We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Italian restraunts in kent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vesuvius

Vesuvius
26 Lower Stone Street | ME15 6LD, Maidstone ME15 6LX, England
+44 1622 664969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 206 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Southern Italian Restaurant offering authentic Italian food, with specifically sourced Italian ingredients.Pasta, pizza, seafood, meat (including veal and our famous meatballs), desserts and coffee all available to eat in or take away. Our food is cooked fresh and express, so do take it into considerations when yo are 1 of 70-80 guests trying to eat on a Saturday night.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian restraunts in kent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My partner and I visited on Christmas Eve. The staff were very attentive and great. The food was fantastic including the veal / meat balls main courses.

Suggest the owners replace the dated red carpet with something more stylish to make the interior even more authentic.

Will definitely visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    77
    13
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Visited here yesterday lunchtime with a friend and even though the restaurant was quite empty there was still a nice atmosphere. It was our first time there but it certainly won't be the last. Delicious food on the menu that it was hard to choose what to have. Had a starter, main course and a dessert and all were really tasty.
We live in Rochester where there are several Italian restaurants but this one is definitely better than any of those.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening - will definitely be returning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Took my mum here for her 50th birthday and had a wonderful meal - great food, atmosphere and service! Will be coming back next time I am on Kent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely little Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I were staying in the Maidstone area on a stopover on the way to France and rather than eat at a national pub/restaurant chain decided to try Vesuvius which we had researched beforehand. On arriving at our hotel at 19.00 we telephoned to see if they had a table available for 20.30 , certainly was the reply. On arrival we were immediately welcomed and shown to our table , the restaurant was busy and there was a friendly buzz about the atmosphere, service was quick but not too quick, we had time to enjoy our drinks with breathing space between courses. The décor may not be to everybody's taste but we feel that it adds to the experience. The food was very well cooked and reasonably priced as was the wine. I cant think of any reason why we would not dine here again were we in Maidstone again. Thank you and good luck to the young owners.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, new york, atlanta, savannah, orlando, charleston, beaufort, nottingham, cambridge, marbella, ibiza, magaluf
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

we booked a table early on a Saturday evening with the plan to go on else where after eating but the relaxing environment and the sheer quality of the service and food kept us there all evening, I am annoyed at myself for not visiting this establishment sooner, the food was exquisite - every mouthful was sheer joy. We have already booked to go back and cannot wait. If you are in Maidstone then it would be crazy not to go, I cannot say enough positive things.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvius also viewed

 

Been to Vesuvius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vesuvius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.