We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local pub with good home cooked food, great friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nottingham Arms

The Nottingham Arms
129 High Street, Tewkesbury GL20 5JU, England
+44 1684 276 346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 61 restaurants in Tewkesbury
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic local pub with good home cooked food, great friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love this pub, Landlord and landlady really friendly. Always welcoming. Brilliant traditional english food with substantial portions. Great choice of drinks, and the atmospere is brilliant. It is my local away from home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    54
    43
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tewkesbury uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best pub in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a traditional local pub.
It has a fine selection of real ales, wines and spirits.
Everyone is given a warm welcome from the friendly staff.
The atmosphere is convivial and not at all clique.
Food is home made hot, tasty and excellent value, definately NOT microwaved rubbish.
All in all an excellent pub with decoration and traditional furniture matching the building along good old fashioned values.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food in a pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited the Nottingham Arms on the first night of our 3 day trip. We only wanted a pub evening meal on day one and having read the reviews on Trip Advisor we choose the Nottingham Arms.
It turned out to be a good choice
My wife is a vegetarian and we were pleasently suprised that they had a sererate menu with vegetarian options.
I had Gammon and my wife had Vegetable Lasagne, both we generous portions.
Prices were very reasonable and we both thought it was value for money.
We had to wait a little while for our food, but I have no issue with that as it shows the food is cooked fresh
Staff were friendly and service was good.
It is what it says on the tin, a good pub selling good food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great pub , friendly atmosphere excellent home cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great pub selling a good selection of well kept beers. Usually visit early evening with my wife and 2 children and Ive always found the atmosphere suitable. Weve eaten in the pub several times and Ive always been really pleased by the quality of the food and service. The menu features some great british classics including gammon, lamb shank and steaks that are all cooked to perfection. Its not reheated packet food so dont expect it within 5 minutes of ordering. There is a clear division between what is usually used as the eating area and the bar for those who prefer to be away from the drinking only customers but really no need.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is a real GEM of a pub/eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Nottingham is a real gem of what can only be described as an Old English Pub. We regularly eat here and we have never been disappointed. Food is fresh and is local produce cooked to order and very tasty not microwaved. The front section of the pub does have floorboards and is dog friendly however to the rear it is newly carpeted (nice change from going into most pubs where you can't lift your feet off the floor because the carpet is that sticky with drink). It is immaculate in every way the landlord and the landlady all the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I am a local businesswoman and would not consider myself to be rowdy, I often take my mother to eat here and she is 86yrs fussy beyond belief but she has never been disappointed with the food either and my husband and I often eat here with my friends and their children aged 12 and 8.

The quiz night on a Thursday is really good fun and the higher/lower game worth winning.

If you are looking for a pub with a good atmosphere, fresh food, friendly staff and good value for money then look no further the Nottingham has it all and more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nottingham Arms also viewed

Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire
 
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire
Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Nottingham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nottingham Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.