We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, atmosphere and value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woolpack Inn

The Woolpack Inn
Benover Road | Benover, Maidstone ME18 6AS, England
01892 730356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 204 restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, atmosphere and value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

A very traditional Wealden public house and restaurant, we have been there on a number of occasions for lunch and dinner. The menu provides a very choice for all tastes, the food is of good quality with generous portions. The atmosphere is very good, we have always found the staff to be very helpful and attentive providing a good service. A good value for money establishment, just the place for Sunday lunch or a nice evening meal, recommended!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    17
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unacceptable customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

On occasions that I have visited the Woolpack I have found the barman to be very unwelcoming,surly and find his behaviour unacceptable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we went here for Sunday lunch with my mother-in-law for her birthday, 89! As she is getting on and does not eat very much we asked for a smaller portion, the landlady was very understanding and offered a child's meal. Great value and good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Discovered this by accident after a hot day's cycling at Bewl Water. We sat in the beer garden with ice cold drinks and only a short wait for some generous plates of food. We'd eaten at the Malta Inn in Maidstone earlier in the week and this place puts the Malta Inn to shame for food quality and what you get for the price you pay, for service and cleanliness. Couldn't fault it at all. Would definitely return next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A gem in the Garden of England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you are hungry this is the place for you, all meals are freshly cooked, generous in portions and delicious. The menu has staple pub grub meals as well as a good range of specials each day. Linda's fish and chips are legendary! We have dined and lunched her many times and have never been disappointed. In the summer there is a lovely large garden with children's play equipment. In the winter there are roaring log fires all set in a 16th century listed building I the delightful hamlet of Benover.

As an added bonus they are listed by the Caravan Club as a recommended place to stay in your van. The only problem being they are so popular you must be sure to book well ahead. What more could you want, a beautiful, peaceful setting in the Weald of Kent and an old country inn on your doorstep. Leeds Castle, The Hop Farm and Tunbridge Wells Pantiles are just a few of the attractions easily accessed from the Woolpack.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woolpack Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woolpack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.