We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best curry's ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirala Tandoori Resturant

Nirala Tandoori Resturant
69-70 Church Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5RX, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 68 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Gloucestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best curry's ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have been going here for over 10 years now, and the food is always consistant. What more can you ask for ?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Going Downhill Fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We used to use the Nirala on a regular basis and revisited with friends after a longish break. Well this was nothing to write home about. Food and service left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great choice, great taste. Loved the food. We had a great king prawn dish that I have never tried before and regret its not our local Indian as we were just visiting.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Reliable old favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I have been eating here for many years. Quality is consistently good. Different dishes taste different -something that does not apply to all Indian restaurants. Quantities are not huge, but value is fair. It's a comfortable place to sit, even if the decor is dated. Not a modern trendy Indian, but a place for a reliable enjoyable meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good, basic curry house.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Good, old fashioned (think fish in a pond and textured wall coverings) curry house. It's like stepping back to the 1970's.
Food OK, nothing special with a very basic menu. As someone else said, the Chef's specials are worth a try - very tasty and not too spicy. Our meals were well cooked and tasted good and I'd say that this is a safe bet if you're in Tewksbury. Worth a visit for the 'time-travel' experience if nothing else!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirala Tandoori Resturant also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Nirala Tandoori Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirala Tandoori Resturant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.