We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked for visit for Harry Potter tour. Excellent base.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn London Watford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn London Watford to your Saves list
Jurys Inn London Watford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarendon Road, Watford WD17 1JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Watford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Booked for visit for Harry Potter tour. Excellent base.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

First time in a Jurys Inn. Won't be my last the hotel was only a 5 minute walk from the station and was on the edge of a busy shopping area. It's also a new hotel so looks good and you feel as though you are getting more for your money. Stayed for 3 nights. I really can't fault it at all. Spacious well appointed bedroom. 2 beds. A double and a single in our family room. Good shower and bath. Free view tv. Wifi is £10 per 24 hours. Typical of a business hotel. Plenty of 3G coverage though. Or. Nearby McDonald's if you get stuck. Breakfast was excellent. Plenty of fresh choice. Cereals, cooked, continental. Usual useless conveyor toaster. Bread goes in brown comes out white.
High praise for 2 staff here. Blonde haired female and dark haired in a ponytail. Both were excellent and very attentive. Took it upon themselves to interact with my son and asked about his stay etc. although shy he said they were nice ladies. High praise indeed. I suppose the lollipop helped!!
The only negative part was dinner in the restaurant. I ordered pork belly. It was undercooked, the fat was rubbery and jelly like. The pork itself was tasteless. The dish as a whole was really poor. However, my wife's chicken was lovely as was my sons pizza. The waitress recognised something was up by the amount of food left on my plate. She raised this with her manger and he came and spoke to me. I didn't make any fuss or ask for him nor did I complain but he took the meal off the bill and offered me another meal free. I politely declined and settled for dessert. Excellent customer service, excellent way in identifying a problem and solution was reached without me having to say anything. Faultless service. Highly impressed. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 318. Faces onto roadway High up and is 25 yards from lift and ice machine. No noise hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    243
    88
    34
    10
See reviews for
168
114
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times now and think it is great value for money on the special B&B rate if you can get it. Staff have been friendly and welcoming and helpful with info for surrounding areas and car parking. rooms clean and fresh, good selection at breakfast and always feels relaxed and friendly. Close to walk to Watford junction to catch train to Euston etc. Only problem is paying for carparking as hotel has no car park. Car park close by though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for the Warner brothers studio tour, I read the reviews and Thought doesn't sound too bad well it's not bad it's good very good service was excellent rooms were nice and clean food very good only a couple of things that I didn't like there's no on site parking and the cost of drinks in the bar wow they ain't cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Helpful staff,near to train station,well presented dinner menu compliment to the chef.I will really suggest every one to this hotel.Me and my husband came to jurys last weak for our surprise marriage anniversary.I already suggested my friends and family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for work purposes and had a great stay. Nice clean room, good breakfast, location perfect just opposite the Harlequin shopping centre and a five min walk to watford station. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My experience didn't get off to a good start when reception were adamant that I was booked in for 2 nights even though all my paperwork said one!
I was then kept waiting fro a good 5 minutes while the receptionist checked with his manager and after that they asked could they photocopy my confirmation email!!!!!

Then 10 minutes after getting to our room, room service knocked and just entered without waiting!

Finally, breakfast was basic to say the least, A full English without mushrooms?? To make matter worse the beans were congealed..

Will not be using Jury's again after this experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JurysWatford_Manager, General Manager at Jurys Inn London Watford, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear GoonerPaul1964,

Let me begin by thanking you for your feedback on your recent stay here at Jurys Inn Watford; I am sorry that there were elements of your visit which did not meet your expectations.

I have passed on your comments regarding your check in to our Front Office Manager who will endeavor to investigate the incident with her team. Whilst I am confident that the intensions of the receptionist were to ensure that you were not overcharged for your stay I agree that this could have been handled more appropriately so as you were not left waiting at the desk for a resolution.

Unfortunately without asking for further information regarding your room number etc I would be unable to comment on the Room Service incident and the reason for the intrusion; I accept that this is not an expected level of service and I sincerely apologise for any distress this may have caused.

We have recently been working hard to improve our breakfast offering and currently offer a cereal station, bread & pastries station, continental selection, porridge station and a selection of hot food; our staff are also on hand to accommodate any additional requests for items not on the buffet.

If you would like to discuss any of your concerns further please feel free to contact me direct at the hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope I have went some way to reassure you that your observations will be acted upon with the departments concerned.

Kind regards,

Andy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights as we were visiting the harry potter studio tour(which was fab) this hotel was very handy to get the bus to the tour at watford junction. we flew from luton, and got the public bus to watford junction, on way back got a taxi to Luton it was £35.00. The breakfast was lovely, luch at bar was very good price, good location for shopping centre, and places to eat, we ate at nandos one night, and yates for lunch they were both lovely, yates was very cheap. Rooms big, clean, staff friendly esp Tracey. lovely birthday weekend.

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn London Watford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn London Watford

Address: Clarendon Road, Watford WD17 1JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Watford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn London Watford 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Clarendon Road, Jurys Inn Watford is perfectly situated to enjoy all that the city centre has to offer. Our hotel is perfectly placed for transport links to, from and beyond London with Watford Junction an easy 8 minute walk from Jurys Inn. With Watford's bustling city centre on Jurys Inn's doorstep, business and leisure guests will not be short of things to do or places to eat and drink. Discover the Watford Indoor Market and intu shopping centre just around the corner or explore the surrounding explosion of restaurants, bars, cafes, high street stores, parks and sports grounds, all within a ten minute walking radius. For evening entertainment away from bars and clubs, the Watford Colosseum is the perfect venue to catch a show and just ten minutes' walk from our Watford hotel! So whether you are visiting for business or pleasure Jurys Inn Watford is ideally placed to suit your needs and offer an easy and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, JurysInn, Agoda, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Jurys Inn London Watford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Watford Hotel Watford
Jurys Hotel Watford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn London Watford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.