We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Moor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grange Moor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grange Moor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Michaels Road, Maidstone ME16 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Maidstone
Dusseldorf
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tired!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hi this hotel is very tired, we had three rooms in different parts of the hotel, there was a Wedding on so it was difficult to go anywhere in the hotel, it was a very hot night but you could not go into the garden. Even sitting in the bar having a drink was really awkward. Breakfast was basic but ok.
There was parking which was great, nothing really around the area. Our rooms was right next to the Wedding so it was a very late night. Suggest that they offer ear plugs like some other hotels do if they no an event could be disturbing.

Room Tip: Don't want to be next to the Garden when a wedding is happening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    51
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
38
46
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a function there last night for a 30th wedding anniversary and the staff could not be more helpful!! Rooms great, clean and spacious... Staff friendly and will do anything for you... Great place!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We was travelling down due to I'm from maidstone and and have strong family ties so was attending a funeral ,we decided to stay in a hotel rather than put any of my family out and chose the grange moor for 2 nights overall the staff we couldn't fault and the room and hotel was clean and met our needs. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice we did discuss trying to book an extra night but sadly they were fully booked. We would defo stay again however sadly we do have a critism regarding noise control as the first night we was awoken by loud bellowing men laughing and talking at gone midnight ,luckily enough we had earplugs in our case from a previous holiday,then to cap it off the 2nd night at 11.30pm when we arrived back after a long day at the funeral and night we had all night long someone's tv was so loud we cud hear it word from word and it was still on at 6.30 am wen I first awoke and removed my ear plugs sadly I felt this was a let down and was surprised it couldn't be heard by staff in the building...

Room Tip: I think we was above a bar dining room hence the noise level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grange Moor for one night to attend a family wedding elsewhere in Maidstone. Due to a last minute mix up with our son we had booked two rooms so we had an opportunity to see more of the accommodation. We were made most welcome by all the staff. The rooms and the rest of the hotel seemed to be spotlessly clean and comfortable. Some thought had been given to what items the guests wanted. The parking was spacious and the garden area and exterior of the building was well maintained.
We were once again made welcome at breakfast in the dining room and the meal was very good. In short, if you are staying in the Maidstone area and looking for a home from home -- you have just found it!

Room Tip: A small amount of noise at the front of the building from the (not very busy) St Michaels Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fine for short stay. I stayed two nights and found it clean and efficient. Staff are generally very friendly and helpful (especially in the dining room), but I didn't expect to be confronted with some of the previous occupants' clothing still in a drawer in my room. The hotel has a main site and an annexe, which is a short walk away, but enough to feel disconnected from the main hotel. It's a little dated, but that's part of its charm, I suppose. Unless you have a ground floor room, there's no disabled access to the accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the annexe as it's not on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I've lost count of the number of times we've stayed at the Grange Moor hotel, and this visit lived up to previous standards. We had the usual friendly greeting from Debbie (but didn't see Jackie this time) and enjoyed a good meal in the restaurant, ably looked after by Sue (although the restaurant was busier than expected and so the wait between courses was rather long). However, special mention goes to Debbie and Nicola for organising and hand-delivering extra towels to our rooms after we came back from the River Festival looking like drowned rats, having been caught in a downpour! This hotel and the staff really do know how to look after their guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just stayed the one night in July, This hotel on the outskirts of Maidstone its fine with decent sized rooms, old world beams in the bar and dinning room, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely garden, and the foods ok as well. worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grange Moor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Moor Hotel

Address: St Michaels Road, Maidstone ME16 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grange Moor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Grange Moor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Moor Maidstone
Grange Moor Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Moor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.