We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hop Pole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royal Hop Pole to your Saves list
The Royal Hop Pole
94 Church Street, Tewkesbury Gl20 5RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bordon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I spent a night at the Hop Pole. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was great. The reception staff were lovely and one lady even came and spoke to us in the bar when she was off duty. The room was clean, spacious and plenty big enough. The breakfast in the morning was great and cheap, set us up for our long journey home. We had been to a party near by so the choice to stay at the Hop Pole was spot on. We were so relaxed we just walked out of the premises and went home. Forgot to hand back the room key and pay my bar bill !! Not a problem had swiped my card the night before. Contacted them when we got home and they were fine about it all. The key has been posted back by the way. Thank you all for a great stay, when we come back to Tewkesbury we will stay at the Hop Pole.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 which is right at the top of the building. Quite a walk up, there is no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is so good to hear that our team have looked after you during your stay at The Royal Hop Pole. We always aim for our guests to have a relaxing and comfortable stay, and your review says just that! Thank you for sending the key back, you certainly arent the first to take a key home and im sure you wont be the last! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Many Thanks the Royal Hop Pole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    119
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
135
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

to the royal hop pole our room was comfy, bed very comfy , and plenty of tea/coffee and milk on tea tray unlike some chain hotels ,enjoyed the atmosphere all the staff we came into contact with were nice.we see they still have not replaced the candles they used to have which in the tudor part add to the atmosphere ,great central location and nice beer garden leading to the river.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Many Thanks for your review, Its great to see that you have returned for another visit and that your stay was a comfortable one. We will pass your kind comments on to the rest of the team. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Spent the night in the Hop Pole on Good Friday and was fortunate to be given room 108 which I think is in the oldest part. One could imagine the history of the room as you laid on the comfortable bed. Reception staff brilliant and even though we complained about a smell came up with a solution straight away. Food up to the usual Wetherspoons standard and value.
Message to the manager, please repair latch on window as smells from the kitchen extractor are blown into the room. Not an easy job I know as the window is very very old.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are right, 108 is just off the oldest part of the building (medeival hall dating back to around 1380!) We will action the window latch immediately, thank you for bringing it to our attention. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that any issues were dealt with accordingly. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

When you feel that a good breakfast is required the Wetherspoon Pub is always a good option but this venue is in a fantastic old building which think must have been saved by becoming a Wetherspoon Hotel. They open early, the cost is reasonable, the food is of good quality and service is always prompt. I only wish they would have better lighting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. Breakfast is served from 7am - 12 noon every day (even Sundays!) We are lucky to have such a historic building, which was completely refurbished by JD Wetherspoon - which is when we stumbled across the previously hidden medeival hall & paintings upstairs!! We will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team. Many Thanks The Royal Hop Pole Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My family and I recently enjoyed a short break in Tewkesbury. We stayed in hotel accommodation outside the town which meant a drive or a taxi journey into town on a daily basis. On our third morning our six family members enjoyed superb breakfasts at the Royal Hop Pole hotel which is ideally located in the centre of town. As usual with J D Wetherspoon's the meal was excellent value and the staff were efficient; having looked at the hotel facilities in this historic building we wished we had stayed here for our break, but we certainly will next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for the review. So good to hear that you enjoyed breakfast at The Royal Hop Pole, and that the service was efficient - I will pass your feedback on to the rest of the team. Please do not hesitate to contact us to book your next break inTewkesbury! Kind Regards The Royal Hop Pole Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our first experience of a Wetherspoons Hotel, and overall the Royal Hop Pole 'delivered' on most, if not all levels; from the extremely helpful receptionist to the excellent standard of accommodation. The Hop Pole offers excellent value and enjoys a warm, friendly atmosphere. The food is typical Wetherspoon fayre and the hearty breakfast selection really sets you up for the day. Parking is a little at a premium at busy times however its free to residents. The Royal Hop Pole is a perfect base for exploring the Town and surrounding area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your stay matched your expectations. We work really hard to ensure that you are looked after whilst staying with us, and its great to hear our efforts are paying off. And you are right, Parking is complimentary to hotel residents! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Many Thanks The Royal Hop Pole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I am actually writing this on behalf of my parents who aren't keen on the internet, but wanted this to be mentioned publicly; they stayed at the Royal Hop Pole during the last weekend in March and they were very happy with their stay. They specifically mentioned the delightful receptionist, the value for money with their evening meals and the surprising lack of noise at the back of the hotel where their room was.

A day after they left, the hotel called to say they had found a £10 note in the bin in the room they had stayed in and an item of clothing my mum had bought and left behind.

My parents were absolutely thrilled with the honesty shown by the staff. They are a credit to the hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Hop_Pole, Manager at The Royal Hop Pole, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for the review. Its so good to hear that your parents had a peaceful stay with us enjoyed value for money. We are very lucky to have a great team here, and its lovely to know that your parents appreciated the phone call regarding the money and lost property - we always aim to return any lost items to their rightful owner! I will pass the feedback onto the team, particularly to the housekeepers. Many Thanks The Royal Hop Pole Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hop Pole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hop Pole

Address: 94 Church Street, Tewkesbury Gl20 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tewkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well-known landmark is an amalgamation of historic buildings dating from the 15th and 18th centuries, known as a number of names, including The Crown during King Henry VIII's reign. However, eventually it was named The Royal Hop Pole when Queen Mary stayed in 1937 and gave it the official 'Royal.' Charles Dickens even mentions The Royal Hop Pole in his first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Other interesting information and pictures are located all over the hotel, including information on how the Medieval Banqueting Hall was discovered when the hotel was recently refurbished. The Royal Hop Pole has its own beautiful garden which leads to the banks of The River; there you can see picturesque views of the surrounding countryside and the Malverns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Hop Pole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hop Pole Hotel Tewkesbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hop Pole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.