We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are an adult and want to swim, go somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maidstone Leisure Centre

Maidstone Leisure Centre
Mote Park, Maidstone ME15 7RN, England
0845 1552277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 27 Activities in Maidstone
Type: Health Clubs, Sports Complexes, Sports
Attraction details
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“If you are an adult and want to swim, go somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went here to swim twice a week for 1 month at the end of last summer. At £6 for an adult it's not exactly cheap and for what I paid to swim twice a week for a month, I got a gym membership at a nice gym with a pool.
The swimming pool is good and not too crowded. The jacuzzi doesn't work and was being used as a pool for small children. The leisure pool is fine, with lots of floats and the wave machine works. The diving pool is good.
The changing rooms were dirty and the toilets stank. The shower heads were filthy and there is no privacy as the showers are communal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_MLC_Team, General Manager at Maidstone Leisure Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and we are really disappointed that you were not satisfied with the service that you received when you visited last year. We work hard to ensure that are standards of cleaning and maintenance maintained and do strive to achive and excellent service. In relation to the costs we have a great swimming membership for only £19.95 per month, which is excellent value for money and provides unlimited swimming. We would love for you to visit again and provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    6
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stay away from the leisure centre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We took our 8yr old swimming one evening. The place was so dirty, the changing rooms smelt of urine. The slides were closed. The staff rude and it would appear its ran by unprofessional children. The place is rotten should be closed down

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_MLC_Team, General Manager at Maidstone Leisure Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi, thank you for your recent review which we have read with great concern. As you can see from our reviews we strive to achieve an excellent service and would welcome the opportunity to find out more information as to exactly why we appear to have failed so badly in providing you with the service you expected during your recent visit. If you would like to contact us on adminmaidstone@leisure.serco.com and provide some information as to the date and time of your visit + a little more information, then we would be pleased to investigate and get back to you. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good family fun & a great gym - Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We come here regularly with the kids, but also have memberships of the gym. The kids use the diving boards, swimming pools and soft play area, which are excellent. The changing rooms are always kept clean and during school holidays they run some really excellent activities such as pet shows and have mascot characters wandering around. It's well worth a trip as you can make a day of it and go into Mote Park next door. My Wife and I use the gym regularly which whilst a little hidden away is probably the best we have found in Maidstone and is excellent value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great for children , good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My 4 year old has attended swimming lessons here for a year now.
He really enjoys it and he has built up a really high level of confidence in the water. Karen and the man that does the lessons with her (sorry I don't know your name)! Are fantastic with them.
If you sign up to the yearly direct debit at about £16 a month you also get a weeks crash course in the summer.

The changing facilities are good although you do find people using the large cubicles designed for people with young children that don't need to use them which is frustrating.
Unfortunately I would say the nappy bins aren't changed regularly enough. It is very warm in the change areas for a good reason but then does make the bins very unpleasant quite quickly!

The leisure pool is full of floats and boats for children to play on so lots if interaction to keep them entertained. There is a baby pool that doesn't seem to ever be open. There are lots of water jets whales squirting water and a wave machine. Also it has a graded entrance to the pool so children can walk in confidently rather than being plopped in out of their depth. So if you wish you don't need to put arm bands on your child.

There is a large fitness pool and diving boards too.

I do think the value for money is very good as its a lot cheaper than Larkfield that has no where near the amount of facilities or fun pools.

The tea coffee and food is at the standard you would expect for a leisure centre! Not that great but ok.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb swimming fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been here for a while lots of new touches inc kids lazy river and young swimming play area which is warm, nice floats, loud music,good showers, impressive fountain s and water jets..it's very clean!! Dive off the top board and big pool for sensible swimming , the other pool for younger people.. If your little ones get out early there's a indoor " junglejims" style play area..All very good we will be back!
Only two minor negatives , jacuzzi wasn't bubbling and you can't go down the flume together but you could easily spend a lot of time up here!!!
Price £6 adults, junior s £4 and under5s £1.20, it's pretty good price for what's there ..
Good viewing area with food and drink , prefect to keep an eye on the kiddile winks..

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maidstone Leisure Centre also viewed

 
Maidstone, Kent
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Maidstone Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maidstone Leisure Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.