We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Advertising football games that they don't show” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Old Black Bear Inn

Ye Old Black Bear Inn
68 High Street, Tewkesbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 62 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“False Advertising football games that they don't show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Phoned up the Black Bear to ask if they would be screening the Man U v Reading game even though the Wales v England game was playing and they assured me there would be 1 screen showing the game. When entering the pub at 3.30pm me an 8 friends asked if they were showing the man u v reading game and the bar man Nathan assured me it would be on and we positioned ourselves in front of the screen. During the rugby We asked the manager if the game would still be screened and he assured us again that it would. At half time in the rugby (10 min into the man u v reading game) I asked for the channel to be changed to the football game and he said NO as there were more people watching the rugby than would be watching the football. FALSE ADVERTISING A FOOTBALL GAME FOR PROFIT despite the 9 of us spending 6 rounds at the pub at approx £30 per round so £150 spent for a game we didn't watch and the pub had no intention of showing it. False advertising!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Old Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Cobby1973

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate these comments further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Many Thanks

John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    10
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I regularly visit the Black Bear both for nights out and also for food and thought i'd actually place a review. Visited with my girlfriend last week for food and opted for the 2 meals for £8 and chose the beef burger and spicy bean burger. The service was excellent although the pub was very quiet (around 1 p.m.) and the condiments and cutlery were brought to our table rather than having to search round the pub.
When the burgers arrived they were of more than reasonable size for the money paid and were well presented. The quality of the burger that i had (standard beef burger with an additional cheese topping) was fantastic considering it was equivalent of £4 for the burger and tasted really good. the chips that accompanied the burger were perfectly cooked (have had previous experience in other pubs of the chips being hard and tasteless but this was not the case here). I left extremely happy with the meal we had and will definitely return for food again. Thank you

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wish we hadn't stopped”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We thought this place looked amazing and 5 of us went in for lunch around 2pm on Sunday. The food took forever. Well over an hour and when it came to be honest we all wished it hadn't. I know you can't expect the earth for £8 but the roast dinner was barely edible and we actually heard a number of complaints. There was a lovely guy (irish?) behind the bar who tried everything to help everyone and was running around doing what seemed like everything-but other than that there was barely any staff. Really disappointing- and freezing cold with a very strange smell as you walk in the door.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Ye Old Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear angel_eyes1985

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It was a concern to hear of your recent visit to the pub and I would like to look into these comments further with the Management Team of the pub.

Many Thanks

Spirit Pub Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Six Nations Rugby 2013”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are advertising the Six Nations Rugby Tournament and you have 3 dedicated rooms for watching live sports Programs don’t push the Six Nations Rugby Tournament even if it is “ only Ireland v Scotland” as one of the staff said, to a small TV screen stuck in a corner as you don’t want to upset the two gentlemen watching football on one of the 3 screens showing the same game or even want the commentary on the Rugby game in case it upsets the 2 football supporters .
I enjoyed the meal I ordered but won’t be coming back to enjoy the rest of the Six Nations rugby Tournament I wonder why ?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

On visiting this pub for a birthday celebration I was appalled to find the management team were very drunk n aggressive , there was a massive fight whilst there which seemed to have been started due to the landlord !! A young girl was injured due to this brawl which an ambulance had to be called whilst being treated the landlord was still giving verbal abuse to her family even though the police were there ! I or family n friends will never step foot in this pub again whilst under this management team !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Old Black Bear Inn also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to Ye Old Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Old Black Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.