We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN White House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN White House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN White House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Watford
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Happy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Could not quite understand some of the comments regarding dated accommodation. We only
stayed one night and a very comfortable one it was. The staff are very friendly and the hotel
very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you are visiting Watford in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    68
    53
    17
    8
See reviews for
21
36
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

On arrival we were unsure where to park our vehicle but after popping in the reception staff were very helpful and have us a permit for a car park opposite the hotel. We checked in early but the staff were helpful and stored our luggage until we returned later in the day to check in.
Check in was easy and we were given a large room towards the back of the hotel, after only being there moments the housekeeper came to see if we had enough hot drink facilities in the bedroom. The room itself had a sofa, widescreen tv with only selected freeview channels and what seemed a 3/4 bed. The bathroom was clean and the shower was a bit awkward but once sorted was pleasant. The hotel, esecially the bathroom was dated but without a doubt the hotel was exceptionally clean.

The breakfast was plentiful, with a wide buffet selection of cereals, pastries, fruit and toast and a cooked breakfast made to order with as many or little items as you requred.
The bar was open till late and very comfortable with a wide selection of beers, wines and spirits at reasonable the prices,

An easy commute into London, and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again if you are visiting Watford in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Nothing special but ok for the money and convenient for a weekend involving a visit to Wembley

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

What the hotel does not tell you is that next door to the hotel is a "Gentlemans Club" where girls ply their trade. Oppisite the hotels rear car park is a NHS drug centre. Also a wheel clamping company works out of the hotel car park as well as the car park directly behind the hotel. Beware if you get clamped its a £250.00 release fee charged.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property, we are always pleased to receive customer feedback whether positive or negative. I can see that you stayed with us in August 2011 and I am pleased to be able to inform you that the 'Gentleman's Club' was closed before Christmas. I would also like to advise you that we have no association with any clamping companies and if any vehicles were clamped it was because they were not in our car parks. We have 3 small car parks covered by CCTV, guests are asked to display a parking permit and log their registration number at reception.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Upon arrival you can park across the road in the Travelodge car park for free.
Nice lounge/bar in reception. Good breakfast, served in the restaurant. Great central location for restaurants/bars and the Colesseum.
We booked two twin rooms, which were clean - but the decor is very dated.
We stayed in room 268 on the second floor - the hot water tap, spluttered and quite literally soaked you and the surrounding walls when used. In order to flush the toilet we had to pump the handle several times in order to get it to work.
At 06:00am the fire alarm woke us up - 20 minutes later it was eventually turned off.
Not one member of staff ensured that residents were out of the building. Only 15 people met at the fire point outside. No apologies - from any member of staff, for the alarm waking residents. When we checked in the receptionist told us - breakfast was included, however when we checked out, a different receptionist said we had to pay extra for breakfast, which we refused to pay. This hotel really needs money invested, in desperate need of refurbishment and the management need to train their staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

When you arrive there are only a few spaces to park outside, but on check-in you get allocated a space in a car park across the road for free. Rooms fine. very clean. Comfy bed. Spotless bathroom. Dinner and breakfast pretty good with good service. free wifi. Very nice staff at reception. I was nicely surprised.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. On behalf of all the staff and management I would like to thank you for your comments and am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will stay with us again in the future if you are in the Watford area.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just returned from staying at this hotel from Friday and Saturday.
It was OK - we had a 'superior' double - not quite how I would describe it.
The decor was very dated - very old television with poor reception. The room was clean though.
Bathroom had a very dated beige suite - but still clean. Pretty good value all in all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased to receive all feedback, whether positive or negative. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to advise you that we are gradually replacing our large TV's with flatscreens. We hope you will stay with us again if you are in the Watford area.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White House Hotel

Address: 27-31 Upton Road, Watford WD18 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN White House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watford
Watford Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN White House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.