We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Premier inn standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Watford North

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Watford North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Watford North
St Albans Road | Garston, Watford WD25 0LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Watford
Glasgow,Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Typical Premier inn standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the HP tour. It cost us £9 in a taxi from Watford Junction Train Station and £8 in taxi to the Universal studios.
The hotel is clean,staff friendly and polite.
Few negatives,only 2 tea bags supplied in room on each day. I'm sure if we asked for more this wouldn't have been a problem but shouldn't have to ask. Water from kettle didn't taste very nice due to build up of lime scale and there wasn't enough power outlets. Only 3 in room.
We opted out of breakfast due to the poor reviews on here but we did eat in TGI'S Friday's for our evening meal on Thursay night. Food was nice enough and service was fine. We did have a few drinks and a cocktail with our meal so was a big bill but overall as happy with restaurant.
We walked along to cinema complex,5-10 min walk from hotel,on the Friday night and ate in Chiquito's. food and service was good there too.
We always stay at premier Inn's when we can and will continue to do so as always fine there standards pretty decent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops-Manager-PI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Watford North, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and our helpful team members met your expectations.For future reference extra consumables are always available at reception - Just let us know! Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    117
    52
    12
    7
See reviews for
171
60
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed the night before doing the Harry Potter experience.They even give you a map of the quickest way to get there. Ideal location as studios are only 10 minutes away. Late check in - staff exceptionally helpful. Room spotless & very good value.
Had breakfast through premier inn at TGI Fridays - reasonable value
TGI Friday next door for food, Mcdonalds within walking distance & Harvester 10 minutes diwn the road. So plenty of choice for a meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops-Manager-PI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Watford North, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Your review is actually our promise to our guests: " Great food and drink and a good night's sleep provided in a clean, comfortable and well looked after environment by people who really care".
We strive to maintain high standards and keep our promise to our guests and we are happy to know that we have exceeded your expectations.We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Watford North in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent customer service by Edyta! She's a credit to your company. She made me feel very welcome and provide information about local amenities! Over all the stay was great. However what would have made my stay more comfortable is having an air conditioned room. Throughout the night it became too hot. A fan was provided but it made too much noise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops-Manager-PI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Watford North, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback from your stay with us at Premier Inn Watford North.
I am glad Edyta left a good impression of our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay im sure she will be very pleased to hear your lovely feedback too.I am sorry to hear you felt your room was too hot,whist we do not have or advertise Air Conditioning at this Premier Inn, we do have processes in place for dealing with hot weather and excessive room temperatures and Reception & Housekeeping teams should be working together to reduce the impact as much as possible. Additional sheets are stocked behind reception and offered to our guests in place of a duvet, windows should be left open during the day and curtains closed in rooms that face the sun to keep the temperature in the room as low as possible, there should also be a fan placed in every room. I do apologise that this was not the case in this occasion. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we stayed here because of its close proximity to Harry Potter World - and it was absolutely wonderful, one of the best Premier Inn's I've stayed in. As a wheelchair user, I appreciated the extra wide doorways and bathroom, and also the help we received from several members of staff. The only let-down was TGI Friday's - the service was really slow, and the hotel had different menus to those in the restaurant! Breakfast was terrible - the food itself was OK, but it looked vastly different to the photos on the menu (streaky bacon instead of back, one small spoonful of beans, half of one small tomato - plus croissants that were anything but fresh), but when I spoke to the receptionist when we were leaving, she was very apologetic, took details from me, and promptly refunded the cost (even though I'd not asked her to).
Would have no hesitation in recommending this Premier Inn.

Room Tip: if you are a wheelchair user, ask for one of their adapted rooms - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops-Manager-PI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Watford North, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for your amazing review! It pleases me to hear our team have left a good impression of our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure that all our guests requirements are met and that we give everyone world class service.I am sorry to hear that breakfast did not meet your expectations pease be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay we look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for our daughter's 8th birthday, to visit (naturally) the Harry Potter exhibition, which this hotel is but a stone's throw away from. The room itself was clean & comfortable, although rather hot (but a fan was provided). Meals at TGIs were good. The highlight of the stay for us was the staff who were exceptionally helpful, and even left our daughter a small birthday cake & card with balloons for her birthday. Things like that which go way beyond the call of duty make a stay memorable. I would (and have) recommend this to anyone who is visiting Harry Potter, and also looking to explore London as it's 20 minutes on the train from Euston and cheaper than London hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops-Manager-PI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Watford North, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for your amazing review. I am glad the team have left a good impression of our hotel , we were so proud to hear your comments and this is what keeps all of us motivated! We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Premier Inn staff provided us with excellent service at an excellent price. We stayed there whilst going to the "Making of Harry Potter" at Leavesden studios.
I would recommend Premier Inn Watford to anyone passing through, or anyone looking to stay there that may be visiting The Making of Harry Potter"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops-Manager-PI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Watford North, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback from your stay with us at Premier Inn Watford North.
You are absolutely right. Our prices are very reasonable: As Lenny Henry says "Everything is Premier But the Price". We trust you enjoyed the Harry Potter tour and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have to agree with some of the other reviews particularly about the breakfast at TGI Fridays. They were understaffed and service was therefore very slow and the buffet food took a long time to replace when empty. The cooked breakfast was OK when it finally arrived.
Our room was OK, the only problem we had was that the shower didn't work properly and we were only given one set of towels. I also had to go down and ask for some decaf coffee which is normally provided. The man on reception was very nice and I would have said something about the shower and towels when we checked out but he having a hard time dealing with another complaint so I really didn't have the heart to say anything. It hasn't put me off staying again but I wouldn't book the breakfast again. There is a Harvester just down the road and a Macdonalds opposite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ops-Manager-PI, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Watford North, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value and quality stay and I do apologise that this was not the case in this occasion.Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Watford North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Watford North

Address: St Albans Road | Garston, Watford WD25 0LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Watford
#5 Family Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Watford North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel Watford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Watford North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.