We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and decent surroundings, but the food........!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling to your Saves list
Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling
Allington Lock | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £63
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice location and decent surroundings, but the food........!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The "food" at the Beefeater was so bad, I just spent 30 minutes writing to the Prmier Inn about it, and since the "restaurant" is the only thing to do out there, it pretty much negates the fine setting at the river.
The "food" is all pre-cooked crap that is heated up, except thank God for the steaks. It is so bad as to be unbelievable. The canned, battered mushroom starter was pretty horrible, but nowhere near as inedible as the "prawn cocktail" which I sent back. The "prawns" had absolutely no taste - it was as though they had been soaking in water for a few months. I guess their poor quality was supposed to be disguised by the "dressing", but since I tasted one on its own, I was saved from being tricked into eating any of it.
The corn on the cob was so over-cooked (even by english standards) that to really come up with a description is beyond me. It might as well have arrived with a neon sign saying "old, over-cooked and soaked-through to the cob". Not even a generous amount of salt could save this catastrophe.
The "cole-slaw" consisted of some stringy green substances subsidizing a big blob of pretty horrible tasting mayonaise. The Beefeater should go online and get a recipe from Kentucky Fried Chicken - believe me, it is 1000 times better.
At the end of the meal, we asked the bartenders for an Irish coffee and a spanish coffee. When we got them, they were cold and the girls didn't know which one was which. Since they looked and tasted exactly the same, I figured they were both Irish coffees. By that time it was pretty much what we expected.
I think alot of people don't know any better about food than this, otherwise, the Beefeater should have really gone out of business. They should hire a chef or buy some cook books, or just try to "make" some food.

Room Tip: A room away from the parking lot is you best choice. And the ground floor rooms are bigger I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Laura Gibbins-Social Media at Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received in the restaurant.

Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    66
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
65
54
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

hotel and beefeater next door both excellent home from home for us. lovely setting and easy to find off motorway. would recommend highly. staff very friendly and helpful when i thought id left my purse in my room after checking out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice friendly staff. Comfortable clean room. Comfortable bed. Very good food but had to eat later than we usually do due the the lovely hot day & it was rather busy. Lovely view & walk along the river. Enjoyed our stay even though it was only for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised by the location of this premier inn,just taking a short break with my 2 girls to see Leeds Castle and Port Lymphe Zoo and this was the most convenient location.Right beside the Medway,plenty of room in the attached Beefeater garden and lovely views from the restaurant at breakfast.friendly helpful staff.rooms recently refurbished.nice modern decor and clean

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room,family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Ok, it was a Sunday and the upper class chavs of Maidstone were about in their numbers (nothing too much and very cope-able), but the PI was clean and tidy. Beefeater meals - are very good. Nice to walk to the river lock about 250 yards away. We enjoyed it. very good

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a very beautiful location next to the river. The adjoining pub could do with a bit of tender care but the staff were very helpful indeed.
As usual with a lot of Premier Inns the rooms are all the same. It was spacious, clean and had tea and coffee making facilities.
The bed was comfy. The TV was a huge Samsung 42 inch screen TV in the room so if your one for watching TV then this is ideal.
The adjoining pub is about 10 yards away and is situated right on the river. Boats were coming and going and this was a pleasure to watch. Lots of rowers going up and down as well.
The en suite bathroom was very clean and imperial leather soap dispensers are fitted by the sink and shower.
The food in the pub which is a Beefeater was quite well cooked and there was plenty of choice on the menu. The puddings were very nice.
Breakfast was excellent the following morning with plenty of choice and freshly cooked.
This hotel is not within easy reach of the Town centre but is very well located along the river.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room no noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Happy efficient check in, recently refurbished rooms with big screen TV and a riverside location. Just off the motorway.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling

Address: Allington Lock | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel Maidstone
Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Maidstone - Sandling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.