We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, lovely house, Lisa & John are great hosts.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Rill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tewkesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Rill House
Overbury Village, Tewkesbury GL20 7PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Tewkesbury B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, lovely house, Lisa & John are great hosts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed at Silver Rill with a group of girls as part of a hen weekend, a very relaxed weekend. The house is beautifully decorated with fantastic views around Overbury and the surrounding hills. A great location to chill out but accessible for walking, visiting Cotswold villages with bistro pubs only a few miles away.
Lisa and John are great hosts, very welcoming into their home. The guest lounge has coffee, tea and cakes and magazines to enjoy in front of a fire, but if you prefer there is a television to watch from the very comfortable sofas. Breakfast was a feast in itself with plenty of hot coffee, toast and full English breakfast.

Lisa has decorated and furnished the rooms just perfectly with lovely detail, and soft furnishings.

I highly recommend a visit to this lovely B&B.

Room Tip: Overbury Suite, just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We spent the Royal Wedding weekend at the Silver Rill House B&B and were treated like royalty.
We were greeted with tea and cake on arrival and shown to our rooms by which point we realised that we had found somewhere really special. Having three children can make it very difficult to find suitable accommodation but the set-up at Silver Rill was ideal with a room for my wife and I and a separate room with three beds for the children. The room facilities were more than we were expecting; the bed in our room, so wide it could have slept all five of us, the china tea service, extensive wardrobe space (which proved a great hiding place as my and Lisa and John's kids played hide-and-seek!) and the views of newborn lambs on the rolling countryside through the window. And the shared living room where we spent our evenings and an afternoon reading the papers and watching the large TV completed the facilities perfectly.

The location was idyllic, from rolling hills, and fields of rape, to the beautiful village buildings and local church - it really was an escape from our usual hustle and bustle of London.

I cannot speak too highly of Lisa and John's hospitality. Their children were so entertaining, particularly while we were being treated to an afternoon lounging in the garden with the family, being fed from their barbecue and drinking their wine and beer. This was even more touching as this feast was shared with my cousin and my aunt who had popped by for a brief visit that lasted much longer than expected.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable place to stay and one to which we are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Silver Rill House is in an idyllic quiet village near Tewksbury.
We were welcomed by Lisa who immediately took us to the lovely guest lounge for coffee and cake, before telling us about the house and village . Our room was beautifully decorated ,with a
superb king-sized bed,which was very comfortable .The view from the room looked out onto the garden with Bredon Hill adjoining the property. Breakfast was cooked by John and the choice was yours. !
The village does not have an pub/restaurant, but there are 3 within 2/3 miles.
We just wish we could have stayed longer.
C&B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Our family have just returned from a gorgeous weekend at Silver Rill. Three generations: grandchildren, parents and grandparents to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary. Lisa and John were so warm and welcoming. A time to chill and relax with family, away from the hustle and bustle of life. What a perfect time we had. You don't often find such a beautiful, private setting with such exceptional and personal service as Silver Rill.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was our second visit to Silver Rill and Lisa and John welcomed us like old friends.They are so warm and friendly. As it was Boxing Day Lisa had drinks and snacks waiting for us and invited the friends we were visiting to celebrate with us. The luxurious but cosy furnishings of Silver Rill made it an ideal location for the festive season.
The sensitivity and style of the decor retains the style of the original property yet provides the luxury of modern and very comfortable facilities
The guest lounge with log fire and comfy sofas make it an ideal location to relax after a day of visiting the picturesque Cotswold villages. Enjoyed even more with the coffee and cake. One of the many extras Lisa provided for our comfort.
The breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room with log fire burning and views of the stunning countryside. We enjoyed a sumptious breakfast, all freshly cooked and an endless supply of toast, fresh coffee and tea.
We had a wonderful time at Silver Rill and have already booked for our next visit. I cannot praise Lisa and John enough, I find them extremely friendly, helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on a weekend trip to the Cotswolds last October. I booked the Silver Rill because of the reviews I'd seen on Trip Advisor. We were absolutely delighted with the hotel and the welcome we recieved from Lisa and her lovely family. The hotel itself is stunning, Lisa has exceptionally and luxuriously styled all the rooms with decor which enhances the original features of the house. The dining room is wonderful too - we ate breakfast at the end of a long table next to a roaring fire with a view into the lovely garden. The breakfast was delicious and all the ingredients were top quality. The family are very friendly and intuitive to guests needs - they managed to make us feel part of the family just for that 1 night but still managed to remain invisible for most of the time so we felt like the house was ours. We both highly recommend this hotel. Thanks Lisa & family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We thought that the Silver Rill House and the hosts were absolutely wonderful. The guesthouse was luxurious and spacy, the welcome was warm, the location and view out of the family room was spectacular and the cakes and breakfast were great. We extended our stay we liked it so much, and will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Rill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Rill House

Address: Overbury Village, Tewkesbury GL20 7PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tewkesbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Rill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silver Rill House to your Saves list