We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful customer service and awful management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Wolverhampton Road West, Walsall WS2 0BS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Oxford
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Awful customer service and awful management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Since my first review of this hotel I have stayed on a further two occasions. First was a couple of months ago. I booked a standard room with the hope of an upgrade as a platinum member. The receptionist couldn't have been more miserable she made it very plain that she was not going to upgrade me with the usual lie that there are no executive rooms available. I informed her that they were available to book online and therefore must be available. She just shrugged and said there were none. The night manager was equally unhelpful and unfriendly giving me some rubbish about the online booking system not being up to date. Just couldn't be bothered would have been far more likely. After my stay I sent an email to the general manager regarding his receptionists and night managers bad attitude but he didn't bother to reply. I guess the rest of the management team and staff take their lead from his couldn't care less attitude. The second stay last night had a much cheerier guy on reception and I was immediately offered an upgrade and checked in to a really nice clean and comfortable executive room. A great start! At around 7pm I decided to go down for dinner. When I got to the bar it was packed with various Christmas parties complete with full restaurant and noisy disco. After a 25 minute wait to get served at the bar I asked if I could get some food. I was told they were not doing any food as they were full of Christmas party bookings. The barman suggested room service. This was fine as it was so busy and noisy. I phoned down to place my order and got told that on top of the £13.95 I was being asked to pay for a burger I would then have to pay £4.50 tray charge and then 10% service charge. I said I didn't think a £4.50 tray charge was appropriate as I was quite happy to eat in the restaurant they just wouldn't let me. The lady on the phone said she would fetch the restaurant manager. Her attitude was as good as the night manager on my previous visit. She would not budge on the tray charge. Just repeating over and over how busy they were and if I wanted to eat I would have to pay the £4.50. She might as well have said we are busy enough and couldn't give a damn if you eat here or not. On closer inspection of the menu there is no mention of a tray charge just very small print telling you that the 10% service charge goes to pay the staff bonus! Is it just me that thinks that is disgusting? If holiday inn value their staff and want to pay them a bonus that's great but why the hell should I pay it for them? In the end I decided the £20 total charge for a burger and chips was too much to swallow and went elsewhere. Checkout next day was terrible. A queue of 4 people waiting to pay and an unmanned reception. We all waited 10 minutes, still nobody, so we just left. It is such a shame as this is a recently refurbished hotel in a great location. All it needs is a new management team without the couldn't care less attitude.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Andy,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience, I am sorry to read it was no-where near the standards you should expect when visiting us.
I have recently joined the hotel as the General Manager and value our guests feedback, as it gives us an immediate direction to focus our development on.
Following your previous visit I was pleased to see the attitude of reception has improved, but equally embarassed of your experience within the restaurant. Regardless of the levels of business, the least I would expect is clear communication to all of our guests whilst staying with us and to accommodate each and every one of their requests individually, which apparently did not happen in this case.
Andy, perhaps the next time you are visiting the area, you would do me the courtesy to contact me directly at the hotel and I can take care of all your arrangements for you. It would also be good to meet with you and catch up regarding your previous experiences and I could let you know of the changes we are making.
Thank you once again for your feedback, it is invaluable to continually develop our business.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    146
    82
    43
    26
See reviews for
99
97
20
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived to a lovly welcome drink, with a chance to relax in the lounge, we were showed through to the resturant which was decorated and looked amazing the table stocked with wine which was a very nice touch, we cant thank the staff enough, rob and avi and the team did very well and are a privlage to the hotel. And WOW what a dinner what can i say tasted fab and very good portion sizes,and with out a doubt better than the village hotel where we spent last xmas, it was an great deal and would recomend to any one..
Was good to see the chef out talking to the guest's and getting feedback at the end of the night was a nice little touch, great music,attmosphere and overall night

Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Shez 25,
Thank you for commenting on your recent party night with us. I am delighted to hear all the hard work we put in to our customer service is actually received.
As you mentioned the evening was a great success and we have received a number of positive comments, including repeat bookings already for next year which is great.
I was also pleased to receive your comments mentioning Rob and Avi, whom I will take time to congratulate. It was also nice to get feedback on the chef, who takes a lot of pride in his work and Michael has requested to come 'out front' and solicit for feedback, to continually develop the experience we offfer. These guys work so hard to deliver great customer service, it is nice to have the feedabck to give to them.
Thank you once agian for the comments, I wish you a very Merry Christmas and New Year for the rest of the festive season and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed for just one night utilising a double and a single room on the ground floor. Both were clean and well set out. We were at the back of the hotel so it was quiet. The room heating system worked well.

