A girlfriend and I returned to Utopia Spa last week, we've been several times before. We did the £149 one day spa including two treatments and two course lunch, which in my opinion was excellent value. For the 55 minute treatments I had the full body massage and facial. The latter was the best spa treatment I've ever had anywhere, it was divine.
The format at Utopia Spa is very much tried and tested. At the last minute we decided to go on Thursday night to avoid the dreaded M25 on Friday morning. The hotel had no problem offering us a last minute room for £99 for two and it wasn't at all busy that night. It was very relaxing to arrive the night before and meant we made full use of the spa day. As we know from past experience the spa does get busy so it's best to arrive early to use the Japanese pool and jets whilst it's quiet. The spa receptionist was very bubbly and friendly and we had no issues at all with the actual spa day. Throwing in the bathrobe to take home is new since I last visited but a good idea, they must have had so many swiped and to combine that with the cost of cleaning it's probably actually cheaper to just buy in bulk and add to cost of the spa.
Since we last visited lunch is now served in the restaurant rather than the bistro bit by the spa. This little restaurant now seems to be more geared towards serving afternoon tea, obviously a good way of bringing in cash. No negativity is intended here, lunch the restaurant was super, no downside. You have to choose your lunch options on arrival and I didn't find that onerous, indeed it made me look forward to lunchtime. The food was excellent and the restaurant manager extremely courteous.
A couple of small niggles. When booking on the internet, and paying up front, I received an email confirming the payment. It would be nice to receive a welcoming email however detailing what you need to bring (or not bring, I always forget what is needed), what time to arrive etc. I had selected the arrival time of 10 am and our treatments on the booking form and everything worked very well but it would have been nice to have received confirmation of this and whether the treatments were available etc. As I say, I've been to Rowhill many times so it was no problem to ring up and check but really I shouldn't have to. Likewise my friend was told, on booking our overnight room, that she would receive email confirmation of the booking but that didn't arrive either.
Of course the hotel can't be responsible for the quality of their guests, unfortunately. The party who were disappointed to be told that you cannot drink alcohol around the pool were obviously up for a more raucous day than the rest of us. Their shrieking whilst in the jacuzzi didn't make for a very relaxing time and I left the pool area in the end. Of course people should enjoy themselves but it would just be common courtesy to realise that other guests probably don't want to hear their yelling and shrieking, it's just a jacuzzi not a rollercoaster. It's just good manners to keep your conversations to a level where only you, and not the rest of the entire spa can hear.
That said, it was a great day, a very relaxing spa break at an excellent price with very good quality treatments. The therapists are on the whole quite young but obviously well trained and again very courteous. I thanked the young lady who did my massage and she said she hardly ever gets any feedback from clients, especially of a pleasant nature. Seriously if the treatments are good please say so, the girls deserve to hear that you've enjoyed their hard work.
We will no doubt be back again very soon.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comprehensive review of your recent stay and Spa Day here at Rowhill Grange & Utopia Spa.
I was delighted to read such positive feedback about the service from the team and to hear how happy you were with quality of the treatments.
Please accept my apologies for the issues you have detailed with the confirmation letter. I have tested our systems today to ensure confirmation letters are being generated and there are no further repeats of this scenario.
I should also like to apologise for the behaviour of the other guests in the Spa that day and am pleased this didn’t detract from your overall enjoyment of the day.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.