We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Towels in Leisure Centre!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Maidstone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Maidstone to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Maidstone
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle View, Forstal Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Towels in Leisure Centre!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stayed at the Village Maidstone as I have done on several occasions in the past. The room was very hot with no airconditioning and not cleaned very well. Although i got a great rate i felt the service was not as good as previous stays. I visited the swimming pool on three occasions and twice the leisure reception told me they had no towels and i should go back to my room and take the spare from the drawer which i did on the first occasion. On the second occasion the same thing - no towels take from room - the spare towel had not been relenished! I went to hotel reception and they got some from the linen store - simple as that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    110
    98
    47
    26
See reviews for
51
118
10
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

The hotel was clean, food was good and staff were excellent!!
It was well located as we had gone to 'explore' Kent and the surrounding area and had easy access to get to Canterbury, Hastings, Tunbridge Wells etc.

Maybe slightly overpriced for what you get, but we did use the pool/sauna etc and they were fab!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

This is a good hotel for the money you pay. Gym is great but the pool is better.
Rooms are small but well decorated & very clean.

Resturant is good, bar gets abit over populated by locals but its not bad.

Breakfast is also good.

Staff are helpful & it has free wifi throughout the hotel

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Me and my partner went here to escape are children for a night ha ha.
The rooms r compact but cosy clean and comfortable.
The gym is great fun.
Food is great and well priced.
Theres nothing to complain about its not luxury but its great for a affordable get away.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Lets start with the good points, there was plenty of car parking space and the room was clean and the fitness facilities were good should you choose to use them.
The bar area was not conclusive to a relaxing atmosphere due to overly loud sports programes on the telivision. The rooms were also not very well constructed as we could hear other guests conversations and movement from a multitude ot other rooms. The main area of disapointment was the quality of the food and service recieved in the restaurant, the food was quite obviously pre cooked and very poorley prepared and concieved.
The staff were helpful but there seemed to be a lack on managerial influence and direction to address the underlying issues, all in all not a pleasant experiance.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Noisy room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea,Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Had already stayed in April and it was ok - ate in the restaurant on Saturday night - service very slow but food, when it came ok. As was breakfast on Sunday. Rooms as you would expect for such a hotel - standard design and decor. When we stayed in August again ate in restaurant on Saturday but were seated near a hen party who got more raucous as night wore on so we got our meal over with as quickly as possible. When we went into breakfast were seated next to the same hen party again who were only slightly less noisy so asked to be moved. Breakfast is served until 10.30am & we arrived at approx 10.10 to find the hot selection looking well passed its best and no croissants or rolls - only choice if you did not want bread/toast was muffins !! And why are you expected to drink from a mug sitting on the table with the spoon in it - a cup and saucer was provided on request but why could this not have been set on the table - are they trying to cut down on washing up ! Breakfast on Monday was a repeat offering - obviously no one had been to the supermarket to get in a supply of alternatives to the toast/muffins. We have vouchers to use at Village hotels as we are members at the Swansea Village Leisure Club but will not be making a return visit to Maidstone - hopefull we will find a good hotel in the area that can provide a freshly cooked breakfast and cup and saucers !!!

  • Liked — Convenience for motorways
  • Disliked — Breakfast selection
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

This was the second time I had stayed at the Village Maidstone and again it was a pleasant experience..

The hotel is close to the M20 and does suffer some traffic noise. Living close to a bypass at home I do not find this a problem.

Check-In was quick and efficient and the room was clean. The hotel offers free wi-fi which is extremely useful when away on business and also offers all three sky sports channels as standard which is a rarity these days.

We ate in the pub within the hotel on the first night. The food was of reasonable quality and although took slightly longer than I would expect, I was not worried as time was with us.

Breakfast is in the main restaurant and was good fare although it was strange the the gorgeous sausages on the first morning were replaced by cheap range equivalents on my second morning.

The hotel also has a thriving leisure club which is free to residents and judging by the mumber of people coming through the door to use it it is extremely popular with locals as well as guests.

With the pub etc, this hotel is aimed more at a younger generation but the age range in attendance was wide and all seemed happy.

  • Liked — friendly staff, free wi-fi, all sports channels on tv
  • Disliked — no air conditioning in room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Maidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Maidstone

Address: Castle View, Forstal Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Maidstone)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Maidstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Maidstone is situated close to the River Medway and is perfectly located to explore Kent and beyond. From shopping at Bluewater to a trip to see the animals at Hop Farm Country Park; from a walk along the new Millennium riverside pathway or a trip back in time to the Museum of Kent Life or Leeds Castle, you'll find everything on your doorstep. Village Urban Resort Maidstone has 122 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Maidstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Maidstone
Village Hotel Leisure Maidstone
Village Urban Resort Maidstone Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Maidstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.