We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to Watford Train Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Watford
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Close to Watford Train Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night while visiting friends in Watford. The hotel is about a 3 minute walk from Watford Train Station. The room was very spacious and clean however our room smelt a little of smoke which was strange. I was worried that we would hear the trains as we were so close to the station however it was very quiet. The receoption staff were polite and quick and the hotel is close to the shops and takeaways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for writing the review. I am sorry that you felt smoke in your room. It is very unfortunate that sometimes guests do smoke in the rooms even though they are non-smoking. I hope that this experience won't deter you from staying with us in the future.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    187
    64
    14
    10
See reviews for
143
83
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

2 minutes from the railway station, Nice breakfast. rooms very clean. only drawback is the parking, but you can park at The Flag a couple of minutes away for £6.00 per 24 hours. 10 minutes walk to town centre

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review and a full score. Please note that the Flag car parking is £3.00 for 24 hours if you purchase the ticket directly from our hotel.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is literally yards away from the Watford junction station and ideal to access London. Nice clean hotel with no frills bedrooms but comfortable.
The breakfast is basic buffet style with mainly cereals/fruit/yoghurts/croissants/muffins and then theres beans/scrambled egg/sausage - no meats, with as much toast as you can eat.
The car park is situated to the rear of the hotel, but only has about 20 spaces, the time we stayed we couldnt get a space, being a Sunday night I just parked where i could, but during the day I needed to move the car to avoid being nicked so I asked the receptionist where i could park, she says use the pub car park - which was also full, in the end I used the station car park which isnt cheap.
This hotel really is great if you use Watford junction station to get around, my advice is dont take the car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing the review. It is much appreciated. As you mentioned, the car parking has only limited number of spaces. Once full, we use the Flag car park next to ours or the station car parking.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Overall I was very impressed with the hotel. When I arrived outside I was disappointed with the car park. It was very small and I was very weary leaving my car there.
I was also slightly disappointed with the eating area as it reminded me of a cafeteria. Other than that everything else was excellent. The shower room was very clean and I felt the members of staff were exceptional as they remember you and talk to you on a professional and person level.
I was very happy with my stay and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted to hear that you found the hotel and above all the service from the staff excellent. With regards to the car parking, it is a limited spaces car park at the back hotel, I am afraid. We are going to improve the lighting of the car park to make it more secure. Your feedback about the hotel lobby/restaurant is welcome. It certainly gives us an idea how to improve the look of that area.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here as it is located very close to Watford Junction train and bus station, lovely clean room, helpful staff- esp Phillip in reception. Our stay included breakfast which was pleasant, a bit manic in the morning as its a small area in corner of the room. Felt the lifts were a bit tempramental as you have to slot your room card into the lift, we used the stairs quite a few times! We didn't know what to do before our flight home as we had a few hours to kill... 15 minute walk down past Watford Junction and the Harlequinn shopping centre is there, its massive with loads of good shops! Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your nice review. It is much appreciated. It is always nice to hear a praise especially when it comes to our helpful staff.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is styled very much like travelodge in the UK. Simple and clean.
Check-in was quick and room was clean and tidy.
The kitchen was poor so you'll be better having meals at the nearby bar.
No ironing in the room but a centralised iron facility at the 3rd floor. Not convenient for me!!
Does the job for my 3 days business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. You raised some valid points and I would only like to reiterate some of the positives that are of better quality in our hotel compared to a competitor hotel chain. The lobby is larger and more beautiful with a bar opent till 1am as well as serving a limited dinner menu. Breakfast with a selection of hot items is free for all our guests. The rooms decor is a contemporarty style suitable for both business and leisure travellers.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here for London and the Harry Potter Studios. The rooms are no frills but modern, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Staff were efficient, smiley and helpful. 2 mins walk to Watford Junction train station (which is a 20 min train journey into London), or for the shuttle bus to the Harry Potter Studios. The sofa bed wasn't great for a middle aged mum, I should have made the kids have that! Ate there the second night and although it was all frozen or pre-prepared, the food was better and half the price of what we paid in central London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESS_WATFORD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments. It is good to receive an honest feedback from our guests. I would only like to mention that we have improved our menu selection, so I hope that you will be even more satisfied next time you stay with us.
Best regards,
Gaby Slowikova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction

Address: 19 Bridle Path, Watford WD17 1UE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Watford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Watford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LONDON WATFORD JUNCTION is situated 2 min from Watford Junction train station just off the A412, with close connections to M25 and M1. All 98 rooms have ensuite facilities with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flat screen TV and airconditioning.Ideally located for both corporate and leisure travellers. BT, Total Oil, Sanyo, TK Maxx, Taylor Woodrow, Beko, Haden Young, Camelot, Coface, KPMG and J.D.Wetherspoon are just some of the offices within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is within a few minutes from 3 Golf courses, Purley Chase, Bushy Hall & the West Herts Golf Clubs, which are also popular venues for weddings. From the hotel one can reach TOP GOLF in 10 min, Watford Palace Theatre in 4 min, Pump House Theatre in 8 min, Watford Colosseum in 4 min, Oceana Club in 4 min, Harlequin Centre in 6 min & Watford Football Club Stadium in 6 min. The Hotel offers high speed internet access throughout and rooms are airconditioned. The hotel is an ideal base for Tour Groups with London Euston just 15 minutes by train. The Hotel has 2 Conference Rooms offering state of the art meeting facilities, natural daylight and 24 hour and Day Delegate rates. Parking is available in a pay & display car park just 2 min from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction Hotel Watford
Holiday Inn Express Watford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.