We arrived late and were told we would not be able to order in the restaurant for a further 30 mins as there was a wedding reception. We ordered lasagne and chilli from the bar menu, . Both were adequate although perhaps pricey for what they were. It is always difficult when arriving late to find good food. We would have tried to find somewhere else but were too tired.

The beds were comfortable and we had a good night’s sleep. The reception staff were helpful providing a print out of directions to our next destination.

I would use this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had a brill nite ,staff were very friendly and good service,the food was fantastic no complaints from me.I would go there again but sleep there.roll on next yr xx.I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had a brill nite at the holiday inn,the food was fantastic and the service was really good.I would recommend this holiday inn to anyone with the food and drink.Thanks for a brill nite its made my xmas.It was very clean and staff were polite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Debbie,
Thank you Debbie for taking the time to comment on your recent party night at the hotel. I was delighted to read you had a great evening and that the food and service received was great.
It was also nice of you to mention the team, I will certainly pass these comments on, as they work very hard over this period, it will give them a great lift.
I hope the rest of your festive season goes as well and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kindest regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here with a group going to Birmingham Tattoo with National Holidays. Room fine, clean and comfortable as was bathroom. No face cloth provided, maybe they get stolen regularly, and bath towels could be larger. I was given more coffee sachets when I spoke to the receptionist. Evening meal (included in price) was not very good, two choices available although I think a vegetarian managed to get some fish. Breakfast basic but OK but more staff needed as queue built up quickly and it was only served for one hour. Coffee at breakfast was good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Walnutwonder,
I would like to thank you for commenting on your recent visit with us at the Holiday Inn M6 Jct 10. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the bedrooms and they were clean and comfortable, I am sure with a busy weekend it helped you to relax, when with us.
It was also nice to see reception accommodated your requests for extra coffee and the coffee at breakfast was enjoyed.
The timings at breakfast were disappointing to read as the breakfast room is open from 6.30am until 9.30am Monday to Friday then, 7am until 10.30am on Saturday and Sunday, so I am not sure if your schedule only allocated the 1 hour you mention. Perhaps next time you could take advantage of our room service delivery and enjoy that much needed extra 10 minutes.
Thank you once again for your comments, having recently joined the hotel it is great feedback to focus our efforts on.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here on a saturday evening for a weekend at the Olympic athletics trials at the Alexander Stadium, Birmingham. The hotel was a 20 minute drive away. The check in staff were very pleasant. We didn't have our evening meal there but enjoyed the breakfast next morning. Breakfast was extremely busy due to the athletics but the staff tried their best to replenish supplies and clear tables. We used the fitness club for the pool and jacuzzi for a lazy relaxing sunday morning before check out at midday.Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear mandkandkids,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your visit with us recently.
It was nice to see the check-in, breakfast and leisure club were all enjoyed by yourself's, I am sure the weekend was a busy one and that the small relaxation time on the Sunday was a great relief.
We are glad you enjoyed the weekend and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Scott Randall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10

Address: 20 Wolverhampton Road West, Walsall WS2 0BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Walsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Walsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished hotel, with 156 en-suite bedrooms all with air conditioning, wi fi, en-suite. J10 Leisure with pool, sauna, gym and jacuzzi. Large open plan lounge, bar and restaurant all air conditioned and wi fi enabled. Conference facilities for up to 180 delegates. Free car parking. Hotel is located just off Jct.10 M6 just prior to northbound exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10 West Midlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Walsall M6, Jct.10, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.