We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to revenir!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederic Cafe Bistro

Frederic Cafe Bistro
Market Buildings, Maidstone ME14 1HP, England
+44 1622 297414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 206 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a very small independent cafe-bistro serving provincial French "peasant food". As a latter day caveman from the Dordogne, you can expect my food to be rustic, simple, fresh and cooked to order. The atmosphere is lively & happening, the decor unpretentious and the service unfussy. We serve breakfast in the morning, French cafe favourites at lunchtime like Croque Monsieur, Pates & Omelettes and 4 evenings a week (Wed/Thur/Fri/Sat) we offer classic French bistro dishes - You need to book in the evenings as we only offer 1 sitting -that way you can stay as long as you want to and make it a proper French evening! See you soon! Ulric - Chef-Patron
Kent, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can't wait to revenir!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lunched here on a weekday ....Super bistro, lovely decor and really excellent food! Not a vast menu but for me that is a part of the charm. Have raved about it to family and friends and can't wait to go back one evening and sample the dinner menu. Bravo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    79
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Night Out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited Frederic's for a special occasion with work collegues for the first time last week and we had an excellent meal in a very atmospheric and welcoming environment. Every member of our group enjoyed their meals and commented on how well the Bistro was run and how efficient all the staff were. We all would recommend Frederic's to our friends and family.
Thank you for an excellent evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A very pleasant change from Maidstone's chain restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We visited Frederics on a busy Saturday night.
It has a very pleasant ambience with an open kitchen to get a real feel of the work the chef (Frederic, I presume) & his small team are doing.
The menu is only 5 choices for each of the starter, main & dessert but the options meat, fish vegetarian will mean everybody will find something they like.
Starters are quite simple but the Prosciutto & Goat's Cheese bake was particularly good.
Better still was the main, scallops, seabass & monkfish in coconut & coriander with risotto type rice. Really delicious.
Service was friendly & unobtrusive which made it a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magnific!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Can't believe i never been in here before. Its a really good find. Waiters & waitresses were very polite. Food is bloody good, we tend to always have Crocque Monseiur, had a few other things there. The portions are quite large. Traditional French cuisine done very well. Beautiful home made cakes. They have good quality wines that are kept at optimum temp in wine fridges which is good to see. Love going here for lunch. Didn't realise they open of at night, serving evening meals which i will definitely try at some point.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A bit of France in Maidstone.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excellent food (I had the French Ploughman and my wife had the Foie Gras). Good and relexed atmosphere, friendly staff! Very unassuming yet great place to eat!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederic Cafe Bistro also viewed

Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Frederic Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederic Cafe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.