast beef, which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was, well one of the best breakfasts iv ever had in a hotel, yes we had to wait a while, but its understandable, the staff were working very hard and there isnt much they can do when what seems like most of the hotel all come down at the same time. but they were pleasant throughout and always tried their best, not much more you can ask.
The room was very charming and relaxing, very very clean and clearly looked after as it should be.

Tewkesbury itself is a nice relaxing place for a short stay with the surrounding area having some lovely walks and the abbey itself is stunning. lots of coffee shops too if you like that kind of thing.

all in all a fantastic stay and we will be back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brierley hill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

stayed there 19th june and the evening meal was terrible. £15 for a sirloin full of gristle. When we complained the waitress said sorry and walked off.
The next morning we waited an incredibe 1 hour ten minutes for breakfast and then i had to remind them my wife and i were still in the breakfast room completely on our own, our 4 friends we were stopping with had eaten and left.
I think the chef should be sacked and the management changed.
We will never stay there again and we will tell as many people as possible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My young son and I recently spent 2 nights in this lovely old hotel. The check in was very friendly, and we were given a room in the 'gazebo' building at the back of the hotel. It was a lovely room - exceptionally comfortable, spacious, and with lots of interesting period details. It also had a view of the old mill and river Avon (...not the most picturesque view in the world, but still a welcome bonus). The on-site parking made life very easy, and the breakfasts were very good (if a little busy at 8am...). It's a great base to work from for exploring the Malvern Hills, Abbey and all the other local sights. Being on the High Street means you are also close to lots of places to eat. All in all, a lovely stay at a reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We only stayed for 1 night but found hotel, staff & food very good. We were lucky to be upgraded to a 4 poster room which was extremely spacious & comfortable. Lovely breakfast room & staff very accomodating when our grandchildren arrived at breakfast time! Just one thing - scrambled egg could be improved! I left a jacket behind in the wardrobe, phoned the next day & staff said straight away they would post to me. No charge - very good service.

Room Tip: We had room 1 - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocklawaha, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Wonderful location, good food, great service. And what an fascinating old building.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tudor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor House Hotel

Address: High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Tudor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Tewkesbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.