We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Country Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chequers at Laddingford

The Chequers at Laddingford
The Street | Laddingford, Maidstone ME18 6BP, England (Formerly The Chequers Inn)
+44 1622 871266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 223 Restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Chequers is a traditional village pub with good real ale, traditional menu and specials board, very large garden with children's play equipment and a roaring log fire in the winter. The Chequers has won many pub and community awards over the years under the current landlords that have been there for 20 years. The beamed interior provides for a cosy, village atmosphere and should you feel energetic the locals run a cycling, running and swimming club from The Chequers. Well behaved children, dogs and cyclists are always welcome! There is one room available for bed and breakfast. There are often some sort of events being organised from charity events to themed dinner evenings, real ale and cheese festivals or triathlons and cycle events.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Country Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Taking the family out for lunch I chose this pub from the Good Beer Guide as both my son and I love cask beer. A good choice. The beer was well kept, and the Wadworth Swordfish was exceptional. Service was very friendly and efficient. The food was very good indeed. It was a real pleasure to see a general menu on offer as well as Sunday roasts. So many pubs opt for the Hobson's Choice of a roast dinner on a Sunday, personally I like a choice. The cheese board selection from the cheese and wine week long festival made a good end to a good meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub, great beer an good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great traditional country pub that is definitely the beating heart of the village. Beer is always well kept with rotating guest ales. Food is simple, hearty, pub grub with a big menu to suit most.

Plenty of events throughout the year, the Beer Festival in April being the highlight! Staff are always welcoming and the locals are certainly an interesting lot to chat to!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very disapponting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been to this pub at lunch time on several occasions and had a good meals so we took two friends there in the evening the food was poor and the service not good our order was taken then the waitress came back to ask what we had ordered as she appeared not to written it down, when drinks were ordered instead of pouring the drinks she went on to serve someone else exactly the same happened when we were paying I would have thought it better to finish one job before going on to another customer. As there are so many good pubs in the area we would not use this one again certainly in the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My local - we eat here sometimes and it's consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Chequers is our local pub and we mainly use it for socialising, meeting friends, going to events and of course the odd beverage (or ten), The food menu is "pub grub" with some very interesting and sometimes exotic specials. Charles puts on International food events from time to time too, e.g. Spanish Tapas nights, Chinese etc. all home made and tasty. Food is consistently good, generous portions, and friendly service always. Sausage Thursday is noteworthy - a range of home made sausages with quality ingredients served in several ways from sandwiches through to "full monty" with chips, mushrooms and fried eggs, not forgetting with Yorkshires and gravy.

As a 'local' we probably don't eat there as much as we could but that's purely a reflection on our busy working lives and not the food or pub at all. Recommended - the ideal pub!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Discussing toilets, Poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came here for lunch with my dad.
I ordered a roast and I have never seen or atempted to eat such horrible food.
Potatoes were almost like they had been warmed up from the day before. The food was cold.
The table was sticky and the toilets were disgusting.
There were lots of stains on the floor and smelt horrendous.
I have uploaded pictures.
Will never go here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers at Laddingford also viewed

 
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
 

Been to The Chequers at Laddingford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers at Laddingford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.