We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely dog friendly pub! What a find :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gardeners Arms

The Gardeners Arms
21 Beckford Road | Alderton, Tewkesbury GL20 8NL, England
+44 1242 620257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 63 Restaurants in Tewkesbury
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A 16th century thatched building nestled in the heart of the Cotswold village of Alderton. Just a 10 minute drive from Cheltenham and off junction 9 of the M5 we are ideally situated for any dining occasion. Open from 9.30Am serving fresh coffee with a smile, our award winning Freehouse epitomises everything that is good about homecooking, hospitality and value for money.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Genuinely dog friendly pub! What a find :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were staying at the caravan site down the road from here and wanted somewhere to eat that didn't treat us as lepers 'cos we have two dogs. The Gardeners Arms was a great find; dogs are welcome (with their humans!) in the bar area so we were able to relax and enjoy a nice pub lunch safe in the knowledge that we weren't annoying anyone.

Food was good, prices very reasonable. We went back with friends (and their dog) the following day so I think you can say we enjoyed it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub but not so good at anything else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I visited this place on a spur of the moment after seeing the Brown sign on the side of the road, i wish we didn't bother! The waitresses were lovely however the female owner was very rude and abrupt, to her staff and customers! She is very forward in telling you how successful her two restaurants are, well when my food came out and we complained because it was of poor quality she gave her staff no support and just sent messages to our table through the waitresses! this was very poor service and i was very surprised as she is the owner? Such a shame because lovely staff and a lovely pub just disappointed in the lack of care from owner...
Lastly i was very put off when there long haired dog came from the kitchen? not good!!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TewkesburyBoathouse, Owner at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
As owners of the Gardeners Arms we have only recently taken back over the running of the business from managers employed at the end of summer last year. We inherited many service related issues and have been working hard with all staff concerned to retrain them, especially on the issue of problem resolving and complaint handling whereby staff take ownership of there customers.
Whilst we try to satisfy all customers needs, sometimes we get things wrong, but we pride ourselves on addressing these issues and resolving them satisfactorily before customers leave.

As regards the dog, we are pet friendly but only in the bar area and for the last 3 years have achieved a 5 star rating for our kitchen hygiene and management guidelines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

We've eaten at the Gardeners Arms before and it was good, but after lunch today, we won't be going back.

The table was covered in dust, our glasses both had lipstick on them, and the food was overpriced and nothing special. Desserts were especially bad, with lukewarm custard and pastry the consistency of shoe leather.

Despite it being sunny outside, the restaurant was freezing. Such a shame, as this place used to be great!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TewkesburyBoathouse, Owner at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
we pride ourselves on our food and service quality and as an award winning free house we rely on customer feedback to continually review and improve our service deliver. On this occasion it would appear that we let both ourselves and customers down badly.
Measures have been taken to ensure these issues don't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice staff, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were served food by a friendly young enough girl, there are comfy couches and nice relaxing atmosphere. The food was good for pub grub and a reasonable enough price. Only don't bother with dessert!! That was the only bit that wasn't fab, but still nice for a pub dinner

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice beers, poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Nice pub, great selection of beers, friendly waitress. However, the food was nothing special. We ordered liver and onion with mashed potatoes from the specials board, and the mash was not only made out of powder, but the powder was still on the plate. When we pay £10.95 for a main course at lunchtime, we expect better. They could reduce number of items on their menu to half (they had about 15 main courses on the menu plus almost 10 on the specials board), and improve quality. We would go back for drinks, but not for food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gardeners Arms also viewed

Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
Tewkesbury, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Gardeners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gardeners Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.